We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's No Place Like Home...except West Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Beach Resort to your Saves list
West Beach Resort
190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Crabbing is OPEN!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“There's No Place Like Home...except West Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We LOVE this place! We never go on vacations due to the overall cost of it and having to board our cat and dog and leaving our garden alone to bolt or whither. So, we opt for a modified stay-cation and have now made it a yearly tradition to go to West Beach Resort. We even gave up a family cruise to Jamaica as we can do multiple yearly vacations at West Beach for one trip to Jamaica. And if you want to relax and get away from it all, this is the place to go.

If you love waking up to the sound of the ocean every morning, go West Beach. If you love great sunsets, go West Beach. You will LOVE the laid back feeling of Orcas Island and there's plenty to visit on the island, we havent even seen it all in the two times we've been.

You can take your dog(s), you get privacy, and a very lovely staff that goes above and beyond to ensure your needs are met. We'll never go anywhere else and are even thinking of trying to retire there.

Check it out, you WON'T be disappointed. I guarantee it.

If you are looking for a high-end hotel stay, like some other reviewers, this is not for you. This is much more of a community environment and not fancy like some others may want their stay to be. This place is loved by many (laid back humble celebrities also) as you can see when you look at their reservations. They fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Stay away from cabin 3, slopes to the back. We liked cabin 12 but there was some traffic from non-r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    50
    16
    8
    18
See reviews for
93
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

West Beach Resort is terrible. You get what you pay for is the saying. We didn't get what we paid for. when you enter the resort it looked like we just entered a trailer park.  The cabins are over crowed and a parking spot away from the others. The little store's prices ridiculous.  We talked to the people next to our cabin and learned they too were unhappy and tired to get a refund but management  refused. The staff was decent and attempted to be helpful after management was a joke. I would like to thank the staff for recommending us over to North Beach INN and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants their money's worth, the view is a lot better too, plus my wife and I could walk barefoot on the beach there without worrying about cutting our feet. beware of West Beach Resort if you mind  over crowding, money not refunded, bad managemet and being charged for every little thing. If they could charge you for the air, they probably would, greedy. Orcas has a lot of nicer places with better service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBish, Manager at West Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We have reason to believe this review was not written by a guest of West Beach Resort. We have not had any refund requests or dissatisfied guests in recent memory, and nobody on our staff or management have had any such interactions with unhappy guests as the review states.

Our cottages are designed and rated for a base guest capacity. Most of our cottages are two bedrooms with a four person capacity. We charge for extra people beyond the base capacity due to the extra inventory, linens, utility demand, etc. that must be provided. Pets and moorage are also charged separately. We find that the vast majority of our guests do not bring extra people, pets, and boats, and as such we feel it would be unfair to price our units to include the extras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is not a luxury resort but the cabin was comfortable. We stayed in 6A it can bit a bit annoying when you are trying to get your kids to bed around 7 and people are going up and down beside your cabin because that is where the path is to the upper cabins. There is a serious lack of storage for groceries, clothes and bathroom items. A few shelves would be nice.

We rented the tv/dvd player and it was great but there really is no good place to put it so you can watch it and sit on the couch.

I also wish the front desk person was a bit more helpful. There was a basket of books and I asked if they were to borrow because I noticed my 2 year olds favourtite book and thought we could read it at bedtime she wasn't sure and thought they may be just for in the store. We also asked about going on a boat charter we did not want to canoe or kayak with small kids and we were told they didn't know who we should call and pointed into the direction of the brochure rack. I felt the front desk staff should be able to help with things like places to go and things to do.

I also would of liked the bonfire on Saturday to be more based on capacity not a date for peak season only. Which I think we missed by a couple weeks. I think most cabins were full on Saturday.

The beds were comfortable and the view was great. We enjoyed our firepit and our kids liked meeting Pebbles the cat who followed us around the first day we arrived. He sat on our porch and tried to sneak into our cabin too. It was very quiet our first night Thursday on Friday it seemed that most of the cabins had someone in them. The beach never seemed overly crowded and everyone had their own firepit and seating area.

Our kids enjoyed looking for shells, rocks, and crabs on the beach. It is very close to town only about 10 minute drive so you can easily get groceries or go for a bite to eat.

We will likely come back again because it is such a great place to go with the kids. I would definitely try and stay in the beach front cabins though so you can hear and see the ocean.

Room Tip: The beach front cabins are better because they have fire pits and chairs on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Place was small, clean, very simple in a lovely setting. Great views, porch, firepit, hot tub. Well thought out.
After the olympic peninsula and the Oregon coast, I was quite offended by the lack of public shoreline! Private shores suck!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in #14, which is a one bedroom cabin that looks out over the water, but isn't right on the beach like many of the others. I actually like it better in some ways, because it has more privacy and the view is great. Also, it is one of the cabins with a small TV and DirectTV, which was good since the weather was rainy and windy. We spent some nice decompression time reading and watching TV with a fire crackling in the woodstove. The mattress is newer in this cabin, and it seems like a good one. Our dog was welcome, for an extra $18/night. This extra charge seems a little steep to me since I don't think they'll need to do any extra cleaning because he was there.

Room Tip: Ask about TV, woodstove, and age of mattress. Some cabins are okay for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

For such a beautiful area, this camping facility is unsatisfying! We thought we had a "find" when we were able to camp in such a lovely area - wrong! We thought we had asked all the right questions (we are seasoned campers), but they didn't reveal all of the extras until after you sign on the dotted line and pay. We camped in the overflow area which was right beside the sewer, allowed no campfires, and we had to pay for showers. It was not worth what we payed. I would rather have stayed at a hotel for a bit more money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
12419
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Great spot cabin3 ,2 bdrms, kit etc
Great host quik trip to town for what u need

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
4.7 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#2 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
11.2 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
6.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
11.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Resort

Address: 190 Waterfront Way, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront and ocean view cottages on a prime walk-out sand/pebble beach. We face due west for spectacular sunsets. 5 minutes from Eastsound. An amazing family vacation destination in the summer; a romantic retreat in the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Eastsound
West Beach Eastsound
West Beach Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.