We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salty's at Redondo Beach

Salty's at Redondo Beach
28201 Redondo Beach Dr S, Des Moines, WA 98198
+1 253-946-0636
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty's at Redondo Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Redondo Way
Description: The friendliest beachfront restaurant serving Puget Sound and Olympic Mountain views, fabulous fresh award-winning Northwest seafood, prime USDA steaks, beachburgers and sandwiches. Great drinks and martinis. Waterfront deck dining. Live entertainment. Award-winning spectacular Sunday Brunch. You can be here in just minutes from Tacoma, Sea-Tac Airport and Seattle.
Des Moines, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special place but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We like Sunday happy hour-- the view is excellent, prices better than the restaurant, they have a nice selection of food & the drinks at Salty's are always good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    67
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Skip the drive downtown. Great choice near the airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The answer that everyone had about where to eat near the airport was either Salty's or Anthony's. We chose Salty's. About 15 minutes south from the airport area hotels. Décor a little worn and a bit of the old school nautical look, but OK. Nice view and location on the water. All of the food was excellent, though limited choices for fish as opposed to seafood...pretty much cod and steelhead. The steelhead was very good. Service was very friendly, and with one small exception, very attentive and conscientious. Yes I would go back. Our group was all happy with the choice. Not quite Legal Seafoods caliber, but enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Regional Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I loved that the restaurant feels local and is on the water. The clams appetizer and the broth they cooked in were amazing. I could have eaten the broth like a soup. My dungeness crab salad was very Northwest traditional and I both loved that and missed some greens other than iceberg lettuce. I'd still order it again though because it was a great portion of crab.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, enjoyable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Although it was too foggy the day that I was there with a colleague to truly appreciate the view that this location offers, the food was good and the service was very attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular food, service, ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I live in the Seattle area and have eaten at Salty's from time to time over the years and always enjoyed it very much. But I had dinner there last Friday night and the food and service was spectacular. I had one of their $30.00 three course dinner specials. It was steelhead fish covered with a wonderful salsa served over a bed of pesto linguine. It was one of the best restaurant meals I have ever had!!

It doesn't hurt that the service was fantastic and that the restaurant is sited right on Puget Sound either. Whether you are local or a visitor - this is a restaurant worth visiting!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's at Redondo Beach also viewed

 

Been to Salty's at Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty's at Redondo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.