We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay - Hope to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast
100 Tomihi Drive, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
NY
1 review
“Wonderful Stay - Hope to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our 3 day stay at Otter's Pond was everything we hoped and more. The setting is beautiful, overlooking the pond which was flowering with lily pods when we were there. The deck and hot tub (which has sliding screens for privacy if desired) overlooks this. The breakfasts were out of this world scrumptious. Otter Pond is very close to Moran State Park for hiking and enjoying nature (and wildlife - we spotted bald eagles on the way) and Carl and Sue put a lot of effort in making sure guests are comfortable, have everything they need and enjoy their stay. We hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    5
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
86
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in Mid May in the Hummingbird Room. It was adorable. Sue and Carl were excellent hosts, the breakfasts were divine, the othere guests a treat to meet and eat breakfast with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It gives me great pleasure to review and recommend this elegant and beautiful B&B. Every detail was pristine. The host and hostess,Carl and Sue , made us feel special and cared for in every way. From the lovely gourmet 5-course breakfasts to the silky sheets on the beds,we felt transported. This was such a relaxing experience. We loved watching the wild birds greet us at the pond's edge.We loved the music. We loved the new decor. It was wonderful. We will definitely return next time we need a "get-away" retreat.

Room Tip: Each room has been remodeled. No "bad" choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, wa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Carl and Sue were very good to us. The house is beautiful and relaxing and the cooking was great. We had met other interesting guests in a nice environment. The B&B is right down teh road from Moran State Park, which is beautiful. Amazing amount of beautiful hiking and mountain biking in the area. Highly recommended. Note, cell phones will not work there, which is a nice break actually.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-March. As a travel agent, I'm pretty careful about what I recommend, but I can indeed recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Bluebird room, the only one without an ensuite bath. The bath is just beside the door, and even though the house was full, we never ran into anyone else while using it. Our room was comfortable and serene, overlooking the beautiful pond. We truly enjoyed watching the large variety of birds. Breakfast was suptuous each morning, and the company was good. Sue and Carl are excellent hosts, very pleasant and knowledgable. As world travellers themselves, the fact that they settled in this particular spot, on this pond on this island should give you an idea of the beauty and serenity of it. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pond side have a great view. All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband were looking for a long weekend getaway from Texas and Carl and Susan's bed and breakfast was the perfect fit. We stayed in the Swan room...the bed was so comfortable, I almost hated to get up. But of course, one had to get up to enjoy the delicious gourmet breakfast we were served. I especially loved the peppered bacon and the banana/blueberry pancakes...mmmmmm!

Further, since it was a football playoff Sunday, we were able to enjoy the living room/large TV with other guests. Carl...glad to see that the 49'ers won---we didn't think they could pull it off!

We would definitely plan on staying at Otters Pond B&B again..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Carl and Susan are the perfect hosts: friendly, warm, more than knowledgeable about the area, and determined to fill you up with delicious breakfasts!

We stayed in the Goldfinch room – no view of the pond, but we could always sit on the deck and enjoy the view from there. The room was cozy, tastefully furnished, with a comfy bed and a fireplace. The room rate was very good value for the quality of the accommodation and the stay in general. The B&B is also well positioned on the island - not too close to the busy-ness of the town, and not too remote.

We were going to stay for just three nights and spend another three on San Juan or Lopez island, but landed up feeling so relaxed and welcome at Otters Pond, that we spent our entire stay there. Susan succeeded in making each of our six breakfasts different from the last; a yummy medley of fresh fruits, muffins, omelettes, even polenta.

Carl's tips on sunset views, beach walks and birding created some beautiful memories and photographs for us.

Loved the hot tub, especially at night, when the stars were out and the night air was crisp.

We read some reviews about “too many rules”, and it’s true you’re asked to remove your shoes in the house and pay attention to a few other requests, but I can understand why the owners would want to keep their B&B in perfect condition and that didn’t worry us. Most of it is common sense and good manners, anyway.

There was lots of exploring to do on the island and Carl and Susan provided excellent advice on hiking, orcas tours, shopping and restaurants. Some days we would just sit on the deck and watch the birds at the feeder and enjoy the peacefulness of the pond, or sit inside and read in the living room area. No sign of the otters … but that just gives us an excuse to come back and enjoy again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Otters Pond Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA
Address: 100 Tomihi Drive, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1st class lodging set in a naturalist's Monet painting on a large wetland/pond at the base of Mt. Constitution. A birder's paradise. An adult getaway, rooms are decorated with an upscale, comfortable flair and gourmet breakfasts are served in the dining room and deck overlooking the pond. Free WiFi. Notebook computer available for e-mail. Hot tub. Island restaurants and Eastsound Village amenities are within four miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otters Pond Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.