We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at West Beach Resort, Orcas Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added West Beach Resort to your Saves list
West Beach Resort
190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Camping at West Beach Resort, Orcas Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This weekend (June 12th & 13th, 2009), we, group of 5 families (with 10 adults & 8 kids) went to camping at Orcas island. We chose West Beach Resort because of their incredible location and also they have log cabins which was just perfect for some of us with very young children. We all had fun and great time there - the staff were also very knowledgeable and helped us quickly prepare an itinerary what to see / where to go. With the help of their recommendation and suggestion, we were able to catch the breathtaking sunset from the WBR itself, we also went to the top of Mt. Constitution for awesome sunrise, we did hike to Cascade Falls (and the kids loved it), we also did picnic at Cascade Lake. The cabin was very clean and provided all the things you need to enjoy the perfect camping and the campground was very spacious and quiet. The store in the WBR was also very handy and did I mention they make the world's best waffle cones :)

[----]

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    44
    13
    8
    18
See reviews for
75
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Memorial Day weekend 2009 my family stayed in the Farm House. It was a great
weekend in every way. The Farm House gave us all of the space we needed for
'togetherness' and for 'apartness' as needed in so large a group.

Being able to gather around the dining room table for meals and for games
was great as we could also take advantage of the magnificent view.

The large deck was in constant use. We only wished that we had brought along
a gate to place across the stairs. We had 2 fearless and precocious
toddlers who loved to teeter at the top of those stairs and take our breaths
away. We ultimately positioned the bench and chairs in front of it to thwart
their adventures so they we could be more relaxed...as relaxed as you can be
with toddlers.

The 'interesting' bathrooms in the middle of the house actually worked out
very well, meeting the demands of a large group. The large bathroom off the
master suite doubled as a toddler bedroom at night. So large it was! (I
live in a 100-year-old restored farmhouse myself and I am well-acquainted
with 'interesting' room arrangements.)

The house was clean and the beds comfortable...'The' deal breakers/makers in
my book.

We did not dine out while on the Island and prepared all of our meals in the
Farm House. We found most everything we needed and made very good use of
that large crab pot. Anything we needed and was not at hand was requested
and promptly provided...even extra sets of crab-cracking tools and a large
pitcher for iced tea.

The beach at low tide provided endless hours of entertainment for all of the
little boys. Relaxing and educational.

Our last evening there we had a bonfire and did the traditional smores for
our 6-year-old. Thank you for the wood and for the roasting sticks. You
seem to think of everything.

Everyone at the resort was friendly, courteous, and helpful. You all
'rock'...as in the noun and the verb.

'Yes', I would return and 'yes' I will share this gem of a destination with
folks looking for a great destination that is actually quite near.

The 'getting there' and the return to the mainland are magnificent in and of
themselves...but only as long as you are into the 'journey'.

The only 'complaint'...if you could call it that...was the cost of an ice
cream cone...half the price of a Dungeness Crab...I chose the crab...one for
each of us, including the 6-year old. My daughter reminded me we were on an
island. Touché!

'Thank you' is an understatement. It was a 'memorable' Memorial Day Holiday
for our family in all of the best ways.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Four of us - two couples - rented cabin 6a for three nights over the weekend.
The location is stunning - so much so that we abandoned plans to go back into town for an anniversary dinner in favor of grilling and taking in the gorgeous sunset. The cabin was sweet and comfortable - a step above camping, I would say. The beds are comfortable, the bed-linens really quite nice, though the rooms are very small. The kitchen is functional, though the fire alarm was set off every time we cooked (and didn't burn!) anything. Amusingly, we also heard the alarm going off at the cabin next door as well, followed by window opening and towel flapping.
The bathroom is very small and looking a little care-worn. No tub.
But we couldn't escape the fact that the location was fabulous - and with the BBQ on the (covered) deck and the firepit on the beach (not all cabins have pits), it was great - we could overlook any small details.
The one major kink in the weekend though was the noise level, which other folk here have mentioned. Saturday night was really loud - no big parties or anything, just people drinking and talking at the tops of their voices at their fireplaces along the beach. It didn't quiet down till after midnight, though the resort policy is supposed to be 'quiet after dark'. There was no intervention by the staff and we didn't want to be 'those' kind of neighbors ("Will you keep it down out there?! Have you any idea what time is is?!")
By contrast, Sunday night, with almost everyone else gone, was perfectly quiet and peaceful. If we return it will most likely be midweek for this reason.
Other details that might be of help:
The kayak rental is $15 an hour for a single, but they don't allow you to paddle past the end of the pier, or past the end of the resort, either way, so you'd just be paddling around in an area about the size of an olympic pool.
There is a large house being constructed immediately next door to the resort and sometimes the noise from that site could get quite loud.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I have heard this was a great place to stay. I read the reviews and came in with realistic expectations. I have very pleased. This was a fun place. Very relaxing. Tranquil, friendly, and easy to access. I wish I spend more time just on the property. I had a very busy time planned so we weren't around much. It is worth the visit. The staff was friendly but not intrusive. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We enjoyed our stay. Cabin #12 was charming & warm w/nice smell of cedar.
This place is all about location! Do recommend for do it yourselfers. The sightseeing
on the whole island is to die for. We will return when its slighty warmer (April/may) maybe it wont rain as much & we could catch a glimpse of a whale. I would of loved to
use the hot tub on one of those cold days but its off the main driving entrance and needs to be more secluded w /wood lattice or bushes.(didnt need to drive in & see make out session) :) I do agree w/last review that the summer most be so crazy & loud. But just stay away during those months. Next year were off to Alaska!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in late December. Think of these cabins as a step up from a fishing cabin: cleaner and better supplies (e.g. real wineglasses, plates), but not luxurious by any means. We did not have a problem with the noise, but I could hear voices in the cabin next door and I imagine that in summer you'd need to expect a high level with all of the windows open. The setting is spectacular.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Stayed here last weekend for two nights, a friday and saturday night, just to get away for a weekend. And we sure did that. Whether it be the kayaking, the pingpong, the hot tub, or the spectacular sunset, West Beach Resort was great. We stayed in cabin 9, and it was just as advertised; rustic yet comfortable. The beds were comfortable and the base board heaters were sufficient. The only bad thing was the cramped shower and the screaming shower head, but other than that it was very comfortable. The resort itself was very nice, although we didn't stay around their very long since we were exploring the town of Eastsound(very cool), and checking out the view atop Mt. Constituition(also very cool). The resort store had a little coffee shop, and the drinks were delicious! Try the steamed milk with pumpkin spice. mmm good. I will definitely be back here next summer, maybe for a weeks trip. A good place for a family reunion.

  • Liked — Location on beach, very friendly store staff
  • Disliked — Screeching shower head
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.