We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Smugglers Villa!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Villa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smugglers Villa Resort
Save
You added Smugglers Villa Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$50 off 3rd, 4th night!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Smugglers Villa!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have come here for three years in a row now in the summer and we absolutely love it!! We have friends who have stayed every year for 20 years!! We love how family friendly it is. Kids and adults can enjoy it. There is a swimming pool and hot tub ( and an adult hour in case you don't like being around kids at the pool), tennis courts, campfire each night, a playground, and a nice trail for kids to ride their bikes on in front of the townhouses. Yes, there is an airport, but you get used to it. In the city you hear planes, trains, and cars all the time. These are small planes with quick take offs and landings. The kids and many of us adults actually enjoy watching the planes come and go. We bring our boat and moor it at the Smugglers marina. Great crabbing and fishing nearby and some great islands just across the water. The owners are great and we will continue to going to Smugglers Villa each summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked this place for five days, and ended up staying for ten. We loved it! Mike put us in a two-story, two bedroom condo, fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, with a grill outside on the deck. Our place was appropriately named "The End of the Rainbow" and it couldn't have had a more apt name. The beds were very comfortable, the sheets were soft, everything was very clean. It was like having our own home in the San Juans. At only a mile from Eastsound, we could walk through the pastoral scenery every day to get groceries or hot chocolate. Smugglers sits at the northern end of Orcas Island, so you can just walk out your door in the evening and watch the sunsets, which were spectacular! An otter came out of the water and ate an eel right in front of us! We were travelling with two adults and three teenagers, and EVERYONE was happy for all ten days! Now that's what I call a vacation! We saw other places to stay on both Orcas and on the other islands, but we all agreed we got the best place for the best price anywhere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is good as long as you know what you are getting in to. If you have never been to the San Juans before, the word "resort" can be a little misleading. It is by no means a luxury accommodation. It is several steps up from camping in a trailer. Our unit was relatively clean (one small, crusty towel had been overlooked and left in our bathroom, hanging over the shower curtain in the back corner behind the bathroom door....in other words, a place easy to miss it). We had the place on the end, closest to the pool. Tight for a family of 5, with 3 teenage boys, but manageable. There was only one decent sized bathroom, although the master does have a small sink within the room. The kitchen was equipped with only the bare basics. The pool was nice, albeit cold, and having a hot tub was nice too. Every night the owners make a bonfire by the water, which is a lovely place to meet other travelers and share s'mores (bring your own supplies, metal roasting sticks are provided).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoy weekend trips on our 22 ft boat in WA, and Smuggler's is one of our favorites. It's a quick trip across from Bellingham, and close to many other fun day trips in the beautiful San Juans. We have visited twice, both times in the summer, and have enjoyed our time here immensely. Entering "the ditch" at low tide can get dicey, but it's not impossible. Outer Island Expeditions whale watching charters go in and out just fine, so rest assured and keep an eye on the depth.

We stayed in a smaller unit the first time, 2BD, 2BA, full, well-equipped kitchen, W&D, TV, DVD, satellite, wireless internet, and then a larger 2BD/2BA the second time with all of the above. The larger half of the duplex unit is just an upstairs/downstairs floorplan, and doesn't really seem like a whole lot larger than the one-level unit. We felt that both were very well laid out and had plenty of space for the 5 of us. The larger unit did have a view from the upstairs windows, though not necessarily worth the added price. There was a large expandable table inside, and a picnic table outside on the deck as well as four very comfortable deck chairs and an umbrella. There is a gas barbecue on each deck, so that's a nice option for cooking as well - particularly if you get out to fish. Units are equipped with towels, paper towels, detergents and cleaning equip if needed, but you will need to bring your own hair dryer if you use one.

We enjoyed watching the various planes land and take off at the adjacent airport. Weekend traffic seems to be a lot more frequent than if you are staying during the week, which we found quieter. We also noticed that there were more families with children arriving on Friday night for the weekend, while the midweek stay we only saw one or two.

The pool and spa areas are well-maintained and have lovely potted flowers and plantings, numerous comfortable chaises and umbrellas as well. There is an adults only time in the later afternoon if you are craving some quiet. A volleyball net is just outside the pool area and sometimes in the evenings, a few guests get together for a game. Between there and the shore is a nice fire pit where you can watch the sunset and swap stories. Smuggler's would be a great spot for a family reunion! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The San Juan Islands are one of the best kept secrets anywhere - positively beautiful! Remember, this is a somewhat remote island community and not a modern city. It is a gorgeous 1 1/2 ferry ride just to get here! It is peaceful and serene with recreational opportunities galore (boating, fishing, crabbing ,hiking, biking, wildlife and whale watching) not to mention the usual activities. The sunsets right from your deck are to die for! If you are looking for a fancy modern hotel, this is probably not for you - there are plenty of those in Miami or San Diego. If you are looking for scenery, tranquility and nature give this place a try. Over the years we have stayed at Smuggler's many times and just keep coming back - with and without kids.

Room Tip: Our favorite is #9A - a 2 br rambler. Very well appointed with new furniture, great beds and everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The stay was not at all enjoyable.... from the time they stated they lost our reservation ( we are seasoned travelers and meticulous up to & including drop box documents on the phone) till we left it was not a happy place. Unorganized and uncaring.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family of four (including two teenagers) came to Orcas Island in July of 2011. I waited too long to make our hotel reservations, so many places were booked up by the time I got down to business.

Smugglers Villa bills itself as a resort, and I suppose the location near the water and the pool and hot tub technically qualify it as such. We stayed in a "Rambler", which had two bedrooms. The other units are the same size or larger. My kids (opposite gender teenagers) had their own beds which was key, but shared a room, and then there was a tiny room for the queen for my husband and me. There was not enough room to put our luggage in our room, though!

The kitchen was adequate but tired and worn, as was the living area and bathroom. I will say that the kitchen had just about everything we needed...we did run out for a few odds and ends that I thought should have been there (like dish soap and salt and pepper), but we were going to the grocery store anyway. We were psyched about the washer and dryer right in our unit, and we used the outdoor grill a couple of nights, too. The grill functioned sporadically at best.

We had the pool to ourselves a couple of times, but the day we got there the two hot tubs had been ordered drained and re-filled by the health inspector (I don't want to know why), so they were out of commission for a day. The pool was nice - and offered a lovely view of the ocean if you stood up and looked over the fence and/or walked around. Mike, the manager (owner too, I think?) was nice enough and also answered all of our questions helpfully.

I was concerned about "the neighbors" as referenced here on other Trip Advisor reviews, and it is true that there is absolutely no privacy on one's back deck. Maybe it would be better if you were in Unit 1 or 2 way down the street. I suppose it is a hit or miss whether you stay the week someone is having a rowdy family reunion or if you hit a week when things are quiet. We had a little of both during our stay...and we were only there 3 nights.

One thing I could not visualize while I read Trip Advisor was the layout of the units. I think there are 16 buildings (not including the main buildings or pool area) that basically line the length of the small marina that runs the length of the Smugglers property and the tail end of the airport. There are two units in each building...one of the smaller 900 sq ft units like our Rambler, and one of the larger 1200 sq ft units. We were building 15, which was the next to last one closest to the pool, main building and ocean, so that was nice, but we sure had a lot of foot traffic going back and forth to the main building out our back deck.

Smuggler's Villa Resort's glory days are gone, but the rooms remain habitable and we did not find this accomodation to be a bad choice. I think the owner would be well served by completely overhauling the furnishings, kitchens and baths to today's standards. In the meantime, I will encourage my friends and family to book an accomodation at Orcas Island earlier than I did and try to find someplace else to stay if they can...Smugglers being a reasonable back-up plan if all else fails.

Room Tip: Buidling 16 is closest to the ocean but also gets the most foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Villa Resort

Address: P.O. Box 79, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Smugglers Villa Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Hotel Eastsound
Smugglers Villa Resort Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.