We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, older property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosario Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rosario Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Rosario Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$119 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Great views, older property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I'd expected an opulent resort, and the main building (no guest rooms) was beautiful, but from outside the guest room buildings look like mini motels. The bedrooms were smallish, but the linens were nice, the view was beautiful and everything was clean. We made the great decision to reserve the king with the attached living room and kitchen. That additional space afforded a much larger view of the water. We were in the 2400 building. We were there early May before the season started, so it was quiet and relaxing, but the outdoor pool wasn't open yet. We had very nice dinners and breakfasts in the dining room. The menu mentions maple syrup, but it's breakfast syrup, not 100% maple syrup; even the server sounded disappointed by that. There's a museum about the founder upstairs and piano/organ concerts in season, but there is no elevator at all, so the mobility impaired can't get to the museum nor the spa or indoor pool in the basement.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    103
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
65
153
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This resort is nice but, desperately needs a remodel all around! The location is fabulous and it is worth staying here but, don't expect it to be up to date, just take it as it is and enjoy what is. The local hiking, kayaking, and nearby Moran state Park make this a wonderful location. Flying into the harbor on Kenmore air can also be a very memorable experience.

Room Tip: I prefer peace and quiet so, I prefer rooms as far form the mansion as possible, on the opposite sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We came to Orcas island for an overnight stay and did some research ahead of time. We looked for a hotel that was pet friendly and found this place. We stayed in the hillside area but the view was amazing! Overlooking the bay and some of the islands it was priceless. There is no cell service there however there is free wifi that works great. The mansion is beautiful and a drink in the lounge is a must. The room was really nice and the bathroom is large. However, the bathroom does not fit the decor of the room it was a little of a surprise since the room was updated. The balcony was nice and it was nice to have a microwave and fridge as well. I would recommend this place to anyone as you can't beat the views!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The staff was very nice and accommodating. Wonderful views and a great time. Things I think they could do better would be to pick up their guests at the dock when flown in by float plane, which is what we did. We had to walk up to the mansion. If you do fly in we recommend renting a car if you end up in the harbor side suites. Quite a ways from the mansion where the restaurant is. nothing is close by. Town is about 6 miles and so are the other sites. The staff shuttled us a few times which was nice. We recommend the brownie souflee. Patricia and bobby were great. Patricia is the housekeeping supervisor who got our rooms ready and was very willing to make our stay the best it could be. Bobby gave us a tour of the mansion the first night and showed us areas which were locked and closed. Bob in the restaurant was very friendly and made us smile and laugh. Elaine at the front desk was very sweet and kind. The last night my wife and I went to the lounge for desert and drinks. We played games and had a great time. Elaine left her post to go find a deck of cards for us since there were none with the games. She succeeded in finding a brand new deck for us. Thanks Elaine, Bob, Bobby and Patricia. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Once again we returned to this FAB resort - and stayed in a Bayside room.

We were - again - treated with professionalism & warmth by the staff ... from the front desk ( Rhonda & Elaine) to the restaurant.

We ended up extending our stay for 2 additional days because we enjoyed ourselves so much !

I am sure we shall return !

Room Tip: All of the Bayside rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Cliffhouse Suite for our anniversary for two nights.

The Cliffhouse was BEAUTIFUL. It was right next to the Mansion. The room was beautifully appointed. It has a huge jacuzzi tub, separate shower, King bed, two sliding glass doors, a fireplace, two televisions, and a fold out couch. The bed was very comfortable and the view was amazing.

The grounds are beautiful. The mansion has been restored beautifully, and we enjoyed wandering around and looking through the free museum upstairs. They are still working to restore the grounds, unfortunately it looks like a lot of the grounds and outside buildings have been neglected and have fallen into disrepair, which was disappointing because the mansion and grounds have the potential to be gorgeous.

Regardless, there are several buildings on the property that appear to be brand new, but are farther up the hill away from the mansion. You'd probably have to drive to get down to the mansion, or face walking up steep hills in the dark.

They are working on the rooms closer to the mansion, and if I had my choice I would stay in one of those or in the Cliffhouse again to be closer to the mansion. We ate at the mansion as well, but I will write about that in a separate review.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I wish I could give this a rating of 3.5. It was above average, but not quite very good either. The property of Rosario Resort is beautiful. It's a treat to stay at the hotel just to enjoy the area and history. We stayed in a Harborside Double Queen room, and the view was spectacular. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. However, the walls of this buildling are paperthin. We could hear the conversations taking place in the room next to us. If you are a light sleeper, you may not want to stay in the Harborside building. I would also advise Rosario Resort to not book rooms right next to each other if possible (there were only two rooms booked in the Harborside building that night, and the occupied rooms were right next to each other). Overall, I would try staying at this hotel again, but I would choose a different building.

Room Tip: The Harborside building has paperthin walls. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to sleep in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely property located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosario Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.