We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Save
You added Smugglers Villa Resort to your Saves list
54 Hunt Rd, Po Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Athens, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Wait to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On short notice, for a short stay, we were merely making arrangements to accomodate a Whale Watching commitment (the boat is moored next to the Villas). The owners were so helpful and hospitable. The villa was sparkly clean and welcoming, well equipped, and the inlet was sparkly and welcoming in the morning!!
We realized too late that we should have been at Smugglers Inn for the duration of our stay, rather than fighting traffic in Seattle. Orcas Island is an enchanting piece of a bigger enchanting, rare environment, and Smugglers Inn is just right for the setting. How refreshing! Need to unwind? Invite yourself to Smugglers Inn!
A memorable find for two jaded Ohioans. We'll be back.
And we didn't mind the airport. Small craft coming & going; we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Can't imagine any room not being acceptable. Don't hesitate to pose any question to the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a great family place. Small playground with a slide and swings. A couple of sandboxes with toys. Large grass area to run around in - and several other kids for ours to make friends with. The nightly fire pit and smores (bring your own!) was fun and helped the various vacationers get to know each other.

Yes, there was a lot of noise from the airport but didn't bother us at all. Either we weren't around during the day anyway, or we were there and it was fun to watch the airplanes land.

The pool was pretty cold and even our pool-crazy boys weren't as enthusiastic after just 2 swims.

Each condo appears to be individually decorated with different amenities. Ours had a very nice kitchen and downstairs bathroom with fancy washing machine and dryer. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare several meals. Our condo also had DISH network which allowed me to keep up with the Tour de France!

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is great for families and in great proximity for all that Orcas Island has to offer. We had a great time during our recent stay. We rented 2 units since we were a large family vacationing together. The townhouse has a half bath/laundry room that the single story units don't have. The single story still have washer/dryer but they are located in the kitchen area. There were a few things that needed management's attention (loose cabinet door) and it was taken care of right away. Grounds were nice for the kids to run around. Pool area was great however the main pool was not heated and very chilly. The hot tub was nice and hot! The little airport directly across the way was kind of fun to watch the small planes come and go but some people may get annoyed by it. Location is a very short drive to the cute town of Eastsound. Everything is an easy drive from this location. The Olga Cafe is a great breakfast place and you go thru the park to get there. My family would stay here again! **Make a Costco run before your trip up if you are staying at a place where you can make your own food. Food prices on the Island were crazy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay at Smugglers Villa - our first time on Orcas as a family. What a wonderful 'find' the condos at Smugglers were! I originally was tempted to go for a cute 'cabin on the beach' type place, but with three children aged 7-12, we thought more space and all the amenities (playgrounds, pool, and yes, even a TV & DVD in case it rained!) would be a wiser choice. We were right on! We explored most of the time, but it was great to relax in front of a cozy fire & movie in our deluxe townhouse unit. The unit itself had darned near everything you could possibly want or need, including island guidebooks, a nice selection of movies to watch, a kitchen I wish I had at home, and plenty of space! Very comfy and cozy, too. The resort is not brand new, but it had a great, lived-in 'vibe' and Mike the manager is wonderful - my family was completely fascinated by all his huge fish tanks in the office! Thank you to everyone at Smugglers - we WILL be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husbsnd and I were in the middle of a move to Arizona.
We were very tired and had none of the creature comforts, so needed at this time.
Smugglers had everything to make our stay completely comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, nothing to want for. The bed was neat, clean and very comfortable.
There was even a gas fire place to cuddle-up to (January).
We would recommend Smugglers Villa to anyone with Orcas Island as a part of their vacation destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and myself had the pleasure of staying at the Villa Resort, what a beautiful place and the rooms were so clean and perfect. We had a family reunion and we hosted it at the Condo because it was so clean and spacious, all the dishes, pots and pans, complete full sized range to cook, full size refrigerator. Thank you Mike for allowing us to have the party at your condo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

It is a little old, but the condo we rented had everything we needed kitchen tool and space-wise. The beds were comfortable, and Mike the manager was very helpful. The view on the water is great--loved the sunsets. There is some airplane noise, as the small Orcas Island airport runway is right across the canal. There were lots of families there, and they seemed to be having a lot of fun. Getting around the island is easy, if you have a car or cycle. Unlike a B&B, you cook all your meals or go out, but there are several nice restaurants in Eastsound.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Address: 54 Hunt Rd, Po Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Villa Resort on Orcas Island is a collection of 20 2-bedroom waterfront condo-homes - clean and comfy - perfect for young families and old friends - casual and calm. Smugglers is the perfect island vacation location - Incredible waterfront views, walk out beach, heated pool, hot tubs, nightly beach fire, amazing lingering sunsets, walking distance to quaint Eastsound Village, easy drive to Moran State park, kayak tours and whale watching depart from our dock, Dish TV, WiFi, real homes with full baths and kitchens, well equipped including laundry. Please call us soon. Thanks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.