We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, old family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Save
You added Smugglers Villa Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 off 3rd, 4th night!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice, old family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

It is a little old, but the condo we rented had everything we needed kitchen tool and space-wise. The beds were comfortable, and Mike the manager was very helpful. The view on the water is great--loved the sunsets. There is some airplane noise, as the small Orcas Island airport runway is right across the canal. There were lots of families there, and they seemed to be having a lot of fun. Getting around the island is easy, if you have a car or cycle. Unlike a B&B, you cook all your meals or go out, but there are several nice restaurants in Eastsound.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family takes a trip each summer to someplace around WA that we've never been before. This year we chose Orcas Island. I found Smuggler's Villa Resort on VRBO.com. I tell you we could not have been happier! The condo itself was nice but would have been better with 2 bathrooms, but we managed fine. The property is in a wonderful location right on a marina to one side and the beach to the other side. We loved watching the boats go in and out and the planes taking off and landing at the small airport just across from us. The pool and hot tub were an awesome amenity for us. We actually chose this property because it was the only one we could find with a pool. The kids had a great time riding their bikes all over the place, exploring the marina dock for marine creatures, and having s'mores around the nightly campfire. This place is definitely kid friendly! We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We made our reservations late, and weren't expecting too much based on the mixed reviews, but we loved it. We had the Deluxe Townhouse, which was good for us and two very tall adult sons. The second bedroom had two large beds, which were perfect for the guys. It also had two twin beds we didn't need, but it was great to have two full bathrooms. The living room had a gas fireplace, and the kitchen was fully equipped. One thing that doesn't seem to come through in the other reviews is that these units (the "villas") are each separately owned, so the furniture, kitchen implements, decor, etc. are not uniform. Ours was lovely and clean. We found the management (Mike, et al) to be very friendly and helpful if anything was wrong. (Some of the lamps didn't work, and Mike came right out to show us the circuit breaker which we hadn't been able to locate.)

If you are expecting to spend all day on your deck, and you crave privacy and quiet, then this is probably not for you. Yes, people walk by, and there are planes taking off and landing during the day (which we found interesting). But if you are out and about taking advantage of what the island offers, then Smugglers has a perfect location, within walking distance of Eastsound, and equally accessible to both sides of the island.

We also used the whale-watch/kayak tour business that has a desk in the main building, with tours leaving from next to the resort. We were quite pleased, and we got a discount because we were staying at Smugglers. They claim to have the fastest boats, and it seemed to be true -- our captain (who happened to be Mike's son, Matt) was able to get to the area where Orcas had been sighted in time for us to have an extraordinary experience -- one of the Orcas actually breeched, and two of them swam right under the boat. The 3-hour kayak trip was also fun. The pool and hot tubs were a pleasure when we got back from a day of paddling or hiking. Plus, Mike keeps four tanks of gorgeous tropical fish in the office; there is a beautiful flower garden, and two parrot cages.

All in all, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of furnishings particular units have -- e.g., how fully equipped is the kitchen. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have come here for three years in a row now in the summer and we absolutely love it!! We have friends who have stayed every year for 20 years!! We love how family friendly it is. Kids and adults can enjoy it. There is a swimming pool and hot tub ( and an adult hour in case you don't like being around kids at the pool), tennis courts, campfire each night, a playground, and a nice trail for kids to ride their bikes on in front of the townhouses. Yes, there is an airport, but you get used to it. In the city you hear planes, trains, and cars all the time. These are small planes with quick take offs and landings. The kids and many of us adults actually enjoy watching the planes come and go. We bring our boat and moor it at the Smugglers marina. Great crabbing and fishing nearby and some great islands just across the water. The owners are great and we will continue to going to Smugglers Villa each summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked this place for five days, and ended up staying for ten. We loved it! Mike put us in a two-story, two bedroom condo, fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, with a grill outside on the deck. Our place was appropriately named "The End of the Rainbow" and it couldn't have had a more apt name. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets were soft, everything was very clean. It was like having our own home in the San Juans. At only a mile from Eastsound, we could walk through the pastoral scenery every day to get groceries or hot chocolate. Smugglers sits at the northern end of Orcas Island, so you can just walk out your door in the evening and watch the sunsets, which were spectacular! An otter came out of the water and ate an eel right in front of us! We were travelling with two adults and three teenagers, and EVERYONE was happy for all ten days! Now that's what I call a vacation! We saw other places to stay on both Orcas and on the other islands, but we all agreed we got the best place for the best price anywhere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is good as long as you know what you are getting in to. If you have never been to the San Juans before, the word "resort" can be a little misleading. It is by no means a luxury accommodation. It is several steps up from camping in a trailer. Our unit was relatively clean (one small, crusty towel had been overlooked and left in our bathroom, hanging over the shower curtain in the back corner behind the bathroom door....in other words, a place easy to miss it). We had the place on the end, closest to the pool. Tight for a family of 5, with 3 teenage boys, but manageable. There was only one decent sized bathroom, although the master does have a small sink within the room. The kitchen was equipped with only the bare basics. The pool was nice, albeit cold, and having a hot tub was nice too. Every night the owners make a bonfire by the water, which is a lovely place to meet other travelers and share s'mores (bring your own supplies, metal roasting sticks are provided).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoy weekend trips on our 22 ft boat in WA, and Smuggler's is one of our favorites. It's a quick trip across from Bellingham, and close to many other fun day trips in the beautiful San Juans. We have visited twice, both times in the summer, and have enjoyed our time here immensely. Entering "the ditch" at low tide can get dicey, but it's not impossible. Outer Island Expeditions whale watching charters go in and out just fine, so rest assured and keep an eye on the depth.

We stayed in a smaller unit the first time, 2BD, 2BA, full, well-equipped kitchen, W&D, TV, DVD, satellite, wireless internet, and then a larger 2BD/2BA the second time with all of the above. The larger half of the duplex unit is just an upstairs/downstairs floorplan, and doesn't really seem like a whole lot larger than the one-level unit. We felt that both were very well laid out and had plenty of space for the 5 of us. The larger unit did have a view from the upstairs windows, though not necessarily worth the added price. There was a large expandable table inside, and a picnic table outside on the deck as well as four very comfortable deck chairs and an umbrella. There is a gas barbecue on each deck, so that's a nice option for cooking as well - particularly if you get out to fish. Units are equipped with towels, paper towels, detergents and cleaning equip if needed, but you will need to bring your own hair dryer if you use one.

We enjoyed watching the various planes land and take off at the adjacent airport. Weekend traffic seems to be a lot more frequent than if you are staying during the week, which we found quieter. We also noticed that there were more families with children arriving on Friday night for the weekend, while the midweek stay we only saw one or two.

The pool and spa areas are well-maintained and have lovely potted flowers and plantings, numerous comfortable chaises and umbrellas as well. There is an adults only time in the later afternoon if you are craving some quiet. A volleyball net is just outside the pool area and sometimes in the evenings, a few guests get together for a game. Between there and the shore is a nice fire pit where you can watch the sunset and swap stories. Smuggler's would be a great spot for a family reunion! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Address: P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.