We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Weekend Retreat for 20 People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosario Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosario Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Rosario Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Weekend Retreat for 20 People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just completed an incredible weekend at Rosario Resort and Spa. I organized a group of business executives and their significant others, so the pressure was on me and Rosario Resort. The visit was SPECTACULAR!! Every meal we ate was wonderful and consistently good breakfast, lunch and dinner. One night we ate off the menu and it was outstanding. The next night we had a Chef's dinner and it was even more incredible. Chef Dan and Reagan did an outstanding job and paired wonderful wines with our selection. The second night in the bar, Molly remembered all our names and drink orders from the night before. When does that happen in a chain hotel? I often describe Rosario Resort as an Elegant B&B, in that the staff is extraordinarily attentive and the physical sense of place at the Moran Mansion is like no where else in the entire world. Thumbs up...just go and experience historic elegance!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Bayside Building have wonderful view of the Moran Mansion and you can enjoy the short w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    95
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
63
142
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayonet Point, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

June, 2012 (I am writing this a little late, so sorry for the mix up in travel time I posted - it wouldn't let me go back any further than Nov, 2012 with my review post), my fiancé and I traveled to Orcas Island for a destination wedding for just the two of us and picked the Rosario. It was perfect! We spent a total of 3 nights; 2 nights in one of the Bayside King rooms and the final night in the Roundhouse Suite. The Bayside King room was enchanting with a balcony overlooking the bay water in which we could see dozens of orange starfish in the rocks below every night and watch the sail boats and sea planes come in to the bay every day. The third day we checked into the Roundhouse Suite and had our ceremony on the cliff ledge just outside the Roundhouse overlooking the Bay. It was so beautiful and so much more special that I could have ever dreamed! The staff, accomodations and food were the best the whole time we were there! And there is so much to see on Orcas Island! The entrance to Moran State Park with Mount Constitution is just outside the entrance to the Rosario. We will be going back for future anniversaries and would recommend the Rosario for any couples looking for that special place for a wedding, honeymoon or anniversary.

Sandy Playa officiated our ceremony and, for a very economical fee, supplied the witnesses, our flowers, the guitar accompaniment and all the required paperwork. I would also recommend her to anyone needing wedding services. The resort has her contact information.

Room Tip: Budget wise we picked the Bayside King Room for two nights and then the expense for the Roundhouse S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Coming back here after an absence of 18 years (I first visited as a teenager in 1975), I was expecting the same excellent dining experiences as in the past. Sadly, the restaurant has plummeted to a poor food standard. The lovely dining room overlooking the water is no longer used - instead you are seated in a corridor with a view of the kitchen. The food standard is very poor, a lot of processed ingredients used (dried processed Parmesan cheese on the salad for example) and also lacking in taste and care in presentation. On the upside, the bar and lounge has been renovated and the drinks were excellent. The swimming pools have been redone and are perfectly heated and lovely as was the hot tub. The spa area was also redone and very nicely decorated. The grounds are as charming as ever with the tame and friendly deer roaming at will. We always arrive by sailboat and the marina gets five stars for excellence. Someone was there to meet us, help us tie up and inform us about everything going on at the resort. In the morning when it was very foggy, we were allowed a late check out and everyone was extremely pleasant. It is such a beautiful place, the grounds, historic mansion, marina and swimming pools that I will keep on coming here and hopefully one day the old dining room will reopen and the food will improve.

Room Tip: Not applicable as we stayed on our boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear this guest had an unsatisfactory dining experience. Our products are fresh and sourced locally when possible. Our Parmesan cheese is grated fresh. Many of the seats in our restaurant do offer a view of our new gallery kitchen in one direction, but all are located along large picture windows with spectacular water views in the other direction. We are constantly striving to improve our products based our guest comments and I hope this guest has a better culinary experience on their next visit.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We came to Rosario for a wedding. The weather did not help at all, and had it not rained for the 48 hours we were on Orcas, our overall experience might have been very different. Unfortunately it did rain constantly, blowing a cold wind that made everything difficult, to begin with our seaplane service to the island being cancelled. Our room was harbour-side. A fine, clean and spacious room with a good view to the bay, but lacking any 'extra' you would expect paying 164$ a night. Empty room fridge, no tea bags (only coffee) in the room and mainly, no umbrella! Which means that we were stuck in the room, not having an umbrella or a car ourselves, other than when the wedding was on when housekeeping picked us up. The walk to the main building is significant when it's pouring down and at night it's pitch black, no lights on the path. The torch provided helps nothing. We did not even bother calling to see if they could pick us up as the food at the restaurant had not proved very good in the morning. The gardens are well kept and it was nice to see deers one morning. The common areas are nice but everywhere there is an air of old and run down, for example the breakfast area with a great view is quite dull,and the laundry room where we took refuge from the rain, (as there is no covered area while waiting for seaplanes back to the city) was one of the worst smelling rooms I have ever entered. While the food and the service at the wedding event were very good, the food and the service at breakfast the next day were slow, confused and the food was not good for the price, it all felt very 1970s. The hotel doesn't provide any extra service such as a shuttle: a taxi into town and back is $50; they did not offer baggage pick up, ok for us, but for elderly people it's not good. The reception staff were polite but maybe were way too busy with the amount of guests at the same time to really cope with each of us, who knows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosarioResort, General Manager at Rosario Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
There is no doubt that this guest experienced the most rainfall in a short amount of time that I have seen in the over 30 years that I have lived on Orcas Island. Record setting amounts for the Pacific Northwest (what does that tell you)! The Laundromat that this guest refers to had flooded a few days earlier when over 2” of rain fell in one hour. It never really had a chance to dry out, thus the unfortunate smell.

The majority of the wedding guests made the most of the bad weather (see the two previous reviews) and seemed very happy sharing the weekend with the bride and groom, even with all the rain. We have umbrellas available at the front desk, but ran out quickly due to the constant rain and did provide transportation around the grounds. It is unfortunate that this guest had a disappointing stay, and for that I sincerely apologize.

Christopher Peacock
General Manager
Rosario Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife (50) and I (57) stayed at the Rosario in late March 2011, (this was our second trip) and my trip report is long overdue. This was the most relaxing vacation I've ever taken and very affordable. Having traveling through 42 counties and all of the United States, I have to say that I am hard to impress, but, this was the best money I've ever spent on total relaxation. I was in vacation mode within 12 hours, forgot about the rest of the world and all buisness issues within 24 hours. Imagine an island with no red lights, no fast food and only one grocery store. The staff was friendly and helpful in making this an all around great experience for the two of us........

Room Tip: It's all good, but ask for an upgrade if you travel off season. Overlooking the sound on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Rosario in a room with great view over the little harbor. The room was modern (renovated not long ago) and very clean. Unlike other reviewers we did not experience any noise from other rooms. Good value for money in September (don't know the prices during high season).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I went to a destination here and stayed at the Rosario Resort and Spa. It was incredible scenery, outstanding service (even took us to/from our room which was a 10-15 minute walk away, in a van when we called the front desk), and fabulous food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely property located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosario Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.