We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect way to spend the afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orcas Island Sailing

Orcas Island Sailing
1945 Obstruction Pass Rd., Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
360 310 0100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Attractions in Eastsound
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer personalized sailing lessons for those of you looking for a true sailing experience. No prior experience is required. No crowds, just you and yours. Families are encouraged! We have a wonderful fleet of boats each with their own appeal: 19' daysailer, 26' heavy keel sloop and a custom built 30' Trimaran! For qualified sailors we also offer bareboat charters. Please give us a call today!
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect way to spend the afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just went sailing with Ben for the second time (first was June of last year). Every bit as much fun as the first. Ben is an excellent teacher, and very patient, but if you just want to go for a cruise, that's fine too. We had four in our party, two wanted to learn sailing, two didn't, all had fun. We're planning on doing this every year.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ben is a great teacher!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband took our boys out on Saturday with Ben, the owner. He was very patient, kind, and attentive with our children. They were so excited when they arrived home; not to mention exhausted. We will definately be calling Ben again the next time we stay on Orcas Island. Thanks so much for the great memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best day on the ocean with Captain Ben Booth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent a week on Orcas Island and decided to go sailing on the last day. I wanted my two boys (ages 7 and 5) to experience sailing for the forst time so I did a little research and found Orcas Island Sailing to have the best reviews. It was me and the boys and my brother in-law. Ben Booth is just a wonderful man. He was so patient with the kids and made an effort to make each one feel the center of attention. Ben has a relaxed and easy going manner. He is an excellent teacher and has no problem letting adults and kids alike take the tiller and steer the boat. He taught the basic of sailing to the kids and gave a more in depth explanation to the adults. He does it it a fun way with great analogies and funny jokes. It was a perfect afternoon sail and the scenery is just amazing. That first moment when Ben cuts the motor and the sails fill, and that cool ocean breeze hits your face and you feel yourself sailing through one of the most beautiful eye popping parts of the world...it is simply a pure joy to behold. Thank you Ben for the best part of our vacation

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Spend the Day on Orcas Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Orcas Island Sailing is a great way to spend the day here on Orcas.
Want something more to do, then go sailing! Learn or just enjoy the sail. Lots of things to see and feel the wind push you along.
Ben Booth is a very friendly and knowledgeable sail instructor. You will lean a lot in a short time and spend some time with a local who can tell you a few things about the islands.
If you are new to sailing or need some refresher instruction Ben is the captain for you.
This is fun for the hole family or couples or just solo.
A must do if you like being on the water.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great times sailing, Memorial Day 2012!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My fiancé and I had a great time sailing with Ben this Memorial Day weekend. The lesson was the highlight of our trip. Weather was great and the views were magnificent.

Ben is a wonderful teacher and we got to experience some great physics lessons to go along with all of our new sailing knowledge. From the very first moment out on the water he let us learn by doing. Ben also placed utmost importance on safety and learning the proper way to do things.

All in all it was a great time and one we hope to repeat next time we are on Orcas!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orcas Island Sailing also viewed

 

Been to Orcas Island Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orcas Island Sailing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.