We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for a unique location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
New York City
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb value for a unique location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the kind of place people don't often review so they won't have an issue booking when they want to come back. Being from NYC, we can only hope our travel plans take us back to Orcas and the Double Mountain B&B in the future. A traditional bed and breakfast, the Double Mountain is perched high above Eastsound and affords sweeping 270 degree vistas. In the morning the sun dances on the water and in the evening the lights of Vancouver only compete with the stars in the sky. The innkeeper, Gail is down-to-earth, friendly and we very much appreciated her hospitality. The rooms themselves were not fancy and not upscale, but were certainly clean and comfortable. All in all, an superb value for a unique location, stellar service, fresh baked breakfasts and a charming host.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Orcas Island, I've had the good fortune to stay at most of Trip Advisor's
top rated B & Bs on the island. This summer I spent 4 nights at Double Mountain in the 2-bedroom Eagle's View Suite. What a spectacular view of Mt. Constitution and the azure waters of Eastsound from the deck off our room-- we also saw a double rainbow, three fawns in the backyard along with small planes landing and taking off throughout the day. Gail, the innkeeper, is a gracious host and fabulous cook. She made us feel welcome in her comfortable home, cooking up delicious breakfast treats such as her Dutch Babies pancakes with homemade raspberry sauce.

Our room was gigantic, with a separate bedroom, fully stocked kitchen, and enough room to sleep an entire family. Double Mountain is now my number 1 pick for a comfortable stay, unequalled views, good value and scrumptious breakfasts on Orcas. Can't wait to book my return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Charming place with an amazing view. This is a place to come if you want to relax in a beautiful setting. Gail was accommodating, a fun people-person, and a wonderful breakfast cook. Our downstairs suite was spacious, clean, and had kitchen facilities. Wireless worked great. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had trouble finding a reasonably-priced B&B on Orcas until we came across this place. After reading all of the other glowing reviews, we would not disagree with any of them. For some reason however, it only ranks #6 of 14 on Tripadvisor's list of B&B's in Eastsound, not sure why that is. Possibly because it has fewer reviews than the other B&B's. We stayed in the lowest priced room (Serenity) and were very satisfied with it. It's good-sized, but the view is not as good as the other two rooms. It's still got a nice view though. Also, the bath is a few steps down the hallway, but it is not shared with the other rooms. We felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed with Gail a couple nights earlier this month -- not nearly long enough unfortunately. This is one of the most wonderful B&B's we have ever stayed at. I don't know where to begin, actually.

The view is simply awesome. A 180-degree sweeping view of the San Juan Islands on one side, and the East Sound of Orcas Island on the other. All from 500 feet above the terrain/water -- just incredible. We had a beautiful king room with a picture window view as well, including a full bathroom, plus another vanity/sink outside of it also.

But beyond all of that is Gail, a very special person. After just two days, my wife felt connected to her just as she did to her own mother. Just a wonderful person, and a great cook too. Breakfast is not to be missed. Take a ferry at noon or later -- don't leave early! We had a southwest quiche, and a broiled-eggs-on-toast dish. And the pumpkin bread -- oh my! Yum-yum, good!

I just wish we didn't live so far away in St. Louis. I'm jealous of all you northwest residents. We'd go back in a heartbeat -- and hopefully will again.

Thanks for the outstanding hospitality, Gail!

You can stop researching where to stay on Orcas Island, folks. You just found it -- this is the place! (and don't worry about the steep gravel road up to it -- it's short and not a problem)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We found the Double Mountain B&B on Orcas island, WA through the Chamber of Commerce for the San Juan Islands. It is situated up a rather rough road just outside of Eastsound. The house/home overlooks the entire sound and the tiny airport where little planes only fly out of. They are fun to watch especially since you really never hear them because they are below you. The bedrooms were very comfortable and very clean.The breakfast Gail prepares is to die for! The 'Dutch Babies' baked pancakes with homemade berry preserves, homemade applesauce, sausages and fruit were indescribably delicious! Oatmeal pancakes and a Mexican baked omelet graced the table over our next few days. We geared our last morning all around not missing breakfast before we had to leave. Sharing tables with the other guests was a great way to meet new friends and share their travel experiences. Gail also gave wonderful suggestions for places to see and things to do.

Room Tip: A great value so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

As all the people have said, this Inn has gorgeous 180-degree views, and you can see expansive views of the salt water surrounding Orcas Island. And...you are actually ABOVE the airport landing pattern so it is an additional treat to be able to see planes landing and taking off (Don't worry, it is far away you do NOT hear them!).

Gail is also a SUPERB cook, and everything she made for us was wonderful!!! We stayed in a room with a king bed and the room also had an amazing view of the local hills and salt water.

The road to the location is a little steep but smooth gravel. Just take your time and you will be fine. We highly recommend this wonderful inn!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

Address: PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Double Mountain Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.