We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean, charming...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint, clean, charming...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Photos truly represent what the rooms look like. Ours was spotless and very charming. Picnic basket for breakfast was perfect, as you could either get ready while you ate, or sit at the table by the window and relax. Bunnies and deer love to hang out. And what a surprise the restaurant was! I didn't expect much from the laid back appearance of the inn online, but it was a wow moment when we had dinner there. A little pricey, but elegant, food was delicious, service fantastic, and a spanish guitar player entertained us. He didn't travel to tables, and he didn't sing; it was perfect background. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    68
    18
    13
    12
See reviews for
15
123
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had room #8 (2nd floor on the back side) and it was perfect. Quiet location and while we shared the building (living room) with other guests we never saw or heard them. Very clean with nice furnishings, thick carpet, very comfortable bed. Bathrooom was spacious with plenty of counter space and clean/bright shower and hair dryer. In-room continental breakfast was good and exactly what we have most mornings anyway. We never met the owners/staff as our welcome bag and key was waiting for us and you leave key at the door and that worked out just fine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We liked our room, # 8, a corner room on the back of the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were on Orcas for a wedding with lots of activities for four days. The Inn was very comfortable and accommodating, and the restaurant is excellent. Very convenient, particularly if you're arriving on Orcas at Deer Harbor by boat or seaplane.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lodge are comfy and spacious. Room 7 affords views of Deer Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We didn't know what to expect. Our trip via boat put us at the deer harbor marina and the deer harbor inn is the only game in town since the resort converted to time share. The inn picked us up at the marina in a stretch limo, it was quite the treat. We stay at the lodge and the room was spacious. When we arrived deer were grazing at the lodge entrance and huge rabbits everywhere. It was warm at the room had plenty of fans. It was nice of the inn to leave us a picnic basket of food for breakfast as the only restaurant in the morning is the marina stores. Staff are friendly.

If you are at the marina you have to catch a ride by 9pm. Walking is not far but with luggage it would be a hike. There is no morning driver unless a privat function is going on. Matt the owner was our driver.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boring, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Orchard Cottage 2 - overall it was really lovely! It felt private, tho other cottages and lodge nearby. Cottage was very clean and the general vibe of the cottage was truly lovely. The decor was just right, the kitchen area was just what we needed. My fave was the bed and the sheets - super comfy bed and sweet charming sheet set!! One downfall - the restaurant on site serves dinner only and looked to be a popular choice as cars were parked all over the Inn site when we returned to Cottage in evening - restaurant guests left dogs in their cars, who barked at each other the whole time which also seemed to set off car alarms. Other than that, it was just what we wanted and staff very friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steilacoom, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband was not able to come with me and the kids, so last minute my sister-inlaw came with us and her kids, we had a great time. The cabin was cozy, they gave us extra towels and extra english muffins and organic granola, milk, orange juice, water and fruits. I booked two days thru Livingsocial..can't wait to go back...The only bad thing was the corner of the bed frame, the kids kept hitting their knee. Bed was very comfy had a good night rest for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I just got back from a two night stay at this little gem on Orcas Island. It's probably more like a B&B than an inn. You pick up your key from a table in the office and you don't really interact with any staff, which is ok w/me (although there's a phone if you need to call). There are extra towels, etc. in the building so you don't really have to ask them for anything. The first thing I noticed is how CLEAN it was. The beds were very comfy (although squeeky). A continental breakfast is provided-homemeade granola (has nuts), fruit, juice, muffins, boiled eggs. Each room has a mini fridge, coffeemaker, toaster and there's a microwave in the common area on each floor which is great if you like to bring your own food. They have salt & pepper shakers in the room! The log cabin lodge is well built with thick walls-we couldn't hear our neighbors but we were upstairs. There are 2 porches and a deck with chairs. There is a tv w/dish network. Free wifi and it streamed Pandora well. Restaurant on site but a little pricey. Staff is extremely friendly. There's really no view of sunrises/sunsets and not much of a view of the water but it's just a short distance to Deer Harbor. If there's anything to complain about, it's that they provide organic milk for the granola but not soy or almond for vegans-but since there's a frig you could bring your own. The doors stick and have to be slammed a little but you almost get the feel you could leave your door unlocked at this place. I would stay there again. Tip: If you've never been to the San Juans and you're traveling at a popular time (summer, weekends), line up for the ferry VERY early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.