We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Ship Bay

The Inn at Ship Bay
326 Olga Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245-9425
360-376-5886
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Eastsound
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Woodinville,WA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Must!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Totally spoiling! Not at all stuffy; we found waiter(s) extremely helpful, and menu offerings made you want to return soonto try more dishes. The scallop dish was incredible. Place was busy, even on a weekday, but comfortably so.(let's face it, all the reasons in the world for it to be busy!); glad we had reservations! We guessed many locals prefer to eat here; a good omen! Located just a short drive from downtown Eastsound. Seeing deer munching on apples closeby the parking area was a special treat. We'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    26
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A great restaurant with wonderful service, a great view and moderate prices. We've eaten at restaurants such as Altura in Seattle that will run you $90 pp for a meal. For around $20 per plate you get wonderful locally harvested food. They even grow most of their veggies onsite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had the best dinner ever at The Inn by Ships Bay! We tend to be a bit more critical as we are in the hospitality industry as well!
My husband had the organic chicken with apple syrup and apple salad, puréed potatoes and very fresh vegetables. I had the very fresh caught salmon. Both were the very best and most attractively prepared are presented dishes that we have had. We have been traveling for a month long trip through Canada and now down through the Pacicic North West so we were very pleased to have such a high recoendation from other guests as well as our Innkeeper Samantha at The Turtleback Farm Bed and Breakfast.
Our server Osa expressed so artistically each dish and special on the menu that we had questions about. She was an amazing server and very attentive. She made a lot of suggestions of places to see while touring the islands.
Save room for dessert and don't fill up on the amazing sourdough bread as we did because they are all made daily at the restaurant as well. He had the peach upside down cake and said it was to die for!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fresh & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by this afternoon to check the menu and made reservations for dinner. We saw the chef in the garden selecting his veggies and the young man who took our reservation said he saw them filleting a salmon earlier, so he was pretty sure that would be one of the specials. Now, that's fresh! I had the scallops, which were done perfectly, hubby had the salmon, which reminded us why fresh wild caught is so much better than frozen or even fresh farm-raised. Lovely presentations, friendly, appropriate service by experienced staff. The chocolate pave car with fresh berries was delist and even the decaf coffe was wonderful and freshly brewed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“The very best Orcas Island has to offer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This fine restaurant is located at water's edge, and the outside dining offers wonderful ambience. The menu offerings are complete, and the wine list is very much appreciated. The food is outstanding, as is the waitstaff. A nice table under the stars, gentle breezes, a beautiful bay, and a terrific meal, make for a wonderful dining experience. This is truly a 'special event' place.
Make a reservation and prepare to be enchanted!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Ship Bay also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to The Inn at Ship Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Ship Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.