We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Deer Harbor Inn
33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Sonoma County, Callifornia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for two nights during a 2-week road trip exploring the Pacific Northwest. I am disabled, so when I called the Resort to make reservations I requested an accessible room. The person I talked to was very friendly and helpful, explaining they didn’t have fully accessible rooms but if she put us on the first floor of The Lodge (instead of in a cabin) there would be only 3 shallow steps I’d have to negotiate. That I could do. The ferry from Anacortes only sells round-trip tickets to Orcas Island, and the fee was a bit high – over $50 for Hubby, self, and car, even with a disabled passenger discount – but the ferry ride was extremely pleasant and the island itself is absolutely gorgeous.
One of the first things I said to my husband after checking in to Deer Harbor Resort was “I guess a lot of people who visit here probably don’t ‘get’ it.” That was confirmed later in our stay by the one staff person we saw, who told us about 1/3 of the people who check in aren’t able to figure out what to do. There’s no one at the front desk; just a small bag on the counter with your name on it, filled with info, maps, and your room key. There’s no one to tell you where to go, or what to do. The Lodge is a large home that’s been converted into about 6 bedrooms on two floors with a large common area: The common area has a phone (free use, including long distance), a stocked fridge, a microwave, a computer work station with a printer, and cabinets filled with supplies like extra towels, plates, cups, etc. There are covered porches both in the front and back of the lodge with chairs and benches for sitting outside. There’s a hot tub, always ready, for Resort guests in a gazebo just behind the Lodge. And no one around to say you can use any or all these things, which you certainly can. Think of it as if a kind, generous friend went out of town leaving their key hidden just for you, and you’re welcome to make yourself at home in their house – that’s what Deer Harbor Resort is like.
Our room was cozy yet not too small. The queen-size bed was very comfy! There was an electric fireplace in the room, which added to the rustic ambience. On the mantle was a picnic basket containing English muffins and jam, granola, and fruit. (Milk and a toaster were available in the common area.) There was also a coffee maker, as well as a small fridge in the room containing orange juice and butter. One newer amenity, apparently recently added for guests who don’t know how to entertain themselves on their own, was a small-ish flat screen TV in the corner of the room. My only real complaint about our room is that the bathroom wasn’t up to ADA code – no grab bars, either by the toilet or in the tub/shower – but then again, I knew and accepted that when I made our reservations. There’s also a restaurant on site: We didn’t eat there because we kept finding wonderful places to eat while out exploring the island, but the menu looked good and other guests told us they really enjoyed their meals. Would I stay there again? ABSOLUTELY.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
16
130
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a room at the last minute when our boat wasn't able to make the trip over to Deer Harbor. We checked in very early and without any human interaction. Grabbed our bag and found our room all ready to go. Nice room - very homey and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was like scrounging at home except the fridge was clean and tidy here! Loved it. Checkout went as smoothly as check in - dropped our key in the basket on our way out and we were on our way. The Inn sends you a thank you email the next day - makes me wonder if this place is run by computers (the nice kind :). Will definitely visit here again. My kind of place!

Room Tip: Room 2 in the lodge had a great bed and big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent 3relaxing nights at Deer Harbor in August. Mornings started with great homemade granola, fresh fruit, English muffin, juice, and Starbucks coffee. Furnishings were comfortable. Loved the framed artwork by local artists. In the evenings, enjoyed the private hot tub on the back deck while watching the stars. You could see Deer Harbor from front deck of cabin1. Had wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived in Deer Harbor by seaplane and walked the short distance to Deer Harbor Inn. While it was early in the day our welcome basket and room were ready. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable and we got a good night sleep. The walls may have been thin, but we heard nothing and the inn was quiet after a reasonable hour. It is a bit of a trek to get into town if you don't have a car. We rode bikes there once, which was a beautiful ride, and took a cab once which was rather expensive $30. The location is very convenient to kayaking in and out of Deer Harbor, which was beautiful. We only spent one night here, as we moved to check out the other side of the island at Doe Bay the next night, but I would definitely stay here again. Rooms on the island are not cheap, and I thought this was a nice, comfortable place to stay for the cost!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Photos truly represent what the rooms look like. Ours was spotless and very charming. Picnic basket for breakfast was perfect, as you could either get ready while you ate, or sit at the table by the window and relax. Bunnies and deer love to hang out. And what a surprise the restaurant was! I didn't expect much from the laid back appearance of the inn online, but it was a wow moment when we had dinner there. A little pricey, but elegant, food was delicious, service fantastic, and a spanish guitar player entertained us. He didn't travel to tables, and he didn't sing; it was perfect background. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had room #8 (2nd floor on the back side) and it was perfect. Quiet location and while we shared the building (living room) with other guests we never saw or heard them. Very clean with nice furnishings, thick carpet, very comfortable bed. Bathrooom was spacious with plenty of counter space and clean/bright shower and hair dryer. In-room continental breakfast was good and exactly what we have most mornings anyway. We never met the owners/staff as our welcome bag and key was waiting for us and you leave key at the door and that worked out just fine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked our room, # 8, a corner room on the back of the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were on Orcas for a wedding with lots of activities for four days. The Inn was very comfortable and accommodating, and the restaurant is excellent. Very convenient, particularly if you're arriving on Orcas at Deer Harbor by boat or seaplane.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are comfy and spacious. Room 7 affords views of Deer Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.