We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Quiet & Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosario Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosario Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Rosario Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Quiet & Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Rosario in late October and it was our good fortune to have perfect late fall weather. This is a unique property spread over a large, very hilly area. Our room was located in the Hillside unit and our room had a territorial view of the entire harbor and resort site. Coupled with the late fall colors the view was spectacular. As noted in other reviews it is a great advantage to have car when visiting Rosario. If you are in the minority of guests who arrive by boat then walking from the marina to the main building is not difficult or unreasonable. But if your room is located on the hillside, or even in the harbor side area, you will find walking to and from the main building very strenuous.

Our room was very nicely appointed and recently renovated with a very comfortable, king size bed, a 32" flat scene television, a small refrigerator and a small microwave. The generous bathroom included two sinks. The only distraction in our room was that the bath tub tile needed a good treatment of mold spray! This is the moldy northwest and this type of cleaning issue should be addressed regularly by housekeeping but somehow has not been in this Hillside room. This lack of detail is why this resort is a four star instead of a five star resort.

On the positive side at Rosario Resort on a clear night, from your room deck, you can see all the stars - there is very little light pollution at night at this resort. During the day you are just minutes away from hiking or biking through Moran State Park. The property is nicely landscaped and the main building houses a museum focused on the life of the original owner. Due to the time of year we did not use the pools but we did use the fitness room which we found adequate.

We had one meal in the bar lounge the first evening of our arrival - unfortunately the service was extremely slow. From the chatter we overhead at the bar the kitchen was training a new hire - thus the 40 minute wait for two bar appetizers and a salad wedge! Oh well, sometimes that is the price you pay when you travel in the off season. Once the food arrived it was very tasty but we did not return for another meal because of this "first impression" meal. If you are traveling during the high season, I.e. the summer months, we are sure the meal and bar service will be fine simply due to the fact more employees will be on site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    128
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
86
189
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights midweek at Rosario Resort and Spa and found it generally good. We got off to a bad start when we arrived and were greeted at the front desk in a very perfunctory way--no smile, no hello, no welcome, just a brusque inquiry for our name and credit card. However, that was our only bad experience with staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable enough but the bathroom needed minor repairs. It worked perfectly well but it detracts from the experience when you find peeling paint and dings in the cabinet doors. The room decor was similar to that of a business hotel--comfortable and attractive but without much personality. At night the only sound we heard was the lapping of the waves and our own contented breathing. The grounds are lovely and the main building is quite nice. Restaurant service was friendly and attentive. Breakfast was quite good, dinner less so--we'd recommend that you eat elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Bayside Guest Rooms have a beautiful view and are very, very quiet. They're about a 5 minute wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Consider Rosario a really comfortable upscale B&B. Since the main building was built in the 1900 do not expect the Ritz, but if you appreciate master craftsmanship and architecture this is your place. The history of this resort is amazing, they resort even has a museum w/ the original steinway piano and pipe organ that still works. The resort is clean and the view is unbelievable and the food is GREAT, especially breakfast. The main Bar is warm and inviting, the staff is very friendly. We had a Bayside King Room which was clean and ample space, room included a fridge. Internet and Cell Phone access was inconsistent in our room but in the main building signals were strong.

If you like to hike the resort is close to the entrance of Moran State Park. Overall this place is very special hard to explain in words but if you like a great getaway this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Rosario in October 2013 and had a wonderful experience that could have been spectacular if only some details were addressed. The historic mansion is lovely and a great setting for drinks and dinners. Our food service was extremely prompt and proficient. The wait staff was very accommodating and pleasant in all of our interactions with them. The quality of food was very good yet again would have been excellent save for the lack of attention to little details that take an experience from really good to GREAT. Our room in the Harborside building was spacious, clean and bright. The view from the deck was spectacular however the patio furniture was faded plastic lawn chairs and the bathroom was dated and lacked a lot of the modern amenities you would expect in a resort destination. The walk to and from the main buildings was a bit of a hike. Luckily we did not have rain while we were visiting which was good as there are no umbrellas in the rooms. Odd for a Pacific Northwest location.
We did ask the desk for a ride twice and they were very accommodating. It would be great if there was a regular shuttle service available to and from the various buildings as the lodging is spread very far apart from the resort common areas.
Overall, the resort under the new ownership is working steadily to improve on the property and upgrade the rooms and common areas. The food and beverage service is good, yet with attention to some minor details and adding just a few additional touches could be first class. We thoroughly enjoyed our retreat weekend and would recommend Rosario to groups looking for a unique destination for business retreats, weddings and other types of groups.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our group had a outstanding time at the resort, nice people, great food, great bar room, rooms were very nice with oustading views of the ocean and forest. I have been there years ago for lunch, great place to relax. Everything you need is right there. We had very very nice weather. Highly recommend this resort. We did not use room service or the spa, do time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just completed an incredible weekend at Rosario Resort and Spa. I organized a group of business executives and their significant others, so the pressure was on me and Rosario Resort. The visit was SPECTACULAR!! Every meal we ate was wonderful and consistently good breakfast, lunch and dinner. One night we ate off the menu and it was outstanding. The next night we had a Chef's dinner and it was even more incredible. Chef Dan and Reagan did an outstanding job and paired wonderful wines with our selection. The second night in the bar, Molly remembered all our names and drink orders from the night before. When does that happen in a chain hotel? I often describe Rosario Resort as an Elegant B&B, in that the staff is extraordinarily attentive and the physical sense of place at the Moran Mansion is like no where else in the entire world. Thumbs up...just go and experience historic elegance!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Bayside Building have wonderful view of the Moran Mansion and you can enjoy the short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonet Point, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

June, 2012 (I am writing this a little late, so sorry for the mix up in travel time I posted - it wouldn't let me go back any further than Nov, 2012 with my review post), my fiancé and I traveled to Orcas Island for a destination wedding for just the two of us and picked the Rosario. It was perfect! We spent a total of 3 nights; 2 nights in one of the Bayside King rooms and the final night in the Roundhouse Suite. The Bayside King room was enchanting with a balcony overlooking the bay water in which we could see dozens of orange starfish in the rocks below every night and watch the sail boats and sea planes come in to the bay every day. The third day we checked into the Roundhouse Suite and had our ceremony on the cliff ledge just outside the Roundhouse overlooking the Bay. It was so beautiful and so much more special that I could have ever dreamed! The staff, accomodations and food were the best the whole time we were there! And there is so much to see on Orcas Island! The entrance to Moran State Park with Mount Constitution is just outside the entrance to the Rosario. We will be going back for future anniversaries and would recommend the Rosario for any couples looking for that special place for a wedding, honeymoon or anniversary.

Sandy Playa officiated our ceremony and, for a very economical fee, supplied the witnesses, our flowers, the guitar accompaniment and all the required paperwork. I would also recommend her to anyone needing wedding services. The resort has her contact information.

Room Tip: Budget wise we picked the Bayside King Room for two nights and then the expense for the Roundhouse S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastsound
10.4 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
6.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
4.6 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
10.0 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#6 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely property located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosario Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.