We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosario Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Rosario Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosario Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nites in the harbor side rooms and was pleasantly surprised. The outside of the building appears pretty dated, even the hallways leading into your room so I was pretty sure we were in for an old dumpy room. Opened the door and was very surprised to see an updated room, flat screen tv, ipod player / alarm. We had a two room family suite and the extra room had a full kitchen , dining room table, Murphy bed, couch, full bath, and fireplace w extra flatscreen tv. Very clean, super comfy beds, unbelievable view of the harbor off of the private deck. One thing that would have been nice that would have put this place over the top would be some decent outdoor furniture on the deck. Ours had some cheap plastic lawn chairs so we didn't even use the deck which was a shame. The restaraunt in the mansion was very good, had an excellent rib steak with prices in the $30 range for steak. The restaraunt didn't have much of a kids selection however there is a grill as well that is not as formal that was quite good and decently priced. The mansion alone is with a view as the craftsmanship is absolutely stunning. The upstairs has been turned into a museum and is well worth the view. All in all, a very good stay, although you will pay a premium price for it. I will be back one day hopefully

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    89
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
134
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My girlfriend had never been to the San Juan Islands but always wanted to go. So I did a bit of research on a good place to take her away on a surprise weekend getaway (and propose to her). We went during the off season (December) and had much of the Resort & Spa to ourselves. I'd highly recommend off season visits to this place because you get great value and undivided attention from the staff.

I called in advance to ask the staff members their opinions on how best to propose to my girlfriend (now wife) and I was lucky enough to speak with probably the best person on the whole island about this subject. Kimaya, at the front desk answered and she happens to be a wedding planner who runs Cloud 9 Events on Orcas Island.

They talked me through the general timing of travel from the Seattle area and advised me to come Saturday morning instead of rushing in Friday night after work (restaurants might not be open by the time you get there). She described which room would be most appropriate to book.

Without getting into the details, pretty much everybody in the resort knew about the surprise proposal ahead of time except for my girlfriend, who didn't even know we were staying at the Rosario. The lady at the spa whispered to me how long my girlfriend's massage would take so that I could zip into town to buy flowers.

I proposed in our waterfront room (absolutely worth it to get the waterfront room) and everything worked as planned thanks to Kimaya. After she said 'yes', we had a celebratory dinner in the restaurant and any staff member we came in contact with took an extra second to congratulate us.

Perhaps my review is a bit biased considering how special the weekend was for us, but we were very satisfied with our stay and will most definitely come back.

Room Tip: The water front rooms are amazing. However, it should be noted that there are on-going renovations s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Rosario's has been my go to place for the weekend or even (two) honeymoons ... I know!! Any way, you won't find a nicer staff that will go way out of there way to fulfill your request anywhere. I sent a custom ring to the hotel direct from the goldsmiths in MT to them and they hid it in her favorite flower bouquet on our table. The whole staff and I waited for 30 min for her to notice it, and when she did they all clapped... They have always been super nice and accommodating. Great views, awesome food and super staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Rosario Resort is a beautiful old mansion with interesting history and a museum. The main building and the grounds are well kept and right on the water. We had a Bayside room which had a nice view of the main building and the water. There were stairs off our balcony that led down to the lawn where a fawn was grazing most of the time we were there. It was nice to walk around the resort in the evening. The food in the dining room was excellent (and pricey). The room was comfortable and clean. Our one issue was the clock radio/iPod dock was missing the power cord to plug it in. When we called the front desk to get one the attendant was not helpful at all. We had to wait until the next day to request it again at the front desk to get it. Also, there is not really anyplace else to eat nearby. The hotel is far from any towns and there are no other restaurants for dinner in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My hubby and I were camping in the Olympic National Park and had always wanted to visit the San Juan Islands as they are so close to our home in Victoria BC. So, we drove to Port Townsend, hopped a Washington state ferry to Whitby Island (beautiful place), drove to Anacortes and caught the first ferry from there which happened to be heading to Orcas Island. We though we might camp some more but Moran State Park was full so we checked out Rosario Resort on a whim. In spite of some initial confusion at the front desk about whether or not there was a room available (there was), a very nice lady checked us in and we got settled in. We had a room with a king bed on the hillside which offers a magnificant view of the resort and the bay. The room was so reasonable @ $150 US that we were pleasantly surprised to find the space was very modern, clean and nicely appointed with everything we could want. The bed and bedding were terrific and the bathroom was large, clean and stylish too. It was a nice treat after a few days of camping. We had a nice dinner our first evening at the Grill which has an outdoor deck and serves a variety of tasty food. It was a scenic spot right at the resort's marina and store. The process for ordering inside the store and then taking a number stand out to our table was a little weird but nevertheless, it works! We explored the property and enjoyed seeing the museum upstairs in the mansion, which used to belong to the Moran family, as well as the spa downstairs where we swam a few laps in the inside lap pool and soaked in the hot tub. The next day we went for a dip in the beautiful outdoor pool and soaked up some sun on the lounge chairs enjoying the view of the bay once again. Breakfast and dinner were enjoyed inside the mansion on the main floor. They were in the process of renovations for a new kitchen but this didn't seem to hinder the service or food quality. The staff were friendly and efficient too. The resort is located nearby to the Moran State Park so we were able to go exploring and really enjoy driving up Mt Constellation and taking in the fabulous views of the San Juan Islands. Be sure to go up inside the observation tower while you are there. The island seems to have a deep appreciatation for its history which was well preserved within the park and at Rosario Resort. I'd recommend this place for sure.

Room Tip: Take a room on the hillside, even though you'll want to drive down the hill over to the mansion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spent a couple nights aboard my family's sailboat in Rosario Marina. What a beautiful view each morning to climb on deck and see this grand resort keeping watch on the waterfront. The resort grounds are beautiful and Eastsound is a delight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent four nights at Rosario on our first trip to Orcas Island. We had a Bayside Waterfront King, which was directly on the water. Great views and very quiet. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed, an easy chair, desk, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator. Amenities were generous -- bathrobes, plenty of good-sized plush towels, a deep bathtub.

The Resort itself is interesting. At first glance it is obviously worn around the edges, with several buildings dating from the 1960s closed to occupants and obviously in need of repair. Management is, however, making a notable effort of upgrading the facilities. Work was underway on the garden and kitchens. I didn't mind the it was kind of ratty in places -- that added to the character. I felt like I was at an old resort -- the sort that has lost popularity in the last 20 years. Given that a number of buildings were not occupied with guests, I wondered about the capacity. We found that on a Sunday, both outdoor pools were filled to capacity (nowhere to sit). The dining facilities aren't great. The dining room in the Mansion was lovely, but the food was inconsistent at breakfast. We had lunch there one day and were disappointed. Some reviewers commented positively on the Cascade Grill, but it appeared that their menu was offering some of the same food as the Mansion. Plan to dine off-site if possible. Reservations really are needed for dinner at the restaurants in Eastsound.

The Mansion building is comfortable and quite beautiful. The pool area has a great view of the sound. The grounds are expansive and comfortable for strolling. I'd return again. It was a very relaxing location, close to hiking in Moran State Park with opportunities for kayaking and sailing.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room. If you like afternoon sun, request a Bayside room facing the Mansion. The wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosario Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosario Resort and Spa

Address: 1400 Rosario Road, Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Eastsound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Eastsound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosario Resort and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely property located on Orcas Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Rosario Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosario Hotel Eastsound
Rosario Island
Rosario Resort Eastsound
Rosario Resort Orcas Island
Rosario Resort And Spa Orcas Island/Eastsound, WA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosario Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.