We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to Orcas Is. is not complete w/o staying @ Sleeping Sea/Once In a Blue Moon Farm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleeping Sea

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleeping Sea
412 Eastman Rd., Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245 (Formerly Once in a Blue Moon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A trip to Orcas Is. is not complete w/o staying @ Sleeping Sea/Once In a Blue Moon Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I frequent Orcas Is regularly and cannot imagine going w/o staying @ Once In A BLue Moon Farm, with a trek to the beach @ Sleeping Sea. The owners, Shana and her family, have created warm, enchanting environments, replete with personal attention to meet each travelers needs and interests---including Shana's incredibly delicious free range, organic eggs. Her beautiful (working) farm has phenomenal plantings of seasonal flowers and is nestled in the forest, replete with hicking trails, gorgeous sunsets, and stunning views of Tutleback Mtn, just minutes away. Sleeping Sea, billed as a beachhouse is a delightful Victorian replica down to the detail of the wallpaper and fixtures. Best of all, it affords sweeping views of the Canadian Rockies and its own private boardwalk, just a step to the beach----and minutes from Eastsound shops and quick, easy access to Moran State Park. Even better, children and dogs are welcome!

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I actually find it mind boggling that there are negative reviews on this place. It was gorgeous, unique, and cozy. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for unique, cozy lodging. I loved every detail!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed in Adeline's Suites with my husband and 9 month old son. The location was great - we loved having sheep grazing right in front of our porch and feeding the chickens. Shana, the owner, was also very nice and helpful with suggestions on places to eat and walks to take.

The unit was brand new and very clean, which we appreciated. However, there were a few unexpected aspects of the room that disappointed us and prevent me from recommending this as a good place to stay:

* The room was described on their website and over the phone as having one bedroom, but the "bedroom" actually has one wall that is open to the rest of the suite. We were hoping to have a separate room for our baby to sleep in with some noise insulation, but this didn't work out at all.
* We were asked to take all of our garbage home with us. This probably wouldn't have bothered us much except that we had 4 days of stinky diapers by the end.
* The suite shares a wall with another unit and there was absolutely no insulation between the rooms. We could hear every word the family next to us was saying (even down to hearing them clear their throats) and so we were stressed out about our baby didn't keep them up with his crying. We tried jamming a towel under the shared door, which helped a little.
* Also slightly annoying but less important, the curtains didn't fully cover the windows and the coffee pot lid was broken so that it fell off every time I poured coffee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We knew this would be a working farm and were prepared for rustic country living, but this place was a disappointment. The apartment we had rented was much smaller and shabbier than the owner had led us to believe. The bunkbed for the kids was squeezed into one end of the kitchen (not in a separate familyroom as advertised). It was literally inches from the stove and had a big sign on it saying it wasn't safe! The whole place smelled of mold; the furniture was shabby, mismatched and much of it was covered in bedspreads. After a quick walk through we decided we needed to find someplace else to stay, but it was high season and nothing was available. Once she understood we weren't thrilled, she became very hostile. She refused to give us the 10% discount for paying by check and insisted we pay by credit card. She told us that to save water she didn't want us to bathe every day and urged us to use paper plates rather than wash dishes (and we would have to take our trash to the dump and pay a fee to dispose of it.). When we said the kids might really need daily baths, we got a lecture on our wasteful American ways. Eventually it became clear that this was a big issue for her because the less water each renter used, the more renters she could put on the property at any one time without running out of water. (Hence she was not really interested in using less water, just making more money off of the water she had.) She later apologized for her hostility, which we appreciated. But nonetheless we won't be going back unless the housing is improved, the regs are loosened up a bit, and someone with more "hospitality managment" ability is in charge. Too bad, because the idea of hosting guests at an organic working farm is wonderful and the land is lovely.

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail'sBeachHouse, management at Sleeping Sea, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
Guests concerns are noted and valid. This visit occured during the high season on Orcas when lodging is very limited. Unfortunately the guest could not find alternate accommodations. The house they rented is no longer in use, in fact it has been gutted and completely remodeled for family members. After 10 years of continuous rentals, it was time. Furthermore, vacation rentals will no longer be offered at the farm because it is time to focus on what island life is about, farming and friends. "Owner with an attitude" has happily retired. New owners Sarah and Zach only offer select lodging in our two new cottages to farm and eco friendly guests who express genuine interest in organic and sustainable living.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

WOW! What a beautiful, charming oasis! My two kids and I spent a night here last month and had a wonderful time. My daughter adored the farm animals and my son wanted to adopt the pet turkey. Our "room" had a full kitchen and a living area overlooking the barnyard. Fresh eggs were plentiful and when my daughter asked the owner, Shana, for shortening, she returned with a quart of oil and a stick of butter! Orcas island is magically beautiful and the farm is the perfect base from which to explore it. Shana was very helpful recommending activities and restaurants and is happy to provide what you need. Go here if you want a real vacation!

  • Liked — the peaceful farm atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sleeping Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Sea

Also Known As:
Sleeping Sea Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA
Address: 412 Eastman Rd., Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245 (Formerly Once in a Blue Moon)
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty lodging in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping Sea is sure to deliver a family vacation that everyone will love or a refreshing escape for two to relax away from it all. There is always something explore, learn, and take home from your stay. But better yet, lay back and nod off while listening to the sheep graze outside your door or the water lapping the shores. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleeping Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sleeping Sea to your Saves list