We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot for an overnite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Mount Vernon, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for an overnite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a room at the last minute when our boat wasn't able to make the trip over to Deer Harbor. We checked in very early and without any human interaction. Grabbed our bag and found our room all ready to go. Nice room - very homey and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was like scrounging at home except the fridge was clean and tidy here! Loved it. Checkout went as smoothly as check in - dropped our key in the basket on our way out and we were on our way. The Inn sends you a thank you email the next day - makes me wonder if this place is run by computers (the nice kind :). Will definitely visit here again. My kind of place!

Room Tip: Room 2 in the lodge had a great bed and big bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    68
    18
    13
    12
See reviews for
15
123
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent 3relaxing nights at Deer Harbor in August. Mornings started with great homemade granola, fresh fruit, English muffin, juice, and Starbucks coffee. Furnishings were comfortable. Loved the framed artwork by local artists. In the evenings, enjoyed the private hot tub on the back deck while watching the stars. You could see Deer Harbor from front deck of cabin1. Had wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived in Deer Harbor by seaplane and walked the short distance to Deer Harbor Inn. While it was early in the day our welcome basket and room were ready. The room was spacious and had a mini fridge which was nice. The bed was comfortable and we got a good night sleep. The walls may have been thin, but we heard nothing and the inn was quiet after a reasonable hour. It is a bit of a trek to get into town if you don't have a car. We rode bikes there once, which was a beautiful ride, and took a cab once which was rather expensive $30. The location is very convenient to kayaking in and out of Deer Harbor, which was beautiful. We only spent one night here, as we moved to check out the other side of the island at Doe Bay the next night, but I would definitely stay here again. Rooms on the island are not cheap, and I thought this was a nice, comfortable place to stay for the cost!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Photos truly represent what the rooms look like. Ours was spotless and very charming. Picnic basket for breakfast was perfect, as you could either get ready while you ate, or sit at the table by the window and relax. Bunnies and deer love to hang out. And what a surprise the restaurant was! I didn't expect much from the laid back appearance of the inn online, but it was a wow moment when we had dinner there. A little pricey, but elegant, food was delicious, service fantastic, and a spanish guitar player entertained us. He didn't travel to tables, and he didn't sing; it was perfect background. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had room #8 (2nd floor on the back side) and it was perfect. Quiet location and while we shared the building (living room) with other guests we never saw or heard them. Very clean with nice furnishings, thick carpet, very comfortable bed. Bathrooom was spacious with plenty of counter space and clean/bright shower and hair dryer. In-room continental breakfast was good and exactly what we have most mornings anyway. We never met the owners/staff as our welcome bag and key was waiting for us and you leave key at the door and that worked out just fine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked our room, # 8, a corner room on the back of the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were on Orcas for a wedding with lots of activities for four days. The Inn was very comfortable and accommodating, and the restaurant is excellent. Very convenient, particularly if you're arriving on Orcas at Deer Harbor by boat or seaplane.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are comfy and spacious. Room 7 affords views of Deer Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We didn't know what to expect. Our trip via boat put us at the deer harbor marina and the deer harbor inn is the only game in town since the resort converted to time share. The inn picked us up at the marina in a stretch limo, it was quite the treat. We stay at the lodge and the room was spacious. When we arrived deer were grazing at the lodge entrance and huge rabbits everywhere. It was warm at the room had plenty of fans. It was nice of the inn to leave us a picnic basket of food for breakfast as the only restaurant in the morning is the marina stores. Staff are friendly.

If you are at the marina you have to catch a ride by 9pm. Walking is not far but with luggage it would be a hike. There is no morning driver unless a privat function is going on. Matt the owner was our driver.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.