We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great playground, good beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Lakes State Park

Sun Lakes State Park
Coulee City, WA
509-632-5214
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A peaceful recreational park.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great playground, good beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place has a great playground! We all had fun playing on it. The beach here is pretty good. A little rocky, but has a good swim area and you can tell they try to groom it. Stayed at sun lakes resort and the park is a great location bonus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunshine in Eastern Washington in May and June”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have loved this state park for years. The best time is in the early season, May and June before all the kids are out of school. It is an amazing desert oasis with fantastic geological features, birding and spring flowers in the spring. Just returned from a botanical workshop there and was reminded of the beauty and the uniqueness of this special spot. Site of one of the largest "extent" waterfalls in the world, much bigger in its day than present day Niagra Falls.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spring is Sun Lakes Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you read the bulletin board you would wonder why you came - rattlesnakes, ticks, hot weather, swimmer's itch, bees and Poison Ivy/Oak. If you go in March or early April the snakes, bees and ticks are asleep, weather is good for hiking, too cold to swim anyway. This is a wonderful geological area. Visit the Dry Falls visitor center first to understand the landforms and how they got that way and then take the Boy Scout Trail to the Umatilla Rock Trail and enjoy views of basalt cliffs, Rainbow, Perch, Dry and Green Lakes. Look for early wildflowers. The campsites are too close but not so much in early Spring when there is hardly anyone there. Take a drive or walk to Deep Lake - beautiful setting and walk the trail there and the Caribou trail on the way or go for an easy walk along Park Lake. There is a playground for kids too. Dogs are ok on leash.Discover Pass needed if you don't camp. While you are there visit Lenore Caves south on 17.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Combat camping, chiggers and wind”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I wholly agree with the gentleman who likened to this place to a refugee camp. Small hot dusty gravel campsites PACKED with partying teens/20-somethings. No privacy whatsoever. We were a group of 4 families and all of our faces just dropped as we drove into the campground. We stayed for 2 days in late July until the winds blew our campsite equipment all over the place and we discovered the kids had chiggers. We couldn't wait to leave. Worst campground I have ever stayed in. There was a reason it was so easy to get a last-minute reservation there as opposed to all the other campgrounds in the state.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonder water sports...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family has been coming to Sun Lakes State Park for 30+ years because it's such a great family vacation location. We bring our kayaks and bikes for an active weekend away.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Lakes State Park also viewed

 

Been to Sun Lakes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Lakes State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.