We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Victorian hotel and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Weinhard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Weinhard Hotel
235 E. Main Street, Dayton, WA 99328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Dayton
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Victorian hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We've stayed at the Weinhard many times. Each room is beautifully appointed with antique furniture, ultra-high ceilings, etc. Excellent climate control. Our beds were super-comfortable. If you are on the second floor (the highest floor) you will need to heft your bags up some steep stairs, so be prepared for that. (I wish there were a miniature elevator for luggage, even with a crank handle!) There is only one room with two queens -room #12, our favorite. The staff is friendly and helpful. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Joanna,
Thank you for your kind review! We are so fortunate to get to know so many wonderful people through our business. We are thoroughly enjoying Wesley's book and have already sold one through the gift shop since your departure.
Again, thank you for sharing your Weinhard experience with others through tripadvisor.
Best wishes to you both in all your endeavors, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    20
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
77
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife, my mother-in-Law, her brother all travelled from Wenatchee to Dayton Washington to celebrate a 90th birthday for their youngest brother.
Having not been to Dayton, WA I was curious to see what the city next to the "Blue Mountians" and the vast wheatlands of Southeast Washington offered. I was so impressed with the Weinhard Hotel and the renovations that were done to bring this historic landmark to it's current immaculate conditon that it was difficult to believe we were in a 1900's hotel.

Our stay was enjoyed by all and we spent the evening enjoying some of the local wine and mead in the foyer and it seemed we were the "locals" and not the guests. All the staff were efficient, pleasant and willing to help with whatever was needed, and I might say nothing was needed as the propritiers had thought of everything ahead of time.

If your traveling through the Washington wine country, or are a history buff; this is a "must stop" on your journey.

Room Tip: All the rooms we vewed were excellent and the rooftop lounge area provided a good view of some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
It's great to hear that you all enjoyed Dayton and The Weinhard Hotel so much! Thank you for taking the time to review us, and share your experience with others. I hope that you and your family will have occasion to stay with us again.
All the best to you and yours, Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Weinhard is one of those late 19th Century hotels that has been lovingly restored including stunning antique furniture from that era. We immediately thought of Downton Abbey. Dayton is about 35 miles north of Walla Walla, which, incidentally, also has a restored turn of century hotel. We stayed at the Weinhard in Dayton for our niece's wedding and had a very enjoyable stay. The owners put forth extraordinary effort to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. The hotel is clean and beautiful and right in the middle of town. The rooms are spacious and include flat disc satellite TV if you are interested. Dayton is smaller than Walla Walla but is on the verge of becoming a destination, much like WW is now. It has empty storefronts, but also has new boutique businesses in town (e.g., a very nice art gallery and a chocolate shop!). You put a couple of wine tasting rooms in there and it will take off. Oh, it has some very good restaurants too including an excellent French restaurant and a decent brew pub. Back to the Weinhard, the hotel does not have a regular restaurant, but does include a conventional continental breakfast. For those who like to imbibe, there is unfortunately no bar; the owner will sell you a bottle of wine and give you a corkscrew to open it. A full service bar with a fin de siècle décor would really be something at this hotel. He could also use a supply of fine cheeses to go with the wine. There is no elevator, so if you are challenged by stairs, be sure to reserve on the ground floor. All of this said, we enjoyed our stay very much and will look for opportunities to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Senor Gregerio!
(Love your tripadvisor name)
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I enjoyed visiting with you and your wife during breakfast and around the hotel. I am so glad that you recognize what a special place Dayton is, and that you were able to spend some extra time, apart from the wedding, to experience it. We hope that you have opportunity to return as there is always something new to experience here - who knows, maybe it will be the new tasting room you have suggested. (I know of a PERFECT spot for it right across the street from us.) ;)
All the best to you,
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is a rare treat. Beautifully decorated with antique furniture it still delivers modern day comfort. The rooms were great, the roof garden was a delightful meeting spot and the owners were wonderful. Many guest 'needs' are anticipated and provided for without needing to be requested. The staff could not have been more welcoming or more helpful.

Room Tip: Every room is different. All look fabulous. Room 2 is closest to the parking lot and it suffered f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, Frances!
It was our pleasure to meet you & your husband and we look forward to your next visit.
All the Best to you,
Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed one night at the Weinhard Hotel, which is a beautiful facility. Rooms are lovingly restored, kept up and well-appointed. The location, in downtown Weinhard, makes it easy to walk around town to historic sights, restaurants, etc. The outdoor terrace garden at the Weinhard was enjoyable and relaxing, with potted plants, chairs and tables and even a small gazebo.

Our only hesitation on giving it a higher rating was the customer service which, in our opinion, was not nearly as delightful as the facility itself. The receptionist was friendly but unclear in her information even after I asked pointed questions. After 9 PM it appears there is no one on duty until the next morning. They provide an access code for the lock on the front door if you come in late....but there's no one to call or contact if you have a problem.

Continental breakfast was supposed to be available from 7 - 10 AM, but by 7:15 when no one was there, we tried calling the desk (in case there was someone in back)...with no reply, we walked down the block to the local bakery for coffee. When the room opened for breakfast, the woman in charge was busy chatting with a friend and didn't pay attention to the guests needing more coffee. Food choices were minimal - especially in comparison to what other inns offer: giant muffins like were popular 15 yrs ago, 1 kind of cold cereal, packages of instant oatmeal, yogurt, fruit.

What would have greatly improved our experience? Morning coffee available early in the lobby, someone on call between 9 PM - 7 AM (or whenever time they show up to put out breakfast), more guest-centric focus of staff on duty. It felt like "ho hum, you're here, but we live and process services on our own timeline" - way less than stellar.

Perhaps we've been totally spoiled by our other historic lodging stays (primarily McMenamin's) but it seems to me that it would really take very little effort and investment to go from so-so to spectacular at the Weinhard Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I would like to express my deepest regret that you did not experience the warm hospitality and excellent customer service that we strive to provide. First of all I apologize for my late arrival on the morning of your stay. There was some confusion that day about who was on the schedule, which I have no excuse for - since I am the one who made the schedule and then forgot that I was on it!

We do have a resident night manager on duty from 9 p.m. to 7 a.m. to address any guest needs that may arise. You can reach them by dialing 0 from your room or calling the hotel's phone number from any phone. My sincerest apologies that you were not made aware of that fact. Of course, when you called at 7:15 no one was available because I was late for my morning shift.

Please know that all feedback is welcome, and we will address each and every concern that you have brought to our attention. Should you decide to stay with us again, you will find an early risers' coffee cart in the lobby, friendly and informative staff, and prompt & attentive service.

Best wishes in all of your travels,
Shellie McLeod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Weinhard Hotel in Dayton as part of a murder mystery weekend and package and just fell in love with the place. The hotel is a historical building with all of the charms and architecture of the old days. The pictures throughout the building tells the story of the hotel and the town. The rooms are excellent! The room we stayed in had high ceilings, a window facing main street where we watched the parade go by and fresh fruit on the desk for our enjoyment.

Even though this is an historical building, the upkeep of the building is impeccable and there were no issues that typically come with old buildings. The shower was excellent, no worries about hot water running out and the shower head was great. There weren't any creaking floor boards and we didn't hear any noises from adjoining rooms. Additionally, the roof garden was very nice. My wife and I sat out there sipping on coffee and enjoying the sunshine.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention the town of Dayton as well. It is a wonderful town, with old world charm and neighborly friendliness. If you find yourself in Dayton this would be the place to stay. The innkeepers are full of knowledge and will definitely give you all the information of the "don't dare to miss" shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hey there! Thank you for reviewing us! You two were so fun and friendly, we got some great pictures of you participating in the Murder Mystery. I hope you will join us again in the fall when we transform the hotel into an old west saloon for our Murder Mystery Event. We are so glad you enjoyed our little town of Dayton as a whole.
We look forward to seeing you again, Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We purchased a Living Social get-a-way for the Weinhard Hotel as a way to get ourselves out of a weekend rut. The Weinhard Hotel was a perfect place for us. From the reservation process (we could book ANY available room) to the perfect amenities (blankets for sitting on the deck, fresh fruit in the room, KINDNESS of the owners). We ate one night at Threshers and the next morning my purse had been returned to the hotel before I even realized it was gone. Our room was lovely as was the entire hotel. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshellie, Owner at The Weinhard Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! We met so many wonderful people through the living social promotion that had not been to Dayton or stayed with us before - thanks for being one of them!
I am glad you enjoyed our town and the people in it. (I have to give credit to Mike, the employee from Threshers Bar & Grill who brought your purse over to the hotel 2 hours before they opened because he didn't want you to leave town without it!) The people here are what makes this town so special.
Please come and see us again.
Best Wishes,
Shellie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Weinhard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinhard Hotel

Address: 235 E. Main Street, Dayton, WA 99328
Location: United States > Washington > Dayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weinhard is a 15 room Victorian Hotel. Each room is uniquely appointed with antique furnishings. All rooms include a private bathroom, cable TV, wi-fi internet access, telephones and hair dryers. A fresh fruit basket is provided in your room each day. Complimentary muffins, oatmeal, juice, coffee and tea are served in our coffee shop each morning, where espresso drinks are also for sale. Our rooftop garden is a nice spot to relax during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Weinhard Hotel Dayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Weinhard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Weinhard Hotel to your Saves list