We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay in Des Moines again just to eat here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Thai Cuisine

Emerald Thai Cuisine
22228 Pacific Hwy S, Des Moines, WA 98198-5101
(206) 878-9049
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 restaurants in Des Moines
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I will stay in Des Moines again just to eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I drove cross country to Seattle and stayed in Des Moines for 3 days. I stayed at the Sea-Tac Valu Inn simply because there was a Thai restaurant next door. What a fabulous surprise! I went there 5 times and tried something different each time, Each dish was authentic and perfectly seasoned and prepared. Quaint atmosphere and reasonable prices. The service is phenomenal and the owners were very pleasant and attentive. I have eaten in dozens of Thai restaurants back east and this certainly ranks in the top 3! The next time I am in Seattle I plan to stay in Des Moines because it is a nice, quiet hamlet near the Puget Sound but mainly because Emerald Thai was THAT enjoyable!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    15
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Dishes were flavourful and large. Big plus -- Emerald Thai delived to our hotel in an extremely heavy downpour.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I'm a student at HCC and I enjoy eating at Emerald Restauran, because the food is very delicious and exstra fresh. The owners and workers create a nice atmosphere, best services...
My favorite food is Coconat sup and # 71 Sea food combination.
I have been eating in Emerald Restaurant for couple years and never get tired of the food.
I strongly recoment to everyone to go there to enjoy deliciouse food !!! ND

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“They work hard to make sure you are happy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Don't let the exterior of the building fool you. They have great food. The owner and his wife run it themselves and came to our table to talk with us. Very generous portions and reasonable prices, especially considering the portions. You will have leftovers. Beers were only $3.00. You don't see that much in a restaurant anymore.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Excellent Food - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I am pretty picky about my Thai and having just moved to the South end from Bellevue I have had a real struggle finding restaurants that measure up to the quality that I found on the Eastside. (No snobbery intended.) I have eaten at Emerald Thai several times now, and the owner even delivered to my house a couple times, though I don't think that is something they offer as a standard service. The food has been delicious every time and the service top notch.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Emerald Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.