We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New ownership, new attitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosario Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Rosario Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Eastsound
seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New ownership, new attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you had told us 10 years ago that we would have come back to the Rosario resort we would have said no way in h...! The place was then a complete disaster. I'll spare you the details..


We were on our annual sailing trip and strictly out of convenience decided to chance it and overnight at the marina. After being professionally welcomed by Terry the harbormaster and his able crew who actually knew what they were doing with boaters, we decided to chance it again and grab a bite at the bar of the hotel. We were amazed at the difference from what we had previously experienced. They were very busy that day, the restaurant was full in fact but the young lady, Molly, who was filling in for the bartender made sure we were well taken care of. Her service was impeccable.
We ended up chatting with her and she told us that the resort is now owned by a local family who view themselves more as caretakers than owners on account of the rich history of the property and their desire to preserve and protect it.
She also told us how much she enjoys working for her new bosses and it showed
When we complimented our dinners she casually mentioned that her husband was the chef!

In the end, we ended up extending our stay by 2 days and received the same quality of service by all the staff who reinforced the positives Molly and Terry had expressed.
Yep the place needs some updates, yep the reputation has been very damaged by past ownerships but they seem to be focusing on the right things to turn this ship around
Oh! and btw, the scenery is still stunningly beautiful, the 85 degree pools do not hurt either, and don't miss the museum and the organ recital

We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    83
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
129
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went to Orcas Island for the first time with my wife and loved the island. The hotel experience was a mixed bag. The location right on the water is beautiful. There was a huge balcony/deck off our room overlooking the bay and sailboats. So far so good. The rooms are dated but clean. Very very thin walls, you can hear every footstep above you and most definitely the crying baby next door. Overall I think the room is worth the money you are paying for it. The restaurant is a different story. Our waitress didn't acknowledge us for 10 minutes, then we got water but no bread. Bread came an hour later half way through our main course. My beer never made it to the table but made it onto my check. The food was ok. Overall, would come back to the hotel but rather eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: I would always opt for the highest floor possible so you don't have to listen to every step the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The resort has an amazing history. Our room has a view but smelled of wet swimsuits or something. The kids pool was nice expect for the strange some cover on the bottom. Food was good but took some time as they were so busy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great room overlooking water with deck. Nice amenities, including fridge and microwave. Restaurant service was slow. Steaks not cooked as requested and not the best cut of meat. Staff seemed unorganized.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first visit to Rosario was for our anniversary and it was our first visit to Orcas Island. The rooms we stayed in were clean, the beds comfy, fridge, Directv, quiet, a little dated.

There was WiFi but a little weak, there was no A/C. Normally this is not a problem, but it was a warm couple of nights. We just opened the glass doors and set the box fan (included in the closet of the room) in front of the doors. Ahhh... all better.

Nice place to stay, not too expensive, nice water views. I'd come here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed two nights in a Harborside Hearth Suite, it's a 1BR/2BA/2 decks unit for four people. The rate was ~$300 per night incl tax with a minimum two nights stay.

Lodging

Pros:
- The setting in Rosario Bay is stunning, the views from the deck were amazing.
- It's calm, serene and beautiful.
- Everything in the room was functional.

Cons:
- The room is at least 10 years overdue for a renovation. While the rooms had new furniture, the carpets, kitchen and bathrooms looked like they were 20-30 years old.
- Both patios had not been cleaned in weeks, lots of leaves.
- The patios did not have tables or outdoor lights, only four plastic chairs with a plastic ottoman between both patios. The chairs had not been cleaned in weeks either.
- We burned a log in the fireplace in the first night (they provide a log for guests) but room service did not clean out the ashes the next day.

Other:
The whole resort simply looks like it needs to be renovated. This includes the rooms, the common areas of the lodging building (looked more like a motel than a fancy resort) and the common areas of the resort (such as pathways etc). A big exception were the outdoor pools: Both in great condition and clean. The indoor hot tub was nice, too.


Dining - Mansion Restaurant:
We had dinner reservations for four for 7:30pm on a Sunday in the Mansion Restaurant. We were promptly seated and had a gorgeous view of the bay from our table. 30 minutes after our orders were taken, we were told that the Filet Mignon was out. Since they were also out of the tuna, this meant that two of their 8 entrees were not available. The waitress stated it's a small island. While that is true and while planning errors happen, it is not ok to take 30min after taking orders to discover that something is unavailable.

My cabernet came out at room temperature, my mom's pinot came at cellar temp. The appetizers showed up 45 min after we ordered them; the waitress did not acknowledge the long delay nor provide an apology. She did not check in with us during this long wait either. After another 30min of wait (i.e. a total of 75 minutes wait time), our entrees were brought out. Again, without acknowledging how long it had taken. The salmon was missing on my mom's dish at which point we asked for this to be fixed quickly as it's already been 75 minutes. She said she would comp the meal and promptly brought out the salmon which we appreciated. Our dishes were:
- Pesto pasta with chicken ($21): was yummy but there was no pesto.
- The hamburger ($16) was ok.
- The couscous with salmon ($22) was great.
- The pork chop with gnocchi ($29) was not good, meat was pink inside and the gnocchi were stale & dry.
Our waitress came back simply to ask "does it taste good?" Again, she did not acknowledge that the food was late and their miss with the salmon. She did not offer me nor my mom another glass of wine when both of our glasses were clearly empty.
After finishing the food we were not offered desserts nor another drink. When we asked for the bill she had already printed it out with her (confirming that she was not going to offer desserts or more drinks). She again did not apologize for the excessive wait time or for the food mishaps. She did not even ask if we had a good meal nor if we needed anything else. She just didn't care.

Summary:
Short menu and only partially available, very long wait, and non-caring service. Food itself was ok but nowhere near what you expect based on their reputation, setting or pricing. The views were amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Rosario Resort. We love it here - the facility is very nostalgic and very classy. I have to say I was very disappointed in the attitude of the ladies at the front desk when we checked in. They were very short with us and they almost seemed put out by my inquiries. But other than that I would highly recommend this place. If you plan on staying here, especially during peak season, make a reservation for dinner when you check in. The restaurant fills up quickly. You may want to make a reservation for breakfast too!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely property located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosario Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.