We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“orcas suites dissappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orcas Suites at Rosario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orcas Suites at Rosario
Save Saved
You added Orcas Suites at Rosario to your Saves list
1600 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
W Ashley
1 review
“orcas suites dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We reserved a two bedroom suite for 6 (3 adult couples). we arrived believing we would have connecting rooms but the connection was actually one outside and two inside locked doors. one room with fold out couch the other with two queens. there was no second bedroom, there was a connecting door to a room next to the living room but there were people in that room. rooms were clean, but light was out in 'foyer' so it was pitch black once the single door auto-shut behind so one of us held that door to find the key lock for other doors and it made getting luggage in difficult. other lights were out & we were refused bulbs until maintenance could check. TV had no signal or remote & took an effort to get across only 4 stayed first night and 6 the second then to clarify that charges were different for number of guests and more negotiating to alter bill. further we were charged the price for a two bedroom suite. we received a complaint of too much noise after rolling our luggage down the long wooden walkway to our room at 9pm. additionally, there was a partially squashed slug just outside the single door our entire stay which under most circumstances I would have simply cleaned up myself but given the piles of seagull droppings all along the wooden walkway and the numerous other problems I was disinclined to clean. All in all it was more similar to third world traveling than what I expected for a "resort" for resort prices.

Room Tip: stay at Rosario proper or another place on the island and drive in to visit Rosario.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sac delta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

when we checked in, we were greated by a great staff employee who was so helpful. She answered all our questions and even more. The suite was at the top of the hill with an unbelievable view of the harbor. We had other family members stay at different suites and all had incredible views. So no rooms are bad. They were clean and comfortable. For us, this is the place to stay if you are going to be on Orcas Island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms had a lot of space. The view was nice, but large trees blocked some the bay view. The location is about 10 minutes from the “downtown” area, which had everything you needed from an IGA and a sports store to local shops. There were quite a few restaurants and cafes. We were able to pick up salads and sandwiches at the IGA for our day trips. The ferry is super easy and free for walkers and bikers. We took it to San Juan islands (Friday Harbor) where there was a lot more action than Orcas Island. Orcas was more quiet and quaint compared to San Juan where it was more lively and energetic, so it just depends on what you are looking for. We did find a local brewery close to the airport called Island Hoppin’ Brewery. They didn’t serve food, but a great stop for some live music and a cold beer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great views, newly remodeled inside (doesn't look like it from the outside). A little spendy, but really nice. We had a king suite with two rooms (living room + bedroom) and two bathrooms, full kitchen, oven, fridge. It's ok to spend a little more on the room if you use the kitchen even a few times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent four nights in July in one of the newly renovated rooms in the part of the resort away from the lodge itself. We had a small deck that overlooked the water and with a view of the resort in the distance. We could walk to the resort to swim in the pool, eat a fancy meal in the evening, or go to the pretty small spa. One afternoon, there was a piano concert with a slide show that told the history of Rosario. That was interesting.

There were not many other guests during our visit, so it was peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed two dinners at the lodge, and it was romantic looking out at the lights and the water. The restaurant was good, but expensive.

I have to say that I think the whole place is overpriced, though.The massage at the tiny spa was average, but expensive. The room we had was brand new and nice, but not really special for the expensive price... It looked like the simplest of comfy bedding and furniture from Pottery Barn, with no color or personality. The view was nice, and we did enjoy drinking our own wine on the chairs on our little deck, but I bet there are tons of places in the San Juans with a similarly nice view that you'd call special! This was not, really.

I will say that the pool was warm, and that was enjoyable. There was a plexiglass wall that blocked the wind, but not the view. The loungers were comfortable, but if it was more crowded, there would not be enough.

I would not go back or recommend this place because although it looks and sounds like it is going to be a cool resort (we saw it in Sunset Magazine), it is just expensive and average. I do wonder what the rooms in the lodge itself would have been like... might have been worth the price for the history and if there was an interesting ambiance.

If this review was helpful, please let me know with a "click." Thanks, and happy travels!

Room Tip: Other than the location right on the water (which any number of other hotels have), there was nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent three nights in the Roundhouse Suite. Pricey, but the best room at Rosario. The lodge itself is run down though. The spa left a lot to be desired. I tried working out in the fitness room but it smelled so badly I had to leave. The restaurant wasn't impressive. But the views are awesome. We had many spiders in our room. The weekly concert/historical presentation was AWESOME. This place has so much potential. A little more maintenance and updating and it could be a five star resort.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a bit more... book the Roundhouse Suite. The room is separate from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute booking. I didn't want a B&B since I was travelling alone. Plus I like my own bathroom. I think it is overpriced for September. There are no food options other than the nearby resort, which is nice but not casual. Eastsound is 15 minutes away and obviously you don't want to drink & drive. Moran State Park is lovely but an easy drive from Eastsound. Basically the hotel is too remote and there is nothing to do unless you drive. No hiking trails, no easy biking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orcas Suites at Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcas Suites at Rosario

Address: 1600 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Also Known As:
Orcas Suites At Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Orcas Suites At Rosario Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orcas Suites at Rosario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.