We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pattys three day birthday present” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Place At Cayou Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Place At Cayou Cove
Save
You added The Place At Cayou Cove to your Saves list
PO Box 310, 161 Olympic Lodge Lane, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Deer Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
“Pattys three day birthday present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the Gardeners cottage. This is a beautiful cottage. Everything is there you need to relax and enjoy your stay. The grounds are beautiful and perfectly maintained. The home the hosts live in is a 100 year old lovely place with chairs to sit in on the their front porch. The grounds are full of beautiful flowers with the scent of them overwhelming. The garden they grow is awesome full of every kind of vegetables and fruits. We enjoyed the hot tub outside of our door and the robes and slippers to go back and forth. This is truly a marvelous place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
52
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from 3 magical days at The Place at Cayou Cove. Stayed in the Gardeners Cottage - very private, comfortable and 2 chairs with views of the bay. Had a tour of the wonderful herb/vegetable garden on the property - it was the neatest garden I'd ever seen! We picked fresh herbs and asparagus and enjoyed with a meal cooked in the cottage. Owners were very responsive - service was outstanding. Definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

From the moment we were escorted to The Cottage, the magic enveloped us. And the magic continued throughout our stay. We chose the Place at Cayou Cove to begin our married life together and we were blessed by the serenity of the location. We felt as if we were the only ones on the cove. The owners/hosts were very accommodating to our requests and made our time there supremely memorable. The Cottage was beautifully decorated with antiques, fine linens and everything to make us comfortable. What a blissful place! So much so that we've already made reservation to celebrate our 1st anniversary there next year.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you enjoy cottage elegance in a tranquil setting, the Place at Cayou Cove is for you. The Cove Cottage is the perfect place to rest and relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the company of your wife either beside of the crackling fireplace or in the hot tub overlooking the quiet cove and harbor. We look forward returning when we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a fabulous place! My husband and I wanted to get away with our puppy for the weekend to celebrate my birthday and we couldn't have stayed in a more beautiful, quiet, clean, pet-friendly location. Everything was perfect - the owners' attention to detail is remarkable (and I'm a type A personality, so that is saying something :)). We'll definitely be going back. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to 'disconnect' from their busy lives and get away for a few days of quiet and solitude...it rejeuvenates the soul. My only regret is that we didn't get to thank the owners in person.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There are places I have visited that remain with me for years. This one will stay with me for a lifetime - it was far more beautiful than can be described in words but it reminded me of books I read as a child. The meadow was like the “hundred acre wood” as described by A.A. Milne in Winnie the Pooh with its wooden gate, soft lush grass, and the rolling mounds of wild flowers which survived into the fall. There was a footpath recently mowed which led to the gate on the other side. There is a garden planted in a manner that would lead persons unknowing to believe it had all just been staged in anticipation of his/her visit. The orange of the pumpkins was vibrant, the dew on the cabbage was picturesque, the flowers so heavy that it seemed as if their necks would bend to the ground.

We stayed in the Cove Cottage. It’s as if Ralph Lauren personally decorated this cottage, yet better. There was gingham, and linen, and everything imaginable that would make a country cottage ideal for a photo shoot. The bed linens were Sferra and if you don’t know what that it is, please make a note - it's like sleeping on a cloud. The beautiful yellow couch was amazingly comfortable. The kitchen had everything needed to prepare a meal for several, including a dishwasher and a refrigerator, even a garbage disposal. The porch looks directly out on the water which is no more than 10-15 feet away. There was a hawk’s nest in the tree on the porch which made it very exciting to see him/her come and go. There were also otters and a seal who occasionally passed through on their way to here or there.

The main house is amazing and has been restored to its original beauty. The owners reside there so it is not on display. The yard behind the house rolls slowly down to a harbor with small boats moored to an antiquated dock. Very little action in the harbor but for a few lights in the wee morning hours and later a few boats trolling in and out during the afternoon. It was so peaceful and so quiet that the boats appeared to sleep as the water gently rocked them. It honestly felt as if I was standing in a painting of things someone had dreamed could be true.

There are two other cottages but they were not accessible. The cottages are separated by vines and gardens. It is impossible to impose upon their privacy.

There is also Moran State Park that is an absolute MUST. There are several trails, some that are very easy and enjoyable, others require skills. There is the lookout at Mt. Constitution which is at such a high altitude that, when foggy, feels as if you’re in heaven looking down on the world. It was so peaceful and uplifting. I’ve never seen pictures of anything this beautiful.

I write this review in January of 2013 even though our visit was in October of 2012. I write it now because upon our return it was discovered that cancer was to visit our family. Time as I knew it has forever changed. It is now that I realize just how important it is to take time to truly experience places like this - to break out of the pattern of redundancy and do something different. Our memories of Cayou Cover are helping us get through the troubled times that lay before us - I truly mean this with every fiber of my being and if I can compel just one person to break out of the mold by writing this review then I feel it has made a valuable difference. Do it now. I’m forever grateful that we did. The Place at Cayou Cove will bring you happiness long after you leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I spent an hour or two on TripAdvisor, for a few days straight, searching for a place to spend a quiet Christmas together. We're in our mid-30's (a programmer and a math teacher), and have high expectations when it comes to service. The Place at Cayou Cove met or exceeded every one of those expectations, and it was well-worth the money.

We stayed in the Gardener's Cottage and selected limited service. What we found most-interesting was that the staff here seem to be aware of not wanting to bother you; we only saw someone once (at check-in) and one other time when we asked for more firewood. Not that we wouldn't have been cool with seeing them more, but it was noticeable that they respected our privacy, and we appreciated that.

In the Gardener's Cottage, we slept on the most-comfortable bed that we've ever slept on, anywhere. Wow. And the hot tub was super-private; the 102 degF water felt good in the chilly December evenings, and there didn't seem to be any restrictions on when you could use it, either. We packed a cooler full of bacon and eggs, champagne, orange juice, TV dinners, and soda; and we just stayed in the whole time, making our own meals and enjoying movies on the satellite TV service and lounging in the hot tub. (Oh.. ah.. if you set the smoke alarm off while cooking, we've heard that it will reset itself if you open the windows. And let's just say "I now believe it isn't butter"). Speaking of fire. The fireplace is great and very warm, and we had it going most of the time we were there. All you need to do is ask for more wood, and they also have free kindling and newspapers (Not really into fires? There's also regular heat). Pots, pans, silverware, dishes, glasses, dishwasher--- It's all there. Bring food (or pay for room service) and any personal items, and that's all you'll need.

Overall, the cottage design, cleanliness, layout and safety were exceptionally-professional, and will impress even the most-discerning travelers. We got the impression that the staff appreciate responsible guests, so we tried to accomodate them right back (No word on if they give cooking classes, though).

Ferry travel from Anacortes to Orcas Island wasn't as much of a hassle as we thought, but we encourage you to double-check those schedules (they can be sneaky). If this is your first time visiting the San Juans, don't chance that you might stay at a place that sucks. Do what we did. You'll love it here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Place At Cayou Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place At Cayou Cove

Address: PO Box 310, 161 Olympic Lodge Lane, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Harbor
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Place At Cayou Cove Deer Harbor, Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Place At Cayou Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.