We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Deer Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A gem of a getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Deer Harbor Inn for two wonderful days in March, 2011. We stayed in the lodge for a very reasonable and competitive price. What a relaxing two days! The owners/hosts were warm and engaging. The restaurant is outstanding - gourmet quality. I highly recommend the Deer Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    20
    16
    12
See reviews for
16
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

WOW! That was our first word when we entered our cabin: a wine and cheese reception, 4 cinnaminis with OJ and Bananas in a basket, red wine and glasses, a hot-tub on the back of our cottage, an amazingly comfy KING size bed, and a clean, quaint, romantic room.

I have worked in hospitality for over 5 years, and my Husband and I both agree that the way we were treated and hosted at Deer Harbor Inn was AS GOOD AS our caribbean cruise for our Honeymoon with Princess Cruise Lines.

The FOOD: One of our top 5 meals of the year. The bread is fresh, the salad amazingly organic, and the salmon a song to your mouth. I used to live in Alaska. If you have never been to Alaska to have fresh-caught salmon, this is as good as it will get in Washington!

We woke up the next morning to little bunnies outside of our cottage door, literally hopping over croquet balls in the front yard, and a woodpecker on the top of the massage parlor. Need I say more? Stay here, and go hike to Cascade Falls at Moran State park. You will have a blast!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

My wife and I came here for a pre-Valentine's Day getaway, using the Groupon deal. We had a room in the lodge that faced the grass and the woods, which was really nice. The room wasn't huge, but was cozy, with an electric fireplace. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom with shower was well-stocked and adequate. All rooms have a mini-fridge and self-service coffee, which is always nice.

Upon arrival in our room, we were greeted with wine and a cheese plate, which was a nice touch. Also, items were left for breakfast the following day.

The on-site restaurant, which only serves dinner, was very good. They have a small, but very well-prepared menu. All entrées include homemade soup and salad, served family-style.

Additionally, the service was very friendly, both at the Inn and restaurant. Ron checked us in, and he was both friendly and efficient, as well a very informative.

Overall, a great place to stay for some peace and quiet in midwinter. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

A large group of old friends traveled to Orcas Island to attend a memorial and wake for an old college buddy. Pam, Craig, Ron, and Ryan at Deer Harbor Inn could not have treated us better. They provided us a with a block of rooms that shared a common sitting area where we could gather and commiserate. They opened the restaurant a little early for us and provided a quiet corner where toasts could be made to our departed friend. They could not have been more sympathic or accomodating. Our thanks to all of them.
And about the Inn itself, the rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the fireplaces were a comforting touch. The restaurant was homey and friendly with a live musician playing beautiful guitar. The food was delicious. The smoked salmon linguine was a hit. The salmon is smoked on site.
The people at Deer Harbor Inn could not have done more to provide us an enjoyable stay at a sad time. Our hats are off to them.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcchik
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The inn staff were very good. We were given extras for the third person in our room. since there were no stores open close to the inn, we got extra fruit. it's a great place to spend time, with a hot tub, board games, a computer, etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I just returned from a weekend getaway with friends and we had a great stay at the Deer Harbor Inn. The staff was very friendly and the setting is quiet and beautiful. The rooms were comfortable, the food at the restaurant was good and it was nice to have the common space in the lodge to hang out. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We had the most amazing overnighter at Deer Harbor Inn. I used the Groupon for it which included restaurant credit. We arrived at dinner time so went right to the restaurant after checking in. We had the split pea soup which was very tasty and a seafood pasta dish which was also very good. I thought the bread was good as well. When we arrived at our room, there was a plate of cheese and crackers and a carafe of wine waiting for us, something neither one of us expected and which was "on the house" for our anniversary. An advantage of staying there in the low season was that we were the only ones staying in the big log cabin house which has 8 rooms total. It was very cozy and had a computer with internet and printer downstairs and a TV, DVD/CD player upstairs with classical music CDs available. Plus lots of games and books. That was all in the common areas. There were 4 rooms upstairs and 4 down. We loved having the place to ourselves but also thought it would be really fun to have our friends join us and rent the whole house out for a weekend sometime. The only bad thing was that we got there when it was dark and didn't notice the hot tub available by the parking lot. When we saw it the next day and felt how warm it was, I really wished we had asked the manager if they had one because we had come prepared with bathing suits. Or that he had told us when we checked in. When we woke up it was snowing outside. I made the Starbucks coffee that was left for us and we ate the tangerines, scones, and biscotti that was left for us in a basket along with orange juice. All in all, a great anniversary gift and a great deal with Groupon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.