We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cozy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Deer Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Quaint and cozy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We came here after purchasing a LivingSocial voucher for a one-night stay. The voucher also included a $20 credit for the spa, which we didn't use. We also couldn't try the restaurant, as it's on "winter hours" (only open on weekends) and we came during the middle of the week.

It's a nice little place. We were actually the only people staying in the lodge (room 3) so we had the place to ourselves. The room was adorable; the fireplace was on, everything was clean, and the bed was comfortable. On the second floor, there's a little TV area plus they have tons of DVDs, books, and board games for entertainment. Although we didn't make use of it, there's also a hot-tub outside that looked nice.

The only real complaint I have is that it's sort of far-off from the rest of the island. I don't blame the Inn for that, of course, but it's something I wish I'd known beforehand. It might have been nice to stay a little closer to East Sound.

All in all, I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice little island getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    19
    16
    12
See reviews for
16
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is an absolutely perfect weekend getaway.
Upon arrival, as you check-in and get your key, the man at the front is extremely helpful if you're new to the island -- he gave me detailed instructions of how to get to all the little towns on the island.
The rooms are small, yet cozy, with a gas fireplace in each room. The stay includes a breakfast basket. Though there are no televisions in the rooms, there is a "lounge" area, with couches, chairs, coffee table, and a TV. There is an assortment of DVDs available to choose from, as well as board games and books.
Right outside the inn is a lighted gazebo with a hot tub in it. The property is beautiful and very peaceful.
I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My expectations were blown out of the water by the people on Orcas Island! Our room was charming and the bed was amazing. We loved the hot tub under the gazebo! Just what we needed on a cold December night.
The food at the Deer Harbor Inn restaurant was amazing! I'm vegan and they had wonderful food for me too! The best stir fry I've ever had!
Every single person we dealt with at the Inn was super friendly and accommodating~!
I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Deer Harbor Inn and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Orcas Island. We had our dog Cooper with us and stayed in one of the cabins. The bed was extremely comfy, there was a great kitchenette with 2 burners and a fridge and lots of room for the 3 of us. There was also a tv/dvd but we did not use it but instead used one of the sets from the Inn to play scrabble. There's also a great gas fireplace which made the room even more inviting during the cool November temperatures we experienced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

My sister-in-law purchased a nights stay for us last christmas using a groupon. There was a mix up with our reservation in October. The people at Deer Harbor Inn said they would extend the expiration date on the groupon so we made plans for a Veterans Day visit. The weather was awful but the room was cozy. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: The upstairs room in the lodge have a view of the water.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Small "rustic" resort - with great restaurant. The lodge has 6 rooms with Western decor, and common room on both the first and second floor. Other units are small cabins. "Rustic" rooms are very nice and have a fireplace. The only TV is in the common room. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our stay was lovely. We had room 7 which offered a beautiful view of the lawn, restaurant and water in the distance. The sunrises were beautiful. The room was quiet, roomy enough for two, with a private bath, small fridge and fireplace. The bed was awesome! My back felt best in months! No one in the office to greet us or to say goodbye...that was the only thing I felt was missing to an otherwise hospitable environment. We went because of a livingsocial coupon. The experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.