We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet spot on beautiful Orcas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deer Harbor Inn
33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet spot on beautiful Orcas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We found this inn via LivingSocial, and it was a very cozy spot from which to check out Orcas Island. The proprietor was extremely helpful and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations (with it being winter, many places were closed until the weekend, including the Deer Harbor Inn restaurant). We stayed in the lodge proper; our room was clean with a gas fireplace and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little dated, but the shower and sink worked beautifully, which is not often the case in inn-type settings off the beaten path. Loved the common areas, with their comfy couches and wide selection of games and puzzles. I didn't use the hot tub, but my husband said it was excellent.

My one complaint would be the thin walls -- we could hear our neighbors in the room directly downstairs from ours almost as clearly as if they were sitting by our bed. If you want privacy, one of the cottages would be a better bet. Also, be careful of the main lodge's parking lot -- there was a lot of rain before/during our stay, so it was one vast field of sucking, shoe-destroying black mud.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 upstairs; it's a corner room with a lovely view of the Sound and hills. I im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
15
125
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We came here after purchasing a LivingSocial voucher for a one-night stay. The voucher also included a $20 credit for the spa, which we didn't use. We also couldn't try the restaurant, as it's on "winter hours" (only open on weekends) and we came during the middle of the week.

It's a nice little place. We were actually the only people staying in the lodge (room 3) so we had the place to ourselves. The room was adorable; the fireplace was on, everything was clean, and the bed was comfortable. On the second floor, there's a little TV area plus they have tons of DVDs, books, and board games for entertainment. Although we didn't make use of it, there's also a hot-tub outside that looked nice.

The only real complaint I have is that it's sort of far-off from the rest of the island. I don't blame the Inn for that, of course, but it's something I wish I'd known beforehand. It might have been nice to stay a little closer to East Sound.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice little island getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is an absolutely perfect weekend getaway.
Upon arrival, as you check-in and get your key, the man at the front is extremely helpful if you're new to the island -- he gave me detailed instructions of how to get to all the little towns on the island.
The rooms are small, yet cozy, with a gas fireplace in each room. The stay includes a breakfast basket. Though there are no televisions in the rooms, there is a "lounge" area, with couches, chairs, coffee table, and a TV. There is an assortment of DVDs available to choose from, as well as board games and books.
Right outside the inn is a lighted gazebo with a hot tub in it. The property is beautiful and very peaceful.
I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My expectations were blown out of the water by the people on Orcas Island! Our room was charming and the bed was amazing. We loved the hot tub under the gazebo! Just what we needed on a cold December night.
The food at the Deer Harbor Inn restaurant was amazing! I'm vegan and they had wonderful food for me too! The best stir fry I've ever had!
Every single person we dealt with at the Inn was super friendly and accommodating~!
I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Deer Harbor Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Orcas Island. We had our dog Cooper with us and stayed in one of the cabins. The bed was extremely comfy, there was a great kitchenette with 2 burners and a fridge and lots of room for the 3 of us. There was also a tv/dvd but we did not use it but instead used one of the sets from the Inn to play scrabble. There's also a great gas fireplace which made the room even more inviting during the cool November temperatures we experienced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My sister-in-law purchased a nights stay for us last christmas using a groupon. There was a mix up with our reservation in October. The people at Deer Harbor Inn said they would extend the expiration date on the groupon so we made plans for a Veterans Day visit. The weather was awful but the room was cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: The upstairs room in the lodge have a view of the water.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Small "rustic" resort - with great restaurant. The lodge has 6 rooms with Western decor, and common room on both the first and second floor. Other units are small cabins. "Rustic" rooms are very nice and have a fireplace. The only TV is in the common room. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.