We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Save Saved
You added Outlook Inn on Orcas Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Eastsound
seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night before a whale watching tour. We arrived late at night, so we couldn't see much of the island or hotel as we pulled in, but we awoke to the most glorious bay view out our windows. Our room was beautifully furnished and impeccably clean. The property itself looks like it would be fun to explore, there are little ponds and gardens....there is a gift shop and restaurant as well. We glanced at the menu which looked to be great- lots of fresh and local foods, but we decided we were more in a beer/ burger mood ;-) I would love to come back again and stay longer.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful too. I had emailed a few weeks earlier to inquire about their rates. When I actually booked it, I did so online only to realize I paid a little more. I contacted the hotel , and they actually credited me the difference! Wow, who does that? Definitely made me a happy customer! :-)

Room Tip: There is a smaller building that is more "motel ish" and has no view.....opt for the bay v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    66
    13
    16
    6
See reviews for
52
144
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This really was a wonderful choice on an island that we had never visited before.
The second week of Sept had fabulous weather for us to enjoy.
The room was magnificent. Incredible views, comfortable, friendly staff...would definitely stay again. The restaurant was also closed initially when we were there...very disappointing. We did try the next night with a reservation but the staff was not tuned into seating requests or times. Moved over to a great water view pub down the street with good food and a friendly staff (Madrona Bar & Grill). May be a better choice. Tried the New Leaf for breakfast and had a better experience. Enjoy...its an easy choice. Easy access to all of the good stuff & a great hopping off point to explore the rest of the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Recently we spent 3 days and 2 nights on Orcas Island, Washington, at the Outlook Inn.
I bought a special deal online and didn't quite know what to expect, but once we arrived
and opened the door to our lovely suite, we felt we'd hit the jackpot! Lovely decor, cozy
atmosphere (fireplace!) little kitchenette with fridge and microwave oven. Large bathroom
with jacuzzi tub and separate full shower. Patio where we could sit and watch the changing
patterns of the water and the sunsets! The staff were particularly friendly and helpful, expecially Tracy, the Concierge, who even provided a ginger beer for a touchy stomach!
The weather was warm and dry while we were there which allowed the opportunity for plenty of exploration all over the island. We also enjoyed a special dinner in the adjoining restaurant,
but missed out on breakfast as this is only offered on weekends. All in all a very special
experience.......highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the luxury suite in the newest wing which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend and I visited Orcas Island from NYC as a quiet little getaway for some r&r. It was one of the best experiences we've had in a while. Having never been to the San Juan Islands before, we did a lot of research on things to do and places to stay. We chose Orcas Island for its tranquility and serenity. While most tourists stay in Friday Harbor as it's the most populated and has the most activities, we just walked onto the ferry one morning and spent the afternoon there. And, that sufficed!

Staying at Outlook Inn was the exact r&r that we needed. We reserved the European room with the shared baths. While I was typically skeptical of this, it was such a pleasant expereince as the bathrooms were never dirty. And, there was never a wait. Our rooms were quiet and clean. What a great deal! The staff were tremendously helpful from making recommendations to serving us drinks at Happy Hour at the New Leaf Cafe! We befriended one of the staff members from the restaurant and had a lovely chat with her about growing up on the islands - such a sweet, sweet experience.

The location cannot be beat with the restaurants, cafes, bakeries, yoga studio, supermarket all within a 2 block walk. SInce it is on the main street, it is also a very convenient location to get to Mt. Constitution, Turtle Mountain, the ferry, etc. It was by far one of my best experiences.

Thank you, Outlook Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and since it was just myself and a friend, we shared a European double r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here on October 1st and 2nd. Other than a big jump to get up onto the king-sized comfortable bed, the suite was awesome, the views incredible, the fireplace delightful, and the jacuzzi tub and shower luxurious. Too bad the weather wasn't more co-operative - but a great place to be to storm watch. One caution, the Inn restaurant is sometimes closed during the off-season but there are plenty of other choices around.

Room Tip: The view suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here with a groupon and it far exceeded our expectations. Amazing view, great location. The only disappointment was that the restaurant was not open during our stay (we stayed during the week).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights and could not say enough. Great location, room was wonderful and most relaxing even the day it rained. Just so mystical overlooking the mountains and water with fireplace going. New Leaf restaurant was very good, great food and service, clean, very friendly and helpful staff. Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outlook Inn on Orcas Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Inn on Orcas Island

Address: 171 Main St, PO Box 210, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The islands oldest family run 40 room hotel in the heart of Eastsound on Orcas Island. Three distinct styles of rooms from luxury to economy, all just steps from boutiques, galleries, and the restaurants. On site restaurant the New Leaf Cafe and Lounge features seafood and incredible cocktails with a water view. Banquet facilities and off site catering to help you mark the special occasions of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Outlook Inn on Orcas Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Hotel Eastsound
Outlook Inn Orcas Island
Outlook Hotel On Orcas Island
Outlook Inn On Orcas Island Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlook Inn on Orcas Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.