We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back for the 5th time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Trout Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Trout Bed and Breakfast
5272 Orcas Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package with Dinner
Ranked #5 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going back for the 5th time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Henri and Nicole make you feel like a part of the family. We are going back this fall to see the spectacular night skys and hopefully see some humpback whales. We always feel totally at home and relaxed when we stay at the Old Trout Inn. The gardens and the pond plus the feeling of total isolation is so relaxing. Nicole's cooking is the ice cream to the best apple pie ever. Henri is always quietly in the background with his quick smile assuring everything is perfect.

Room Tip: We always book the Pond Suite but wouldn't hesitate to book any other room if that one is booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We loved our lovely Parsian hosts who came here 12 years ago to be near a daughter. It's a lovely, quiet and supremely comfortable in, surrounded by an animal refuge, organic kitchen garden, and the sea smells of Orcas Island. We hope to book Thanksgiving there!

Room Tip: Personal hot tub in wooded seclusion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The grounds are fantastic. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Breakfasts are absolutely delicious. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Highly Recommend: During our first trip to Orcas Island, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Henri & Nicole's B&B - we were delightfully surprised! The location, although not in Eastsound (10 min drive), is easy to find and is near to the ferry (making early morning departure easy). We stayed in the Greenhouse Suite which is a private bedroom located off the dining room area with fun little sunroom overlooking the large pond (flowers and ducklings abound). We were exhausted from our 2 day drive up and the private jacuzzi and very comfortable bed were much appreciated. The room was decent sized - not terribly large, and for a B&B, we felt nicely tucked back from the rest of the house. The shower head was a little short as we are tall, though the exceptional service and wonderful breakfast made up for it. Henri and Nicole were wonderfully attentive and our breakfast was a salmon baked croissant with Brie followed by homemade cream puffs with strawberries fresh from their garden - incroyable!!! We will definitely stay with them upon our return!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to stay on Orcas Island for our 4th wedding anniversary. I am glad I did my research and stayed at the Old Trout. Henri and NIcole's B&B is amazing and they are such kind and gracious hosts. When stayed at their Water's Edge Cottage, which had a very comfortable queen sized bed, a kitchen and it's own personal hot tub. What more can you ask for in an B&B!!! Nicole is also a world class French chef and the food was out of this world!!!! We had a smoked salmon pastry with cream cheese and green onions and it was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. If you are coming to stay on Orcas Island I highly recommend staying at the Old Trout with Henri and Nicole!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yacolt, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I (along with our best friends) had the pleasure of staying at Henri and Nicole's B&B this past weekend and had the most pleasureable experience. This was only our 2nd time staying at a B&B and I was a little nervous, but their skill overcame any fears I had. They welcome you into their home and offer you unsurpassed food and hospitality that is not found in our modern world. Their presentation in all that they offer you is sincere, experienced and full of manners often forgotten in our modern world. I would recommend their 'private guest suite' for those who want a quiet rendezvous and their large facility for those families wanting a great get together with their children. Love, love, love them both and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Private needs - separate cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Henri and Nicole were so wonderful. After a snafu in communication (on my part) about which room I wanted, they ended up giving my fiance and I their most expensive suite for the price of one of the most inexpensive rooms. We received AMAZING service (we are pretty sure Henri is a mind reader), delicious breakfast in our suite, and the most fun we have ever had away from home. The bond was gorgeous (even during the winter), the hot tub was so warm and inviting (but not too warm), and our suite even featured a private sauna (the Pond Suite, if interested in this feature). We enjoyed beautiful views, a very warm, cozy and well-decorated room, and a lot of privacy (we are a young couple, after all). Thank you, Henri and Nicole, for a wonderful visit! =) We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you want a ton of privacy, the Water's Edge cottage is detached and looks very lovely from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Trout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Trout Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5272 Orcas Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every suite has private Jacuzzis and decks. Pond Suite has sauna and fireplace. Water's Edge has kitchenette and fireplace. Winter free wood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Trout Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Trout Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Trout Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list