We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo House Bed and Breakfast on Orcas Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kangaroo House Bed and Breakfast on Orcas Island
Save
You added Kangaroo House Bed and Breakfast on Orcas Island to your Saves list
1459 North Beach Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Seattle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful historic rambler in a quiet location about a mile north of Eastsound village. Extremely comfortable accommodation in a large suite of rooms (Steller's Jay), and beautiful common areas. Large gardens/patios with a reservable (inc. nocturnal) outdoor hot-tub! Jill & Charles are wonderful hosts, and prepare delicious cooked b'fasts served to your table overlooking the garden. If there's a better place to stay on Orcas, i've yet to see it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorheesville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had really wanted to post this much sooner ... We spent 3 nights in late October at the Kangaroo House on Orcas Island. Charles was so accommodating in setting up our nightly ritual of cozying up by the fireplace by getting it all set. We just had to light the match left for us. What a great property, with oodles of history, great caretakers (Charles and Jill) who are in their own right history buffs and an atmosphere of legends and spirits.. The breakfasts were delicious and diverse. It is close, walking distance to the town of Eastsound. We also lucked out on our trip up mt. Constitution, the skies cleared giving us fantastic views. The San Juan islands are a gem, summer is probably ideal, however off season for us was just perfect! We highly recommend the Kangaroo House

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights on Orcas at the Kangaroo. It is a charming, beautifully maintained home. There is parking available. Tea and coffee is available all day in the living room. There is comfortable furniture and lots of books, magazines and games as well as a lovely porch to enjoy. It is walking distance to town and the beach. Charles breakfasts are wonderful and unique. In fact he shared a recipe which I have made since returning home. The beds are very comfortable and the baths well appointed. We also appreciated the fact that there was no TV. Made it a peaceful, quiet escape.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My best friend and I stayed here when visiting beautiful Orcas Island! We sure wish we would have stayed more than 1 night!
The Kangaroo house is absolutely beautiful! So historic, so vintage! We had the Northern Flicker Suite which has 2 beds. So comfy! It was nice to be able to open up the vintage windows at night while sleeping.
Charles was so nice and greeted us in the beautiful foyer as soon as we arrived! Jill was fantastic too as both of them served a delicious breakfast!! The dishes were so unique and wonderful!
The Inn is walkable to town, we jogged into town in the morning and got coffee then walked back to the Inn. We didn't walk at night because it was really dark, didn't want to trip and fall! LOL!
Stay here if you want a wonderful experience on Orcas Island!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at Kangaroo House. It is a beautiful old home in a good location - an easy walk to the beach or town. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was not large but was very clean. Charles was very helpful recommending restaurants and making reservations. The breakfasts were delicious. We would recommend Kangaroo House and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed only one night at the Kangaroo House B&B, but loved every minute of it. Charles called to let us know we could check in early, if we wanted, and we did, enjoying the afternoon on the beautiful outside deck, watching birds with the resident cat, Angus. Angus was a sweetie. When we returned in the evening, we hunkered down in the living room with our books, visiting with other guests. Though we didn't' use the hot tub, it was very nicely located, and many other guests did use it. Being a gardener, I appreciated walking through the garden, certified a backyard habitat for wildlife by the state of Washington.

Our room was beautiful and comfortable, we slept great. Nice amenities like robes, etc. But the real showstopper was the wonderful breakfast prepared by Charles. I'd put it on par with any upscale restaurant.

I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone who'd like to be close, but not close to Eastsound on Orcas Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Kangaroo house is a sweet little b & b within walking distance to the beach and Eastsound. The breakfast was rustic gourmet and delicious. The owners were attentive, knowledgable but not overly present. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kangaroo House Bed and Breakfast on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo House Bed and Breakfast on Orcas Island

Address: 1459 North Beach Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Bungalow was built as a vacation hotel by a stone mason in 1907. In a later incarnation, colorful resident and steamship captain, "Cap" Ferris brought a baby orphaned kangaroo to live with him and his family. The locals dubbed the sprawling Craftsman building the "Kangaroo House" Since then it became a B&B and is the longest continually operating bed & breakfast in the San Juan Islands.We have 5 Rooms/Suites, all with Private Bathrooms, King or Queen beds and some with additional beds and DVD players/moviesFree WiFi, Garden Hot Tub, and an exceptional, filling, breakfast made from scratch inlcluding wholesome, local fruits, meats, vegetables and herbs from Orcas Island - some that we even grow ourselves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kangaroo House Bed And Breakfast On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo House Bed and Breakfast on Orcas Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.