We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Inn

Save Saved
You added Marina Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22300 Seventh Ave. South, Des Moines, WA 98198   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Des Moines
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Staff was wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I would overall like to stay my stay was wonderful, room was clean and quite and the value was fair. The staff Mr.Dennis was very professional, friendly and knowledgable about the area, fun weekend activites and directions. He also was very imformative about a great seafood restraunt to dine at with my fiancee. Saltys at Redondo. Thanks for the last minute reservations. Marina Inn was a pleasure to have stayed at...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    22
    9
    11
See reviews for
16
36
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Everything about this place was inadequate from the smell in the room to the internet service that didn't work at all, to the broken heater, and cheap stained bedding. We couldn't figure out what the smell was, but seemed like a strong cleanser trying to cover up pet urine. The huge spiderweb in the bathroom door tells you how the maid service is. We stayed here two nights with the Park & Fly package deal on our way to Maui and back. They say the parking is secure, but it wasn't well lighted and no video cameras. Didn't feel good about leaving our vehicle there, but we parked straight across from the office. The staff didn't seem to know what they were supposed to do, couldn't help with the internet service, blamed it on our computer instead. We got to the airport and had no problem with our computer. Will not be back here, and will never be able to forget that smell!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewind
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the Marina Inn and left our car there for 3 weeks when we took a flight out of Sea Tac.

On arrival our reservations for both us and the car were as arranged promptly earlier on the internet by Michelle.

The room we got was spacious, comfortable, and clean, We found it quite quiet at night.
We left too early so can't comment on the breakfast, but our rides to and from the airport went off as arranged with both drivers, Tara on the return, being pleasant people.

We ate dinner at Wally's Seafood which was recommended, and we found the fare to be quite decent, and the price reasonable.

Our overall experience here, would lead us to believe this is one of the best bets in the area to stay at and leave your car at a reasonable price. NOTE: You keep your car keys while away. More to my liking than having to leave them.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I would NOT recommend this place to ANYONE!!! It is icky top to bottom. Mold on the walls of the bathroom, hair on the "clean" sheets on our bed, box spring had stains going down side that looked like blood, the blanket was so old and nasty I wouldn't use it for our dog! And if you're thinking of staying here for the "free" parking/van to airport service think again.....the van ride to the airport was on time and worked well, but our relatives never got a pick up for the van ride back since they simply did NOT pick up their courtesy phone!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I booked a room during Thanksgiving weekend for three nights on short notice through Travelocity at a rate of $50 per night. Upon check-in, we were given keys to a room that was dirty. We returned to the desk and the clerk apologized and rebooked us to a slightly better room. The inn is very basic and in need of a renovation. The tv remote did not work and the inn smelled slightly of smoke, although they state that they are a non-smoking facility. The walls are thin and there were wild, loud people on the second floor two of the nights we were there. I will not return to this inn in the future; it would be worth it to spend the extra money to stay in a much nicer place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We used the Park 'n Fly option, staying at the hotel one night and parking for a week. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very large, surprisingly so, with a fridge and microwave. The continental breakfast was very basic but okay. The shuttle to the SeaTac Airport took only 10 minutes. Tara, the young woman on the front desk, was very friendly and helpful - she was a new employee and will be a credit to this hotel. We were surprised that we didn't have to leave our car keys - the car stays where you park it. Very nice location, easy access to I-5. We found the Des Moines Creek Restaurant just a few blocks from the hotel and had an awesome dinner there - pecan crusted halibut! All in all, a pleasant experience. We have booked again for our upcoming trip in January.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye1978
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Michelle was awesome, room was clean and had a comfortable bed. We had an early morning flight on 10/31 so missed the breakfast. The night of our arrival we went to the Mexican restaurant next door--won't make that mistake again. Food was salty and not appealing at all. After dinner walked down to the harbor and enjoyed the sunset. Shuttle Service to/from the airport was good and on time. This was the best deal we found for a Park N'Fly out of Sea-Tac. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Address: 22300 Seventh Ave. South, Des Moines, WA 98198
Location: United States > Washington > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.