We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so comfortable, beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Save
You added Outlook Inn on Orcas Island to your Saves list
171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“so comfortable, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Such a lovely and quaint historic inn with a great location next to the sea and to an array of cute shops and restaurants Orcas Island has to offer. Came here with my family and have to say the room was so comfortable. The atmosphere was light and airy, very clean - felt very comfortable. You walk outside the hotel and the ocean is right there and when the tide is low you can walk across to Indian Island located just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    71
    18
    17
    7
See reviews for
62
162
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a second floor room with a nice view of the water. The room was well decorated, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located near the shops of Eastsound, with ample off-street free parking.

Our only negative comments would be some moderate noise, coming both from nearby rooms (normal coming and going, nothing out of the ordinary) and the fact that there the main road runs right in front of the hotel. There is no air conditioning (not needed), but one needs to have the windows open, and traffic noise continues to be heard well into the wee hours.

The restaurant in the hotel is also convenient and very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Outlook Inn is sort of like the Tale of Two Cities. Fortunately, we stayed in the best of rooms, and I could not have asked for much more. The hotel seems to be split into two sections- an older one with more standard rooms, including some with shared showers, and the newer one with suites that are more recently constructed. We stayed in the latter, and it made all the difference. Our unit were large and tastefully decorated, with a fridge and microwave, TV (didn't use) and small balcony overlooking a Beautiful unobstructed view of the water (we were on the second floor, and that added to the view.) There was a large bathroom with beautiful tub and a separate enhanced shower, extremely comfortable king size bed, and fold out couch in a sitting area.
The hotel is located right within walking distance of the small shops in Eastsound, which is a very quaint area. Short ride to Mt. Constitution for beautiful views at the top. The staff gets big kudos for being accommodating and flexible. There was a mix up with my reservation, and they had me down for two rooms instead of one. There's a good chance I was the one at fault, and had missed cancelling one of the days when I changed the dates of our trip. Nevertheless, they did not charge me for the additional room. I think that is a big deal, and reflects the kind of approach I would personally like to do business with again.
Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open, as I was there on a Wed. But it has a lovely view, and I understand the food is awesome. Perhaps next time.
We had our teenage daughter with us, which worked out well (she loved the tub.) But I sort of wish I was alone with my wife- a perfect romantic retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the new building, and the view from our room was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very beautiful room with outstanding views of East Sound. The King sized bed was particularly comfortable with a thick foam topper. The New Leaf Café was excellent with a great happy hour.
I highly recommend this property especially the bay view suites!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Really nice historic inn. Several sections, some like old style motel rooms, some with shared bathroom. We stayed in a luxury bay view suite. First they assigned us room 44 well NO....you could see the view if you were standing but there was a big bush/tree right in front of the sliding glass door totally blocking any view. We were moved to room 53 which was wonderful. Upon arrival they had left us a complimentary bottle of champagne since it was our anniversary, room had nice sitting area, looking out to the bay with sofa and small table, small patio with 2 chairs that looked directly to the bay. The bed has a 3" foam topper so quite soft but comfy. Nice kuerig coffee maker in room. The room was comfortable and spacious. We had dinner one night at their restaurant and it was fabulous. Great place to stay on Orcas Island

Room Tip: The bay view suites are really great. Do not get room 44
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We made a reservation for July 4th but mixed up the dates and arrived only the day after. Not only we weren't charged for the no-show, but we were upgraded to a suite for the price of the lost night. Thank you so much for a great customer service experience. The king suite was specious with breathtaking view. Beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose to host our wedding reception in the Victorian Room at the Outlook Inn. From start to finish the event staff was great to work with while planning the entire wedding from another state. The room was beautiful, the food was absolutely incredible and our guests enjoyed their weekend at the Inn. I could not have asked for a better experience and hope to spend many anniversaries to come at the Outlook Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlook Inn on Orcas Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.