We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing family vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Save Saved
You added Smugglers Villa Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 off 3rd, 4th night!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Vancouver, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing family vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a great family place. Small playground with a slide and swings. A couple of sandboxes with toys. Large grass area to run around in - and several other kids for ours to make friends with. The nightly fire pit and smores (bring your own!) was fun and helped the various vacationers get to know each other.

Yes, there was a lot of noise from the airport but didn't bother us at all. Either we weren't around during the day anyway, or we were there and it was fun to watch the airplanes land.

The pool was pretty cold and even our pool-crazy boys weren't as enthusiastic after just 2 swims.

Each condo appears to be individually decorated with different amenities. Ours had a very nice kitchen and downstairs bathroom with fancy washing machine and dryer. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare several meals. Our condo also had DISH network which allowed me to keep up with the Tour de France!

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is great for families and in great proximity for all that Orcas Island has to offer. We had a great time during our recent stay. We rented 2 units since we were a large family vacationing together. The townhouse has a half bath/laundry room that the single story units don't have. The single story still have washer/dryer but they are located in the kitchen area. There were a few things that needed management's attention (loose cabinet door) and it was taken care of right away. Grounds were nice for the kids to run around. Pool area was great however the main pool was not heated and very chilly. The hot tub was nice and hot! The little airport directly across the way was kind of fun to watch the small planes come and go but some people may get annoyed by it. Location is a very short drive to the cute town of Eastsound. Everything is an easy drive from this location. The Olga Cafe is a great breakfast place and you go thru the park to get there. My family would stay here again! **Make a Costco run before your trip up if you are staying at a place where you can make your own food. Food prices on the Island were crazy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay at Smugglers Villa - our first time on Orcas as a family. What a wonderful 'find' the condos at Smugglers were! I originally was tempted to go for a cute 'cabin on the beach' type place, but with three children aged 7-12, we thought more space and all the amenities (playgrounds, pool, and yes, even a TV & DVD in case it rained!) would be a wiser choice. We were right on! We explored most of the time, but it was great to relax in front of a cozy fire & movie in our deluxe townhouse unit. The unit itself had darned near everything you could possibly want or need, including island guidebooks, a nice selection of movies to watch, a kitchen I wish I had at home, and plenty of space! Very comfy and cozy, too. The resort is not brand new, but it had a great, lived-in 'vibe' and Mike the manager is wonderful - my family was completely fascinated by all his huge fish tanks in the office! Thank you to everyone at Smugglers - we WILL be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husbsnd and I were in the middle of a move to Arizona.
We were very tired and had none of the creature comforts, so needed at this time.
Smugglers had everything to make our stay completely comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, nothing to want for. The bed was neat, clean and very comfortable.
There was even a gas fire place to cuddle-up to (January).
We would recommend Smugglers Villa to anyone with Orcas Island as a part of their vacation destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and myself had the pleasure of staying at the Villa Resort, what a beautiful place and the rooms were so clean and perfect. We had a family reunion and we hosted it at the Condo because it was so clean and spacious, all the dishes, pots and pans, complete full sized range to cook, full size refrigerator. Thank you Mike for allowing us to have the party at your condo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

It is a little old, but the condo we rented had everything we needed kitchen tool and space-wise. The beds were comfortable, and Mike the manager was very helpful. The view on the water is great--loved the sunsets. There is some airplane noise, as the small Orcas Island airport runway is right across the canal. There were lots of families there, and they seemed to be having a lot of fun. Getting around the island is easy, if you have a car or cycle. Unlike a B&B, you cook all your meals or go out, but there are several nice restaurants in Eastsound.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family takes a trip each summer to someplace around WA that we've never been before. This year we chose Orcas Island. I found Smuggler's Villa Resort on VRBO.com. I tell you we could not have been happier! The condo itself was nice but would have been better with 2 bathrooms, but we managed fine. The property is in a wonderful location right on a marina to one side and the beach to the other side. We loved watching the boats go in and out and the planes taking off and landing at the small airport just across from us. The pool and hot tub were an awesome amenity for us. We actually chose this property because it was the only one we could find with a pool. The kids had a great time riding their bikes all over the place, exploring the marina dock for marine creatures, and having s'mores around the nightly campfire. This place is definitely kid friendly! We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Address: P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.