We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible View, and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastsound
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Eastsound B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Incredible View, and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had trouble finding a reasonably-priced B&B on Orcas until we came across this place. After reading all of the other glowing reviews, we would not disagree with any of them. For some reason however, it only ranks #6 of 14 on Tripadvisor's list of B&B's in Eastsound, not sure why that is. Possibly because it has fewer reviews than the other B&B's. We stayed in the lowest priced room (Serenity) and were very satisfied with it. It's good-sized, but the view is not as good as the other two rooms. It's still got a nice view though. Also, the bath is a few steps down the hallway, but it is not shared with the other rooms. We felt lucky to have found this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed with Gail a couple nights earlier this month -- not nearly long enough unfortunately. This is one of the most wonderful B&B's we have ever stayed at. I don't know where to begin, actually.

The view is simply awesome. A 180-degree sweeping view of the San Juan Islands on one side, and the East Sound of Orcas Island on the other. All from 500 feet above the terrain/water -- just incredible. We had a beautiful king room with a picture window view as well, including a full bathroom, plus another vanity/sink outside of it also.

But beyond all of that is Gail, a very special person. After just two days, my wife felt connected to her just as she did to her own mother. Just a wonderful person, and a great cook too. Breakfast is not to be missed. Take a ferry at noon or later -- don't leave early! We had a southwest quiche, and a broiled-eggs-on-toast dish. And the pumpkin bread -- oh my! Yum-yum, good!

I just wish we didn't live so far away in St. Louis. I'm jealous of all you northwest residents. We'd go back in a heartbeat -- and hopefully will again.

Thanks for the outstanding hospitality, Gail!

You can stop researching where to stay on Orcas Island, folks. You just found it -- this is the place! (and don't worry about the steep gravel road up to it -- it's short and not a problem)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We found the Double Mountain B&B on Orcas island, WA through the Chamber of Commerce for the San Juan Islands. It is situated up a rather rough road just outside of Eastsound. The house/home overlooks the entire sound and the tiny airport where little planes only fly out of. They are fun to watch especially since you really never hear them because they are below you. The bedrooms were very comfortable and very clean.The breakfast Gail prepares is to die for! The 'Dutch Babies' baked pancakes with homemade berry preserves, homemade applesauce, sausages and fruit were indescribably delicious! Oatmeal pancakes and a Mexican baked omelet graced the table over our next few days. We geared our last morning all around not missing breakfast before we had to leave. Sharing tables with the other guests was a great way to meet new friends and share their travel experiences. Gail also gave wonderful suggestions for places to see and things to do.

Room Tip: A great value so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

As all the people have said, this Inn has gorgeous 180-degree views, and you can see expansive views of the salt water surrounding Orcas Island. And...you are actually ABOVE the airport landing pattern so it is an additional treat to be able to see planes landing and taking off (Don't worry, it is far away you do NOT hear them!).

Gail is also a SUPERB cook, and everything she made for us was wonderful!!! We stayed in a room with a king bed and the room also had an amazing view of the local hills and salt water.

The road to the location is a little steep but smooth gravel. Just take your time and you will be fine. We highly recommend this wonderful inn!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We enjoyed everything about Double Mountain! The 1st thing you notice is the how warm & friendly the owner is and the incredible views from the top of the hill! The breakfast are hearty and delicious! Orcas Island is a beautiful place with plenty of good food, water sports & handmade pottery.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My wife and I just love it here. We are from Kirkland, Washington and when we need to get away, we just love to come here. It's quite, and quaint, and very clean and the food is to die for!!!!!

I am not kidding when I say that its the best breakfast I have ever had in my life, please don't tell my mother that!!!!! She serves it hot from the stove, and its awesome.

We stay here allot but now we will try to come once every three months or so!!!!!

Great B & B! No, its not fancy, but it has a good "grandma's house" kind of feel. The owner makes you feel warm inside and she could cheer up anyone!!!!!

Also the view is the BEST VIEW on Orcas......

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

We stayed at the Double Mountain Bed & Breakfast August 10th and 11th, 2006... it was a wonderful stay!

It is no easy feat getting to Orcas Island! There is a ferry that you take over there... and you need to be at the ferry dock an hour and a half before the ferry leaves. THEN it's another hour ride on the boat to the island. Make sure you give yourself plenty of time!

Once on Orcas, everything is very easy-going! We arrived at DM at 10pm (because we didn't respect that ferry schedule... it is really not to be messed with!), and Gail was up and waiting for us. She showed us to our room... we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the Eagle's View room. In the main area of the room, there is a double bed, and a daybed. There is a kitchenette, as well... and a big bathroom with a standing shower. The main room has a door to an enclosed patio with a very BIG jacuzzi! The patio also leads out to the balcony... and the views are amazing! PLUS there is a private bedroom off the main room, with a double bed... and access to the balcony. This room could sleep 5 people, although the website says only 4.

In the morning, we truly got to experience the B&B. We felt right at home here... and we chatted with Gail as she made a delicious breakfast-- quiche with english muffins, fruit, coffee and juice. She told us some island history and fun facts... and directed us to some good hiking spots for the day. We came and went as we pleased; Gail was very accommodating!

We would definitely stay here again, if we ever return to Orcas Island!!

  • Liked — It felt like home!
  • Disliked — ??
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast

Address: PO Box 614, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Eastsound
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Double Mountain Bed And Breakfast Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Mountain Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.