We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orcas Island - best location on the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Deer Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Orcas Island - best location on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Small "rustic" resort - with great restaurant. The lodge has 6 rooms with Western decor, and common room on both the first and second floor. Other units are small cabins. "Rustic" rooms are very nice and have a fireplace. The only TV is in the common room. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    88
    23
    17
    12
See reviews for
20
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our stay was lovely. We had room 7 which offered a beautiful view of the lawn, restaurant and water in the distance. The sunrises were beautiful. The room was quiet, roomy enough for two, with a private bath, small fridge and fireplace. The bed was awesome! My back felt best in months! No one in the office to greet us or to say goodbye...that was the only thing I felt was missing to an otherwise hospitable environment. We went because of a livingsocial coupon. The experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I got a TravelZoo voucher to stay at Deer Harbor Inn, but when I called to book for my desired date, they had already filled all the rooms covered by the discount. For an extra $100, I booked a private cabin/cottage. The room was very nicely furnished, plenty spacious, the private back-deck hot tub was a god send and very tastefully hidden from view of the other cabins. There was even a cute little collection of DVDs, of which we watched a few. The fireplace was great, we even pulled the futon mattress off its frame and put it in front of the fire so we could soak up the warmth. The decor was a little quaint, not exactly the W Hotel in its modernity, but who cares? The grounds were fun to walk around; my girlfriend chased a few of the many bunnies hanging around. I didn't try the restaurant but the reviews looked promising. Go!

Room Tip: Splurge for the private cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Two nights gave us plenty of time to explore the Island and enjoy the amenities.

Very comfortable and pleasant accomodations with excellent on site restaurant.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The descriptions of the facilities are grossly overstated. The rooms are very small and out dated. The refrigerator is under the sik in the bathroom. The hot tub is a broken down home type spa in a broken down cover. Our visit included a cre dit for their "spa" which amounted to a shed similar to our backyard shed we keep the lawn tools in. The eight rooms in the lodge share a very small loft area witn an old tv and a sofa. The grounds are unkept with very little grass. The word around the island was not very complimentary and we cancelled our second night and moved to another inn. The beds were extremely comfortable but the walls very thin. Dont plan on any private romance time and if you are just quiet, the "activities" in the adjoining rooms provided nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: Try th Inn on Orcas Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived after 9 pm due to ferry delays. Ron had our key taped to the office window for effortless check-in. The restaurant stayed open beyond usual closing to feed guests arriving late on the ferry.

Stayed two nights for one great day on Orcas Island. Hiking in Obstruction Pass State Park, superb lunch at Olga Cafe, craft shopping in Eastsound, and dinner at Rosario Resort.

Bed was firm, shower hot, some minor inconveniences all part of the "quaint Inn" experience, and well worth the hiking, views, and shopping fun.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our daughter bought a stay via "Living Social" and gave it to us for my wife's birthday present. The Living Social description gave us one set of expectations but reality gave us another. At first glace we thought we wouldn't like it because it is very plain and far away from main centers on Orcas Island. However once we started looking around we found that we liked it more and more. It's rustic, it's far away from any sort of busy life, it's way out in the country and it didn't take long to appreciate that. It's an easy drive to the town of Eastsound which is a typical island touristy sort of town with lots of little shops to browse in. If you stay in the lodge don't expect a TV in your room, there's only a small 19" tube tv on the 2nd floor for everyone to share. And share they will because the rooms don't have any sound insulation at all. But the rooms have a very nice electric faux fireplace, a large comfy bed, good sized bathroom. Treats were left out on the dresser for us, 2 box lunches with great smoked salmon, trail mix, apples, water and a few small chocolates. A nice bottle of wine plus some cheese and crackers were a nice touch. There was also a small breakfast basket with bananas, blueberry muffins, orange juice. We didn't try the restaurant or spa but heard very good reviews from other guests.

If you want fancy, up to date resort type of place with all the bells and whistles then this isn't your kind of place. But if you're looking for somewhere rustic, relaxing, and a great place to get away from it all you won't be disappointed. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Harbor
6.6 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.4 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.