We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosario Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosario Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Rosario Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was our second stay at Rosario. As many have noted, the rooms in the Bayside/Skagit building are showing their age, but they're very well maintained. The bed is comfortable and the location is quiet. I still think it's a great value for the cost. The grounds are lovely, the new work-out room is nice as well. The food at the Cascade Grill has improved over last year.

The furniture arrangement in our room could have been better with a good sitting chair near the window where a view can be seen. The comfy chair was stuck in a dark corner while the bed was next to the window. It would have been preferable to put the bed deeper in the room and the sitting area close to the window.

Phone reception is almost non-existent at the site. They should warn travelers.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    97
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
63
144
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We wanted to explore the island and spent two nights at the resort. The mansion was fun to tour and you really should spend some time at the museum. Room was clean, small coffee maker, real wine glasses provided which we thought was a nice touch. The room also had a small balcony overlooking the water. We had breakfast at the resort and the food and service were excellent. I am not sure kids (especially teens) would have enough to do on the island or at the resort, although it appeared you could rent scooters and kayaks nearby. Overall a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views and are likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
�N�^^��
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The place is lovely. The landscaping is gorgeous, as are the views from just about anywhere on the property. We loved having an adults only pool, until shift change when all the 20 somethings that work there get off and come relax with some cannon balling into the pool and yelling at each other about Taylor only being 17! The inside pool was big, and again, great views-nice sauna and steam room. A really great aternoon by the pool, nice salads and drinks poolside. As we came through the spa gift shop, I stopped to try one of the samples that were open on the shelves. I used the little plastic spoon to get out a tiny bit, when this woman, who had previously been chatting with some man by the register, came flying over and informed that I should NOT use the testers by myself, that I had used WAY too much, and it was VERY expensive. It wasn't and I was shocked, turns out she's the General Manager's wife!! He plays a 1900 Steinway most afternoons in the Mansion and there's a great veranda around the bar that is the dining area, every table has an ocean view! We flew in, and if we do it again, we'll get a car. There's one 'cab' in town, and there was dog hair all over the floor and seats. He charged us $25 for the ten minute (if that) drive to the resort. The rooms are average, but again, the view-but since we didn't have a car, we hoofed it to dinner, which was fine, but a hassle checking in with luggage. They need a shuttle! Food was great, and Nadine at the front desk was awesome-we arrived early and our room was later than 4pm, so she comped us two drink and an appetizer. Great experience except the snotty spa sales person!

Room Tip: We were in a Harbor View room and it was great. Nice balcony, room average, but fridge, safe, and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I have apologized directly to this guest for her experience in our spa. Apologizing is about making sure these issues do not arise again, so we have changed our procedure regarding samples of our Eminence Skin Care products, which were in place for use by our estheticians to help their clients select product. We have also changed our policy regarding employee use of the facilities. Being an isolated resort, we have allowed employees use of our facilities on a discreet basis, but obviously they were anything but discreet during this guest’s visit. Our bathroom amenities are supplied by Gilchrist and Soames, one of the most highly regarded soaps, shampoos and lotions in the hospitality industry. I am happy they enjoyed the rest of their stay at Rosario.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had dinner with a lovely view. Worth going for that. Two of us had fish and chips. No cole slaw which was crummy. They used halibut but it was pretty fatty. Way too many french fries. Service excellent and the wine was good. My daughter had mussels. They smelled delicious. A lot of them.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in 2350 Hearthside suite for 5 nights in July. The top room floors are the best; two balconies that are nestled in the pine tree canopy overlooking the small marina and grounds of the resort. The mansion is spectacular to view from across the bay during daytime and lit up beautifully at night. Our room had floor to ceiling windows with gorgeous views of Cascade bay and the yachts moored there. I tried only 1 of 3 pools; family pool was great for kids. Outdoor firepit alongside the marina and a great little market and Beach Grill with good food. We also ate at the more high end restaurant, at the Mansion, and the food was excellent. Service was great everywhere; especially housekeeping. I have stayed in many high end resorts and although this is not a five star resort, it is certainly and wonderful, very comfortable, peaceful place to spend a vacation. The island had a lot to offer in terms of sightseeing (don't miss Orcas Pottery). I wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Pick a top level floor. Hearthside suites are two rooms (King + murphy bed) + full size kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I obviously did not see the same side of this place that other reviewers did. "Hillside #2000 Rooms" are disgusting and run down. I thought it was a prank. When I went back to the front desk the gal said, "ya, we acquired them earlier this year." Then offered to refund all of my $ and find me another hotel in the area.
Here's the description of the room I was assigned: the building from the outside has overgrown landscaping, and chipping paint, it's set up like an old apartment building with units on the ground floor and an outside corridor above for the 2nd floor units. Once inside, you smell the old musty building and see more chipping pain. The cheap motel 6 furniture is the best attribute to the room (I didn't check but I'm sure the night stand had a bible). Above the bed -this is the best part- is SOUND DEADENING FOAM! That's even low for motel 6. Now looking out the window, once you peek through the over grown grass and shrubs, is an old decrepit shed that is ready to fall down, the backs of other apartment buildings, and some views of the water. I'm not sure why they're using this building when it's obviously not ready for guests. I would not recommend this place. I'm still upset I wasted an entire day and $50 to take the ferry over.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I am sorry to hear that Rosario did not meet this guest’s expectations. Not stated in this review was the fact that we first offered to upgrade her to a different room, but when that was refused, we did offer to find a different hotel, which was also refused. We recently re-acquired these rooms, and though not newly remodeled, they are very clean with furniture purchased when RockResorts owned the property. I do understand some do not favor the “distressed” look in furniture. The panel above the bed is not sound deadening foam, but a heating panel. When on the balcony looking out towards the water, there is a partial view of our laundry facility, but it is not an “old decrepit shed that is ready to fall down.“ All that aside, I am disappointed this guest had this experience at Rosario and wish she would have allowed us to find her more suitable accommodations, either with us or with someone else, so she could have enjoyed a beautiful weekend on Orcas Island.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We did not stay at the resort, but went for the 4:00 music concert (daily except Sunday) and history presentation. This is free to anyone, not just guests. The building is very interesting and has a two-floor "museum" (rather generously named). However, each day in the music room there is a brief music recital (on an original Steinway and huge organ). There is also a very interesting slide show of the original owner's early twentieth century photos. It makes for a very pleasant hour at the end of a day of hiking.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely property located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosario Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.