We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place At Cayou Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Place At Cayou Cove
Save
You added The Place At Cayou Cove to your Saves list
PO Box 310, 161 Olympic Lodge Lane, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 glorious days/nights nights at the Gardener's Cottage at Cayou Cove last week - a belated 34th anniversary celebration. It was so lovely, private, quiet, pampering. Sheer delight! From the beautifully landscaped grounds, paths & brooks -- to the organic veggie garden (I enjoyed "picking" several delicious salads & veggies, practically right outside our door), everything was charming, comfy and peaceful. The cottage was ultra clean and very tastefully furnished. I enjoyed the herbal soaps, toiletries, candles, and appreciated quality cookware and dishes. It has a great two-headed shower & the water gets nice and HOT; also a private hot tub, kept ready for our use the entire time, just outside the front door - what better way to start and end a day in paradise? We enjoyed cocktails with water views from our own little private front yard and from the yard of the main house area, as well. We didn't want to spend our evenings anywhere else, and used the fire pit for grilling steaks & veggies one night...perfect...surrounded by nature; enchanting. Seattle had been on our Bucket List for ages; it also did not disappoint, but Orcas Island and Cayou Cove = trip highlight! So glad a WA friend recommended this to us. (We took the Anacortes ferry in and Kenmore Air out; which turned out to be the perfect combo for us.) Val was VERY accommodating - made things easy via email; even arranged our car rental: the simplest we've ever experienced. Their grounds & maintenance staff does a super job, too! We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Gardener's Cottage is just right for two. (Didn't mean to click anything for "Fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Truly the most beautiful place to stay on the island. The owners and caretakers do an exceptional job...and the full service package is definitely worth it. Breakfast is amazing! Relaxing, tranquil, a fruit and vegetable garden to pick from... we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just returned from 3 nights staying in the Carriage House. I spent quite a bit of time researching a place to stay on one of the San Juan Islands and one of our requirements was peace and quiet, Cayou Coove did not dissapoint. We chose not to hvae the breakfast option and no housekeeping. This trip was about celebrating 32 years together and when on vacation we value our privacy. The only visitor we had for the 3 days was Max a very lovable orange tabby. The cottage itself is well appointed, we did cook in one night. The soaker tub, hot tub and double headed shower are nice.
The property itself is well maintained and you are welcomed to use whatever is ready in their garden. All of the cottages are secluded, we saw no other guests while we were there.
The descrition of the property was spot on, the view from the front porch and hot tub was of beautiful Deer Harbor.
If you desire a spot away from the hustle and bustle Deer Harbor is great, only a few minutes to Eastsound which has shopping, food, restaurants, ect.
There is whale watchng and kayaking available just a 10 minute walk away at the marina.
We look forward to returning and trying another one of the cottages.

Room Tip: I think the Cove Cottage and Gardeners Cottage are the most secluded but I wouldn't hesitate to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for a romantic getaway. Deer harbor is a quiet spot of the island. The Place at Cayou Cove was perfect. We elected the B&B package and the food everyday was superb. I love breakfast and tend to have high expectations. I was never disappointed. Our cottage was clean, tidy, and comfortable enough that we felt right at home. As we explored more of the island during our stay my husband and I felt there was no property and accomidation that compared with Cayou Cove. We liked that we were allowed to bring our dog. There are some strict pet policies, but we just kept in mind the risk a property owner takes on when allowing pets, and respected their guidlines. All in all it was a blissful stay. We hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Gardener's Cottage. This is my all time favorite vacation rental. If you appreciate a beautiful yard and garden you must stay at this place. The gardener has a fantastic eye for texture and color. The cottage is amazing, cozy and has everything you could think to need. It is decorated in a enchanting way. I spent quite a bit of time just noticing the details. We stayed for two nights mid week for some R&R. There is access to the beach. We had a great time at low tide looking at all the life. The cottages all have small kitchens. I will return with the plan on cooking next time. You have full access to the fantastic herb, fruit and vegetable gardens. We ate out on this visit. It is at least 15 minutes to the nearest restaurant ( small grocery on the pier close by) but driving about the island is part of the charm. The owners are available and friendly but the cottages are situated so that you still have your privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the Gardeners cottage. This is a beautiful cottage. Everything is there you need to relax and enjoy your stay. The grounds are beautiful and perfectly maintained. The home the hosts live in is a 100 year old lovely place with chairs to sit in on the their front porch. The grounds are full of beautiful flowers with the scent of them overwhelming. The garden they grow is awesome full of every kind of vegetables and fruits. We enjoyed the hot tub outside of our door and the robes and slippers to go back and forth. This is truly a marvelous place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from 3 magical days at The Place at Cayou Cove. Stayed in the Gardeners Cottage - very private, comfortable and 2 chairs with views of the bay. Had a tour of the wonderful herb/vegetable garden on the property - it was the neatest garden I'd ever seen! We picked fresh herbs and asparagus and enjoyed with a meal cooked in the cottage. Owners were very responsive - service was outstanding. Definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place At Cayou Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place At Cayou Cove

Address: PO Box 310, 161 Olympic Lodge Lane, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Place At Cayou Cove Deer Harbor, Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place At Cayou Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.