We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is everyone tripping about this place?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tee-Jay's Tacos

Tee-Jay's Tacos
112 Haven Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA
360.376.6337
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 restaurants in Eastsound
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Pacific Rim, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Tee Jay's Tacos is a local eatery on Madrona Point, Orcas Island, Washington. TJ's operates out of the Odd Fellows kitchen on Thursday, Friday and Saturday from noon until 6:30 pm from October until May and Thursday and Friday from May until September. We are at the Orcas Island Farmer's Market on Saturday's during these months. The Odd Fellows kitchen is an open kitchen, so our atmosphere is very casual. In good weather we offer outside dining on Fishing Bay with a great view. TJ's has a simple menu built around Tacos, Burritos,Enchiladas and Quesadillas. Our offerings include: beef, poultry, pork, fish and vegetables. The menu is the same from open until close and we have chips & salsa and rice & beans daily. Our appetizers, salads, soups and desserts are seasonal and vary, as well as our weekly specials which have an Asian, near eastern or Indian flair. Be on the lookout for our street sign which says TACOS in big letters.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Is everyone tripping about this place?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The one good thing about the food we got at this place is the fish; it wasn't cooked to death. But the salsa, cheese and tortillas were very average quality. The beans and rice were close to inedible. Mexican cuisine is a favorite of mine, and I can't recommend Tee-Jay's on taste alone. Can't comment on the location since my husband went there and got takeout for us, but he said the proprietor was a character.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
208TimB208, Owner at Tee-Jay's Tacos, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Although we appreciate all the feedback we receive through TripAdvisor, we can only speculate whether or not this food came from Tee-Jay's or not since the reviewer never came in for food and trusted her husband to get the right food from the right restaurant. We are open Thursdays and Fridays and we wonder when this food was bought, possibly at another place (?).
Our refried beans are house-made from scratch and our Mexican rice is an authentic recipe which we would put up against any other similar rice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    34
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A friend took me here a couple years ago for my first Fish Tacos - I was skeptical - Fish?? Tacos?? I'm a convert - I now try Fish Tacos where ever I go and so far none have topped Tee-Jays!
The salmon tacos are wonderful but the cod tacos are my favorite - seasoned perfectly and not dry!
Ignore the funky dining area - the food more than makes up for it. Always ask if they have the bacon wrapped jalapeno poppers - they run out quickly and they don't always have them, but when they do, they are soooooo worth it.
Make this part of your Orcas Experience - you won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Off the beaten track but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We never would have found this without Trip Advisor. We loved this out-of-the-way place frequented by locals. Delicious, simple mexican food for a great price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcas island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Killer fish tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

What a great place! Definitely don't let the hole-in-the-wall atmosphere slow you down. This is a local place, we almost don't want the tourists to find it! Ask about specials. I almost always have the fish tacos... Cod, mahi mahi, sometimes shrimp. The pickled carrots are amazing. Carne asada tacos are also wonderful. Sit at the bar if you can, it is fun to watch Tim cook. These guys are doing real mexican food, down and dirty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent food, fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

As almost every reviewer has said, the food was great and really filling. The complimentary carrot pickles and salsa were outstanding, and the quesadillas were wonderful--we had two sodas (don"t miss the green apple) and 2 medium and 1 large quesadilla (which meant enough leftovers for breakfast) for $20. The service was friendly and casual, but it was attentive and caring too. I wish they were in our neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tee-Jay's Tacos also viewed

Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 
Eastsound, Orcas Island
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Tee-Jay's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tee-Jay's Tacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.