We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as relaxing as it gets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added West Beach Resort to your Saves list
West Beach Resort
190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
GreenLeadersBronze level
Collierville, TN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“About as relaxing as it gets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had the #5 tent/cabin for two nights and couldn't have been more pleased. I recommend requesting #5 because it is by itself unless tent campers are next door. It is just a little far from the bathhouse. That may also be the reason why we didn't have any tents next to us. There was a port-a-potty close by if needed in the middle of the night.

The showers were $.25 per 1.5 minute. I had never had to pay for a campground shower so that was new to me. The good thing was that the water was nice and warm the entire time.

One bundle of wood is provided. After that, you buy your own. Each night around 9:15, the resort lights a bonfire by the pier which is nice.

The resort has a wide selection of ice cream and other amenities in their resort store. The office staff couldn't be friendlier!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    44
    13
    8
    18
See reviews for
75
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kirkland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We first went there last year (July 2013) with our RV. we loved the place so much we came back (my wife and my 10 months old son) in July 2014 for a long week end. we rented the Cottage Madrona. Such a nice Cottage!! REALLY romantic: great view of the bay. off the main property but a path brings you right down the pier.

Room Tip: The Madrona Cottage is really quiet since off the main property. GREAT view of the water. Perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yacolt, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Here is the capsulated version of our stay. First of all the location is right on the bay. Fire pit and picnic table are steps from the water. Gorgeous west view across the water make this a prime sunset location. Even the locals use an access road near the southern edge of the resort to watch the sunsets every evening.

For us, the cost was a stretch. Two days ran us 450.00+ Including our toy size dog which ran us 30.00 per night. The rustic accommodations with two queen beds was very comfortable and the kitchenette was a real plus.

We were able to cook meals in the cabin and there is a charcoal BBQ
available as well. The management takes care to place guests throughout the beachfront cabins which gives you some privacy, at least during the weekdays. The atmosphere would feel more crowded if placed with guests on both sides of us.

Our visit was very quiet. Very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our days and evenings. It was great being able to have our doggie and cooking meals at the cabin was a real plus!

I don't know that we'd stay again due to the cost. But we don't regret our stay and it will be a special memory for us.

Room Tip: The farther down the row of cabins, the less traffic you have to deal with and the road has an exit...
See more room tips
Green Features: This place can easily be considered a destination which is all inclusive.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

West Beach has it all: from multi-bedroom cabins on the upper level with outrageous views to single-couple cabins on the beach below to furnished tent-cabins to RV sites with full hook-ups to rustic spaces for bring-your-own-everything campers. And it's all in a location looking west into the sunsets and just a few miles from the lively restaurants, pubs and stores of Eastsound village.

Come by car or come by boat, this resort also has docks and moorings for boats in their calm and peaceful bay, places for swimming (with a nearly rock-free bottom, very rare in these parts), and a small office/store/espresso bar/souvenir store for all the stuff you didn't bring with you. They also sell ice, sodas beer and wine.

Wifi, kayak rental (or maybe they're free for guests to use, but I did see kayaks!), free firewood are also available.

Especially nice: they manage to supply all this while keeping the woodsy, rustic feel of Washington water front. Great place for couples, families or groups of friends to meet up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a standard beach front cottage. It was both very clean and very comfortable. There was complimentary firewood for use in the wood stove or beach front fire pit. Although I was very pleased with the features of the cottage, it's kitchen could use some updating and the wi fi connection speed could be improved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our 4th time staying at West Beach and it was my kids choice for their birthday weekend . Stayed in cabin #9 this time for 3 nights . The sunsets are fantastic and shot some great pictures of the bald eagles . The wifi is new but is not very fast ....who needs Netflix when you can kick back and relax with a book or just enjoy the view . The resort cat is very friendly and was happy to spend the night with us . All the guests are very friendly . The Brown Bear Bakery in town is well worh stopping at . We will be back ....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our Cabin #9 was spotless. We had our own fire pit overlooking the beach. Seals cruised back and forth about 50 yards from shore. We had planned on only staying one night but the sunset and fire on the beach was too awesome to pass another night.
The cabin had a microwave,refrigerator,coffee maker, stove and toaster. Stop at the IGA in Eastsound for breakfast items and enjoy the morning on the porch overlooking the Pacific.
The $199 was a little steep for the accommodation but the view was worth it. I will be back.
We went whale watching with http://www.outerislandx.com/WhaleWatching.php and these people love what they do. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Cabin 9 is towards the end of the property and has sits own fire pit right in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.