We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway on Orcas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway on Orcas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Feels like you are staying in someone's home - and love the lounges on the two floors. Very cute place, and the outdoor hot tub is a great addition. Orcas is a beautiful island, and you can feel the stress slipping away as soon as you get off the ferry. Island time for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    71
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
15
127
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Wow! Peaceful.. Unbelievably beautiful. We stayed in there wood cabin! Loved it. Private jacuzzi and fireplace. Friendly staff. Family owned. great place for u and that special someone to getaway and focus on each other. Also has mini kitchen to cook that romantic dinner and a refrigerator to keep wine and champagne cold! We will be back sooner than later.

Room Tip: Do a lil grocery shopping as the whole island is for tourism and prices reflect so
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife & I stayed on a living social deal that was set to expire by months end. We had never stayed on the Island and were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the Deer Harbor Inn. It is a family owned & operated inn....where dad checked us in, mom greeted us at the lodge while finishing up the laundry and chatted away with us and later met the sons at the restaurant at dinner. The fried chicken on Sunday nights are awesome. It was great to unplug and relax the afternoon away playing boardgames, sipping wine and we even found time to catch a dvd. What a relaxing time we had and can't wait to do it again in-season when there are a ton of outdoor activities available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Used a LivingSocial deal to stay here. It had been too many years since we last visited Orcas Island and it was refreshing to see not much had changed. The island is still a sleepy place with lots of hidden harbors and rural roads to explore. The Deer Harbor Inn is a bit off the beaten path - located on a hillside with only a partial view down to the water. If you aren't interested in eating at their restaurant, the nearest option is a bit of a drive away.

As could be expected, things aren't hopping on Orcas in March, as many restaurants and businesses were closed for the season. Still, it was fun to meander around the island and make notes for a return visit in warmer times.

As for the Inn, it served its purpose as a base of operation. We stayed in the lodge building, which has 6 moderate rooms - clean and cozy, with a fridge but nothing too special. The walls were pretty thin, but luckily our neighbors weren't the noisy types. There is a shared computer, TV and stash of books and games in the common area for guests' use. Aside from the lodge, there are also several cabins which we didn't get to see. There is an outdoor hot tub located near the lodge building, under a gazebo, so it can be used in the rain. "Breakfast" was included, but was hardly worth mentioning, consisting of plastic wrapped croissants, packets of jam & butter, bananas and small bottle of orange juice for each of us (obviously from Costco on the mainland). While this would serve just fine as breakfast in many places in Europe, it is substandard here in the States. What bothered us more was that the breakfast basket was already waiting in the room when we arrived, meaning it got to sit out overnight. I remembered to put the juice in the fridge before going to bed, but the "day old" quality was a bit of a turn-off. It would be a nicer touch to have the basket waiting outside our door in the morning.

The restaurant on the property was decent, but nothing too special. The menu had a number of tasty items, but all were mix and match around the same steak, chicken or seafood themes. You could get each of these items as a stand-alone entree or topping a large salad. The rolls that were served were quite tasteless, but the blackberry cobbler dessert was yummy. Prices were a bit high, but that is typical of all dining on the island.

All-in-all, we enjoyed our island escape, but I don't think it would be worthwhile paying the full price, at least not off-season.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water had only a very partial view. May be better on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was a perfect place for us to sneak away. The staff was friendly and welcoming. There is not much to do on the island so bring lots of games to keep you and your family entertained. The on-site restaurant had great food and attentive staff. We would have liked to have seen a little more substance in the breakfast basket, perhaps a granola bar too. It included a croissant and a banana.

Looking forward to coming again!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a nice view of the water and grassy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

In reviewing Deer Harbor Inn, I'm not trying to tell anyone where to stay but rather give an idea of our experience.
It was supposed to be a birthday weekend getaway and instead turned into a stay in decent accommodations with horrible service. In my opinion, Craig and Pam have a few things to learn about the service industry.

We arrived on a cold and very wet evening to find no lights on in our cabin (not even an outside porch light) and all the heat turned OFF (as if they weren't expecting us). It was probably as cold in our cabin as it was outside and then took a good hour or two to get fully warmed up. Although we found this to be unwelcoming, we thought we'd go jump in the hot tub to warm up while we waited (I had purchased this getaway through a Living Social deal and upgraded from the lodge to the cabin because it had the hot tub).

Upon opening the hot tub, we found it empty (I had read similar reviews of this happening before). I called the owner and she said her husband must have forgot to close the plug. Pam said the hot tub wouldn't be ready to use for 24 hours so Craig came by to fill it up (neither of them apologizing all the while) and offered us a bottle of wine (nice!) and a $25 credit to the bill for the inconvenience.

An hour and a half later we noticed the sound of water overflowing...sure enough, he had forgot to shut it off and it was overflowing. We shut it off, he then came by to drain a bit of water and turn the heat on. Later that evening I checked my bank account and noticed a $35 charge from the Inn. I called Pam and she said it was not a charge but a credit. I told her I saw no credit, only a charge. She then proceeded to argue with me and tell me how it was a credit because it had two little circles in front of it (at this point I have no idea what she's talking about). It wasn't until the next day when Craig brought by a transaction detail that I realized they charged me $35, then credited $60 to make the $25 credit happen. Why charge someone when all you need to do is credit them? I don't get it. And of course, the charge goes through immediately, but the credit takes up to 3 business days to process.

Our second day was 'highlighted' by their croissant and banana breakfast (literally thrown in a basket), our bed being made and the comforter crumpled into a ball and thrown on the couch and the trash being taken out but the bag not replaced. What gives? To top that off, they turned the heat OFF (not just down) again upon entering our cabin and the hot tub never heated up fully enough to use. Pam kept assuring us it would be ready our second night, but it never got warmer than probably 60 degrees.

We actually looked to change to the Resort at Deer Harbor for our second night because of all the hassle but decided not to because she kept telling us the hot tub would be ready. After calling Pam when we got home the next day, she again got upset at ME and said we were already getting a great deal because of the Living Social. UNACCEPTABLE! I purchased the deal and then upgraded to have the fireplace and hot tub, but it was not worth it. Not ONCE did either of them own up to their mistakes or apologize. Instead I hear about how they need to get better at trying to accommodate their guests and she starts making excuses for the way we were treated and how we should just be happy with the great deal we got. She also assumed I was simply after a refund which I told her I wasn't, and told me, "this is as good as it's gonna get." Well, if that's as good as it's gonna get, there are plenty of better places on Orcas Island to stay.

You can make all the excuses you want, but bad customer service is just that and we WILL NOT be returning or recommending this place to anyone!

Room Tip: The cabins themselves are fine, but only if you actually get everything you paid for. And if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We found this inn via LivingSocial, and it was a very cozy spot from which to check out Orcas Island. The proprietor was extremely helpful and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations (with it being winter, many places were closed until the weekend, including the Deer Harbor Inn restaurant). We stayed in the lodge proper; our room was clean with a gas fireplace and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little dated, but the shower and sink worked beautifully, which is not often the case in inn-type settings off the beaten path. Loved the common areas, with their comfy couches and wide selection of games and puzzles. I didn't use the hot tub, but my husband said it was excellent.

My one complaint would be the thin walls -- we could hear our neighbors in the room directly downstairs from ours almost as clearly as if they were sitting by our bed. If you want privacy, one of the cottages would be a better bet. Also, be careful of the main lodge's parking lot -- there was a lot of rain before/during our stay, so it was one vast field of sucking, shoe-destroying black mud.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 upstairs; it's a corner room with a lovely view of the Sound and hills. I im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.