We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place on Deer Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place At Cayou Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Place At Cayou Cove
Save
You added The Place At Cayou Cove to your Saves list
PO Box 310, 161 Olympic Lodge Lane, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Benicia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Peaceful Place on Deer Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay in the Carriage House - one of three cottages at the Place at Cayou Cove The pictures on their website really don't do it justice - it's a truly beautiful place with great attention to detail. Terrific features - from the heated floors in the bathroom and very cool 2-person shower, to a hot tub with a gorgeous view of the harbor, to the kitchen garden loaded with fresh berries, herbs and vegetables to complement a meal on the BBQ. Tons of extras that really made the stay. Very peaceful - osprey and king fishers overhead, harbor seals and boats in and out of the harbor, and low key, but helpful hosts.
Highly recommended as a base for adventures on Orcas. Wish we had a full week to be there versus just three days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Cayou Cove on Orcas Island from July 9 through July 13 and had the most delightful time! We usually stay a full-service hotels, but this was so much more than an Bed and Breakfast. Valerie went out of her way from the moment we made the reservation to secure dining reservations for us, recommend area attractions along and help us arrange travel to the Inn from Seattle. Charles' breakfasts were outstanding! Our little cottage was beautifully decorated and all services were unobtrusive. They deserve as many stars as the finest hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our first visit to Orcas Island and we chose Deer Harbor because it is near our son's summer camp which we came to see. We feel like we got lucky choosing The Place at Cayou Cove. The house, cottages and grounds are stunningly beautiful. Right on the water with flowers everywhere and a big wrap around porch to enjoy it all. We had a room in the main house on the second floor with a separate but private bathroom outside the room. This was not a problem because we never saw any other guests even though we knew they were there. So quiet and peaceful. The room was beautifully decorated with antiques and was spotless. The bed had luxury linens but was soft for our tastes. We still managed to sleep well with the sea air and peace and quiet. The owners were friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Do remember to print and bring the instructions regarding how to find the hotel. There are no signs and our cell phones did not have service to be able to use GPS or call for directions. No complaints though- we were happy to get away from it all! We plan on returning with more family members and rent one of the cottages.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in the main house on the top floor. Our bedroom overlooked the harbor with a balcony to sit outside and enjoy. We had an AMAZING dressing room complete with closet, makeup vanity and huge stool in the center. The bathroom was a delight with heated tile floor and shower (as well as toilet seat). It had a king bed that had dreamy, fresh and soft linens. I could soo live here. They provided all that one might need to enjoy time away. Our daughter and her husband got a queen room upstairs next to ours. They did have to go across the hall for their bathroom but we had the whole house to ourselves since we booked both rooms. It wasn't an issue. The couple that run the B&B Charles and Valerie, were very enjoyable. Valerie even made suggestions for our 3 day trip and got us reservations. Each place she booked for us was spot on! We went Whale Watching, to Moran State Park, Mt. Constitution, Rosario Resort for the organ concert, and ate at fabulous restaurants that we could not have chosen on our own. Thank you Valerie! I truly didn't want to leave. Besides being on the most lovely island it was just a dreamy place to come and stay. I got back to Washington last night but I want to go back!

Room Tip: Splurge!!! Go for the very best...you only live once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kneeland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Place at Cayou Cove is located in a beautiful spot on Deer Harbor on Orcas Island. It is a bit remote so we cooked in our cottage most nights which was great. We loved our cottage for the complete privacy, especially the hot tub. The grounds surrounding the cottages and the main house are beautiful.

Room Tip: The Gardener's Cottage where we stayed is completely private which we liked but has fewer window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We enjoyed the cozy, peaceful cottage at the cove. Each day we explored the island but came back to the cottage to spend time walking on the beach, enjoying the view, and cooking our dinners. We had planned on going out for dinner at least one evening but decided to stay in. Everything was there that we needed including the BBQ, fireplace, and charming, comfy decor.
We were there 3 days and want to return.
It was a perfect, romantic place to celebrate our 45th anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was worried that the online presentation of this place could not possibly be real BUT it was! Everything was perfect and exceeded our expectations. It is very private, clean and most importantly cozy. Our bed and the sheets were so comfy we did not want to wake up in the morning...luckily the view out of our windows changed our minds. What beauty, Deer Harbor is serene and inviting. Can not wait to come back to this little bit of heaven on earth. Oh and yes, VERY dog friendly. Our pup arrived to blankets and her own bowl including treats, she was super excited!

THANK YOU for making our trip so amazing.

Room Tip: The cottages are amazing and private. Loved them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place At Cayou Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place At Cayou Cove

Address: PO Box 310, 161 Olympic Lodge Lane, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Place At Cayou Cove Deer Harbor, Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place At Cayou Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.