We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Deer Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Seattle
1 review
“Best Place to Stay on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

When arriving at Deer Harbor we were surprised by how nice the place was by the price we paid. What a Great deal this was, very affordable and friendly staff. The rooms were spacious and clean and the grounds were well groomed and offered a little oasis, home away from home. The massage on-site was unforgettable and so relaxing. The food was amazing and afterwards, we took a nice walk down to the waterfront and watched the sunset. The Deer Harbor Inn, is where we will be going every year, on or around our Anniversary. A great place to re-connect with your partner and fall in love all over again.

Room Tip: Room # 7 Had the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    20
    16
    12
See reviews for
16
134
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful relaxing weekend at the Deer Harbor Inn. It is off the beaten path, so very quiet and calm. A great place to stay if you are visiting Orcas Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Room: The lodge room was clean, spacious, well-maintained, and very comfortable. We had a view across the field where deer and rabbits visit occasionally. There is also a peek-a-boo view of the water. The fireplace, coffee maker, and WI-FI were nice amenities to have in the room.
Service: Efficient. The room was kept clean and stocked with juice, bananas, wine, tea, coffee, and pastries each day. All of this happened unobtrusively while we were out.
Staff: Friendly, welcoming, accommodating. Helpful and informative when needed.
Food: Excellent. This is the third time we've been to the restaurant. The food is prepared with care and the staff are friendly, attentive and fast. The only thing missing is Dylan, the cat, who used to come sit with us at dinner.
Summary: Deer Harbor Inn is a great place to escape the stresses of city life. It is just far away enough from the busier parts of Orcas, like Eastsound, to feel remote. But, it's only a short, scenic drive to access the services and shops available there.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the upper floor in the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We had never been to Orcas Island or to Deer Harbor and didn't know what to expect. First of all the trip over on the ferry and the drive to the inn were BEAUTIFUL, especially on a sunny day.

We found the hotel through a groupon and thus were able to get a great price. I expected, because it is called the Deer Harbor Inn that we would be right on Deer Harbor overlooking the water, however, I was surprised to find it was in a more isolated location off the main road. It's several minutes from the harbor, and I was disappointed to hear the manager, Ron, tell us that "there's not much down in Deer Harbor," when we arrived.

However, Ron immediately directed us to several great spots on the island, including the town of East Sound, Cascade Lake, and Mt. Constitution. He also told us that our room had a good view of the sound. East Sound is a great little town right on the water and we enjoyed an excellent lunch at the New Leaf Cafe, overlooking the ocean. We also poked around on the beach and in some of the little shops and the independent bookstore.

Next we headed off to Cascade Lake and hung out there for a while before driving up Mt. Constitution (we would have hiked if we had more time). The views at the top were STUNNING. Probably the best view I have ever seen.

Then we headed back to the Inn and were pleasantly surprised with the room. It did have a pretty decent view, and was very comfortable, clean, and charming. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was wine and cheese on the fireplace, with orange juice, cinnamon rolls, and bananas in a basket for breakfast. We had dinner at the restaurant, but it was too expensive for a couple of poor college students, so we just ordered bread, soup and salad. We did have the apple crisp for desert, which was fantastic.

Great island. Relaxing, clean, charming inn. Friendly staff. Great food. Overall we had a great time on our weekend getaway!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Very pleasant and relaxing experience. Tranquille setting (one can indeed survive without TV!)

Extremely comfortable beds. Classy and unexpected touches such as a wine and cheese plate

on arrival - perfect touch after several hours travel and a mid-afternoon arrival. Hosts are charming,

attentive and informative. And even a fine dining restaurant juxtaposed into this rural, peaceful setting.

A definite recommend for a quiet weekend getaway

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

The accomodations were nice and comfortable. Rustic and clean. The room had a nice view of West sound and great sunlight through windows. The dinner in the Deer Harbor Inn was very good. Friendly, laid back staff.
The refrigerator in the room was very handy and appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We had never visited Orcas Island before and we had a great time. Our stay in one of the lodge rooms at Deer Harbor Inn was very nice. The room was bigger then I had ecpected and everything was very clean and well cared for. Ron, the manager, was great and was always there to help. Do not miss a great meal at the restaurant. The food is great and the portions are huge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Harbor Inn

Address: 33 Inn Lane, Box 142, Deer Harbor, Orcas Island, WA 98243
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island > Deer Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Deer Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Deer Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Harbor Hotel Deer Harbor
Deer Harbor Inn Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.