We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orcas Suites at Rosario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orcas Suites at Rosario
Save Saved
You added Orcas Suites at Rosario to your Saves list
1600 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Chico
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Expensive and Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent four nights in July in one of the newly renovated rooms in the part of the resort away from the lodge itself. We had a small deck that overlooked the water and with a view of the resort in the distance. We could walk to the resort to swim in the pool, eat a fancy meal in the evening, or go to the pretty small spa. One afternoon, there was a piano concert with a slide show that told the history of Rosario. That was interesting.

There were not many other guests during our visit, so it was peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed two dinners at the lodge, and it was romantic looking out at the lights and the water. The restaurant was good, but expensive.

I have to say that I think the whole place is overpriced, though.The massage at the tiny spa was average, but expensive. The room we had was brand new and nice, but not really special for the expensive price... It looked like the simplest of comfy bedding and furniture from Pottery Barn, with no color or personality. The view was nice, and we did enjoy drinking our own wine on the chairs on our little deck, but I bet there are tons of places in the San Juans with a similarly nice view that you'd call special! This was not, really.

I will say that the pool was warm, and that was enjoyable. There was a plexiglass wall that blocked the wind, but not the view. The loungers were comfortable, but if it was more crowded, there would not be enough.

I would not go back or recommend this place because although it looks and sounds like it is going to be a cool resort (we saw it in Sunset Magazine), it is just expensive and average. I do wonder what the rooms in the lodge itself would have been like... might have been worth the price for the history and if there was an interesting ambiance.

If this review was helpful, please let me know with a "click." Thanks, and happy travels!

Room Tip: Other than the location right on the water (which any number of other hotels have), there was nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent three nights in the Roundhouse Suite. Pricey, but the best room at Rosario. The lodge itself is run down though. The spa left a lot to be desired. I tried working out in the fitness room but it smelled so badly I had to leave. The restaurant wasn't impressive. But the views are awesome. We had many spiders in our room. The weekly concert/historical presentation was AWESOME. This place has so much potential. A little more maintenance and updating and it could be a five star resort.

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a bit more... book the Roundhouse Suite. The room is separate from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute booking. I didn't want a B&B since I was travelling alone. Plus I like my own bathroom. I think it is overpriced for September. There are no food options other than the nearby resort, which is nice but not casual. Eastsound is 15 minutes away and obviously you don't want to drink & drive. Moran State Park is lovely but an easy drive from Eastsound. Basically the hotel is too remote and there is nothing to do unless you drive. No hiking trails, no easy biking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here two nights for Labor Day weekend. I was a little nervous based on some reviews but decided to try anyway. We loved this place. We had a king room, not a suite, and it was very roomy, clean and nice for the price we paid. Service was excellent , we asked if our room had a fridge, and they promptly delivered one. Very Nice
Our bed was wonderful with quality linens, carpet in perfect shape and bathroom was large and nice. If you are very picky, you will notice some of the tiles in the bathroom need a regrout, but nothing dirty or obvious.The best of all was the little deck with the fantastice view!
The grounds are well cared for and the whole resort area is very good. Not 5 star good, but a lovely place to be.
I can't imagine better value than this on this island. We highly recommend and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor, we did hear people walking above us. And the higher the floor the better the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice rooms with great view of Rosario and access to resort amenities. Large bathrooms that have been recently and tastefully remodeled. Walls between rooms are a little "thin" so request an end room if possible. Parking is right outside your so very convenient for families with kids or for moving lots of stuff (we had bikes with us so it was nice to bring them into the room). Nice "back trail" from units up to Cascade Lake. It's very steep though so be prepared.

Room Tip: Bldg 2000 has great views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were very happy at Orca suites as the location is well situated to places of interest including the marina where our Whale watching boat trip began; Moran house was nice and dinner there was excellent; room was fine, and the balcony and associated views was peaceful and nice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Citis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed 2 days on Orcas Island. Lodging is limited and books up quickly. Rosario is one of the largest on the island, only 15 minutes south of East Sound (main town). We were lucky to get 2 nights in the same room (Front Desk person went out of her way to allow us to stay in the same room. They are in the midst of upgrading the Harbor View Units they acquired several years ago. The bedding and furniture was brand new, but the rest of the unit needs to be upgraded. The history behind the Main Lodge was fascinating. We ate dinner there one night. It was just OK. The indoor swimming pool was under re-construction, but they have two other outdoor (we decided that it was too chilly). The view from the deck was absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Prices more than double on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orcas Suites at Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcas Suites at Rosario

Address: 1600 Rosario Rd, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Also Known As:
Orcas Suites At Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Orcas Suites At Rosario Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orcas Suites at Rosario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.