We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Save
You added Smugglers Villa Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 off 3rd, 4th night!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Mount Vernon, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a four day stay at Smugglers Villa - our first time on Orcas as a family. What a wonderful 'find' the condos at Smugglers were! I originally was tempted to go for a cute 'cabin on the beach' type place, but with three children aged 7-12, we thought more space and all the amenities (playgrounds, pool, and yes, even a TV & DVD in case it rained!) would be a wiser choice. We were right on! We explored most of the time, but it was great to relax in front of a cozy fire & movie in our deluxe townhouse unit. The unit itself had darned near everything you could possibly want or need, including island guidebooks, a nice selection of movies to watch, a kitchen I wish I had at home, and plenty of space! Very comfy and cozy, too. The resort is not brand new, but it had a great, lived-in 'vibe' and Mike the manager is wonderful - my family was completely fascinated by all his huge fish tanks in the office! Thank you to everyone at Smugglers - we WILL be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maricopa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husbsnd and I were in the middle of a move to Arizona.
We were very tired and had none of the creature comforts, so needed at this time.
Smugglers had everything to make our stay completely comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped, nothing to want for. The bed was neat, clean and very comfortable.
There was even a gas fire place to cuddle-up to (January).
We would recommend Smugglers Villa to anyone with Orcas Island as a part of their vacation destination.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and myself had the pleasure of staying at the Villa Resort, what a beautiful place and the rooms were so clean and perfect. We had a family reunion and we hosted it at the Condo because it was so clean and spacious, all the dishes, pots and pans, complete full sized range to cook, full size refrigerator. Thank you Mike for allowing us to have the party at your condo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

It is a little old, but the condo we rented had everything we needed kitchen tool and space-wise. The beds were comfortable, and Mike the manager was very helpful. The view on the water is great--loved the sunsets. There is some airplane noise, as the small Orcas Island airport runway is right across the canal. There were lots of families there, and they seemed to be having a lot of fun. Getting around the island is easy, if you have a car or cycle. Unlike a B&B, you cook all your meals or go out, but there are several nice restaurants in Eastsound.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family takes a trip each summer to someplace around WA that we've never been before. This year we chose Orcas Island. I found Smuggler's Villa Resort on VRBO.com. I tell you we could not have been happier! The condo itself was nice but would have been better with 2 bathrooms, but we managed fine. The property is in a wonderful location right on a marina to one side and the beach to the other side. We loved watching the boats go in and out and the planes taking off and landing at the small airport just across from us. The pool and hot tub were an awesome amenity for us. We actually chose this property because it was the only one we could find with a pool. The kids had a great time riding their bikes all over the place, exploring the marina dock for marine creatures, and having s'mores around the nightly campfire. This place is definitely kid friendly! We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We made our reservations late, and weren't expecting too much based on the mixed reviews, but we loved it. We had the Deluxe Townhouse, which was good for us and two very tall adult sons. The second bedroom had two large beds, which were perfect for the guys. It also had two twin beds we didn't need, but it was great to have two full bathrooms. The living room had a gas fireplace, and the kitchen was fully equipped. One thing that doesn't seem to come through in the other reviews is that these units (the "villas") are each separately owned, so the furniture, kitchen implements, decor, etc. are not uniform. Ours was lovely and clean. We found the management (Mike, et al) to be very friendly and helpful if anything was wrong. (Some of the lamps didn't work, and Mike came right out to show us the circuit breaker which we hadn't been able to locate.)

If you are expecting to spend all day on your deck, and you crave privacy and quiet, then this is probably not for you. Yes, people walk by, and there are planes taking off and landing during the day (which we found interesting). But if you are out and about taking advantage of what the island offers, then Smugglers has a perfect location, within walking distance of Eastsound, and equally accessible to both sides of the island.

We also used the whale-watch/kayak tour business that has a desk in the main building, with tours leaving from next to the resort. We were quite pleased, and we got a discount because we were staying at Smugglers. They claim to have the fastest boats, and it seemed to be true -- our captain (who happened to be Mike's son, Matt) was able to get to the area where Orcas had been sighted in time for us to have an extraordinary experience -- one of the Orcas actually breeched, and two of them swam right under the boat. The 3-hour kayak trip was also fun. The pool and hot tubs were a pleasure when we got back from a day of paddling or hiking. Plus, Mike keeps four tanks of gorgeous tropical fish in the office; there is a beautiful flower garden, and two parrot cages.

All in all, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of furnishings particular units have -- e.g., how fully equipped is the kitchen. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have come here for three years in a row now in the summer and we absolutely love it!! We have friends who have stayed every year for 20 years!! We love how family friendly it is. Kids and adults can enjoy it. There is a swimming pool and hot tub ( and an adult hour in case you don't like being around kids at the pool), tennis courts, campfire each night, a playground, and a nice trail for kids to ride their bikes on in front of the townhouses. Yes, there is an airport, but you get used to it. In the city you hear planes, trains, and cars all the time. These are small planes with quick take offs and landings. The kids and many of us adults actually enjoy watching the planes come and go. We bring our boat and moor it at the Smugglers marina. Great crabbing and fishing nearby and some great islands just across the water. The owners are great and we will continue to going to Smugglers Villa each summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Address: P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.