We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great bathrooms!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orcas Suites at Rosario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Orcas Suites at Rosario
Save Saved
You added Orcas Suites at Rosario to your Saves list
1600 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Ranked #9 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great bathrooms!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms had a lot of space. The view was nice, but large trees blocked some the bay view. The location is about 10 minutes from the “downtown” area, which had everything you needed from an IGA and a sports store to local shops. There were quite a few restaurants and cafes. We were able to pick up salads and sandwiches at the IGA for our day trips. The ferry is super easy and free for walkers and bikers. We took it to San Juan islands (Friday Harbor) where there was a lot more action than Orcas Island. Orcas was more quiet and quaint compared to San Juan where it was more lively and energetic, so it just depends on what you are looking for. We did find a local brewery close to the airport called Island Hoppin’ Brewery. They didn’t serve food, but a great stop for some live music and a cold beer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great views, newly remodeled inside (doesn't look like it from the outside). A little spendy, but really nice. We had a king suite with two rooms (living room + bedroom) and two bathrooms, full kitchen, oven, fridge. It's ok to spend a little more on the room if you use the kitchen even a few times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent four nights in July in one of the newly renovated rooms in the part of the resort away from the lodge itself. We had a small deck that overlooked the water and with a view of the resort in the distance. We could walk to the resort to swim in the pool, eat a fancy meal in the evening, or go to the pretty small spa. One afternoon, there was a piano concert with a slide show that told the history of Rosario. That was interesting.

There were not many other guests during our visit, so it was peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed two dinners at the lodge, and it was romantic looking out at the lights and the water. The restaurant was good, but expensive.

I have to say that I think the whole place is overpriced, though.The massage at the tiny spa was average, but expensive. The room we had was brand new and nice, but not really special for the expensive price... It looked like the simplest of comfy bedding and furniture from Pottery Barn, with no color or personality. The view was nice, and we did enjoy drinking our own wine on the chairs on our little deck, but I bet there are tons of places in the San Juans with a similarly nice view that you'd call special! This was not, really.

I will say that the pool was warm, and that was enjoyable. There was a plexiglass wall that blocked the wind, but not the view. The loungers were comfortable, but if it was more crowded, there would not be enough.

I would not go back or recommend this place because although it looks and sounds like it is going to be a cool resort (we saw it in Sunset Magazine), it is just expensive and average. I do wonder what the rooms in the lodge itself would have been like... might have been worth the price for the history and if there was an interesting ambiance.

If this review was helpful, please let me know with a "click." Thanks, and happy travels!

Room Tip: Other than the location right on the water (which any number of other hotels have), there was nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent three nights in the Roundhouse Suite. Pricey, but the best room at Rosario. The lodge itself is run down though. The spa left a lot to be desired. I tried working out in the fitness room but it smelled so badly I had to leave. The restaurant wasn't impressive. But the views are awesome. We had many spiders in our room. The weekly concert/historical presentation was AWESOME. This place has so much potential. A little more maintenance and updating and it could be a five star resort.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a bit more... book the Roundhouse Suite. The room is separate from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute booking. I didn't want a B&B since I was travelling alone. Plus I like my own bathroom. I think it is overpriced for September. There are no food options other than the nearby resort, which is nice but not casual. Eastsound is 15 minutes away and obviously you don't want to drink & drive. Moran State Park is lovely but an easy drive from Eastsound. Basically the hotel is too remote and there is nothing to do unless you drive. No hiking trails, no easy biking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here two nights for Labor Day weekend. I was a little nervous based on some reviews but decided to try anyway. We loved this place. We had a king room, not a suite, and it was very roomy, clean and nice for the price we paid. Service was excellent , we asked if our room had a fridge, and they promptly delivered one. Very Nice
Our bed was wonderful with quality linens, carpet in perfect shape and bathroom was large and nice. If you are very picky, you will notice some of the tiles in the bathroom need a regrout, but nothing dirty or obvious.The best of all was the little deck with the fantastice view!
The grounds are well cared for and the whole resort area is very good. Not 5 star good, but a lovely place to be.
I can't imagine better value than this on this island. We highly recommend and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor, we did hear people walking above us. And the higher the floor the better the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice rooms with great view of Rosario and access to resort amenities. Large bathrooms that have been recently and tastefully remodeled. Walls between rooms are a little "thin" so request an end room if possible. Parking is right outside your so very convenient for families with kids or for moving lots of stuff (we had bikes with us so it was nice to bring them into the room). Nice "back trail" from units up to Cascade Lake. It's very steep though so be prepared.

Room Tip: Bldg 2000 has great views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orcas Suites at Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcas Suites at Rosario

Address: 1600 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Orcas Suites At Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Orcas Suites At Rosario Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orcas Suites at Rosario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.