We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish i could stay longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salish Seaside Escapes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Salish Seaside Escapes
Save
You added The Salish Seaside Escapes to your Saves list
271 Sunset Avenue, PO Box 1273, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245 (Formerly North Shore Cottages)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Orting, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wish i could stay longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in the seal point house using our living social deal. What a deal! The house was unique and comfertable and had everything including all the basics plus things like laundry soap. Books galore, you dont need anything but food. What we liked most was they were pet friendly. No deposit or restrictions on pets. Unheard of. I figured the house would maybe smell like dog, but no pet odors and really clean. I tell everyone about this place!

Room Tip: King bedroom is best but you have to go through the twin beds room to get to it. Or there is an alte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm so glad you had a great stay at Seal Point cottage at The Salish. I hope you and your canine friends will feel welcome to come back again to spend some time with us. We will be having some specials this fall. Hope you'll take a look. On selected dates, your furry friends will receive a biscuit gift for visiting with us! See you soon at The Salish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    2
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Eagle's Nest and must say it was perfect for my husband, myself and our dog. Quiet, and very quaint, sipping wine from the hot tub overlooking the Sound. Totally secluded and private. Had a grill and wicker chairs and table if we wanted to cook outside and a kitchen inside. Cottage was very open and roomy. Nice bathroom with large walk in shower and heated towel racks. Plan on staying there again and would recommend it as a nice getaway on Orca Island.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. It was wonderful to have you here with us at The Salish. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to seeing you again soon. --The Sweet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a Groupon we used to stay here. It turned out to be a screaming deal. We stayed in Seal Point, which is one of the larger houses. There are three bedrooms; each with its own bathroom. There were a washer and dryer, full kitchen and a beautiful wrap around deck. We reserved a larger ace because there were six of us, a German Shepard and our six month old. It was a perfect amount of space for us.
The view was gorgeous bad location excellent; about 10-15 minutes from Eastsound. The owners obviously spent a great deal of time decorating the place we stayed. A lot of beautiful antique finishes were everywhere. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is because there were a few things not working. However, I would still highly recommend staying here. It's incredibly well put together. The highlight of our stay was sitting in the hot tub, looking out onto the water. If we could get the same price, we would come back every year.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay here at The Salish. We're so glad the cottage worked well for your family. We are proud of all of our cottages and try to make them feel unique and special for all of our guests. We're so sorry some things were not working for you. Please let us know next time you stay if anything is not working properly, and we'll make sure we get it in order for you. Hope to see you again soon. It was lovely having you. --The Sweet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place is the best ever! Way better than a hotel or motel. There are several different cottages, each with it's own theme. We stayed in Orca Watch, which had a nautical theme. Everything you need is supplied from coffee beans to private hot tubs. The owner and her son were very nice and totally accommodating. It is right on the water so we had a spectacular view. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay somewhere off the beaten path.

Room Tip: There are great photos of each cottage on their website, so be sure to check them all out before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay at Orca Watch cottage at The Salish. I'm glad you liked the coffee. We try to provide our guests with local gifts, so that you can a feel for the islands. We look forward to seeing you again.
The Sweet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Pros:
Extremely friendly and helpful owner and manager
Beautiful and quiet location with a view of the water
Lots of character in what we saw of their cottages
Amenities galore (hot tubs, sauna, tvs, dvd players, jacuzzi tubs, full kitchens, games, books, etc)

The Cons:
The cottages and the office aren't marked so it's hard to tell what's what.
Cleanliness could be better. There was quite a bit of buildup on the fan blades and bathroom vent and under furniture.

I purchased a Living Social or Groupon deal for a 2 night stay at North Shore Cottages and chose to stay in the Heron Cove cottage because the photos and reviews I read were so good. We took the 3:30 ferry over from Anacortes and landed after dark so although the directions were clear, finding the right cottage and driveway in the dark was not easy. None of the cottages are marked so you can't tell what's what, especially in the pitch black night. Luckily though, the manager came out to our car to greet us and show us the way. He was super friendly and helpful, walking us through all the dials, switches, and features of the house.

We unpacked, made dinner, played some games and when it was time to go to bed around 1:30am, we found a few little surprises. Our guests opened the pull out couch and found a nice selection of mouse droppings. Then my husband went upstairs and found the same thing under the bed. So we called the manager's house and told them what we found. The owner answered and said she'd be right there to help us resolve the issue. So she and her son (the manager) came to Heron Cove and took a look at what we saw. They were obviously embarrassed by it and extremely apologetic. They offered to move us to the larger house at no additional charge.

We walked over there to take a look and decide if it was just going to be the same thing in another house but it was a beautiful house and seemed free of animal droppings so we took their offer.

We were by all intents and purposes satisfied with their solution but the next day, Thane (the manager) came to visit us with 2 bottles of wine and a refund to apologize for our experience the night before. They've been building another cottage so lots of construction may have stirred up the little critters and they weren't aware of the problem until we found it.

Ultimately it was a very nice getaway and we were not wanting for anything. Elizabeth and Thane were wonderful and helpful and friendly and went way above and beyond what they needed to for us. It's getting harder and harder to find good quality service and friendly people so I would definitely return to Orcas and stay there again to support these wonderful people. Thanks for doing what you did to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so glad that your visit turned out well. Thank you so much for your graciousness and patience. We've instructed our staff to be more vigilant so that none of our guests encounter what you did again. We hope you will come and visit us again. We value all of our guests and want you to have the best experience possible. -The Sweet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Wonderful retreat! Stayed in a great cottage, Seal Point, with our family. Great home with great views. The kitchen was fully stocked and very welcoming. Private jacuzzi was the best. All the cottages are so unique and the property has lots of hidden paths and secret garden spots to explore. Owners very friendly and helpful. Magical!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay. We hope you'll come back again this fall. We have lots of great packages and special events coming up. We'd love to have you join us. The Sweet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here with the living social deal in the screech owl suite. Was such an awesome place. All the comforts of home and an exceptional kitchen! Private jacuzzi and very laid back friendly owners. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LenSweet, Owner at The Salish Seaside Escapes, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. Screech Owl Swoop is one of my personal favorite cottages. And I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Our collection of owls is growing. Hope you'll join us again this fall. We'd love to make your experience even more special. --The Sweet Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salish Seaside Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salish Seaside Escapes

Address: 271 Sunset Avenue, PO Box 1273, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245 (Formerly North Shore Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Jacuzzis, Sauna on the grounds, sea views, full kitchens. Cottages by the Sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Salish Seaside Escapes Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salish Seaside Escapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.