We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monfort's Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cougar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monfort's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Monfort's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
132 Cougar Loop Rd, Cougar, WA 98616   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Cougar B&B and Inns
las vagas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“what a lovely couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Made a motorcycle road trip, from California, to Washington to see Mount St Helens, we stopped at the Jacksons observatory, which in itself ws amazing and something that no-one should miss. We stopped for the night at a quaint little BB called Monforts in a the tiny village of Cougar. If you are looking for luxury, forget it, but if you are wanting a home from home, away from all the modern technology, this will be the getaway for you. There was a Jacuzi that I really did enjoy soaking my weary bones in tho. No TV reception or cell phone, but DVDs and video tapes that you can borrow. A microwave, fridge and coffeee maker in the dinning area. A shop was a stones throw away and across the road a bar and grill run by friendly staff, so no need to prepare your own food if you don't want too. The couple that run the BB were very welcoming and made you feel like part of their family. The ride to it was lovely, up on the mountainside in the forest.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with the Jacuzi!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We needed a place to explore Mt St Helens area and Cougar was our choice. But in Cougar you do not have too many choices to stay and we decided to go for the Monfort's. And that was the right choice. The Monforts are just a fine couple with a very personal touch. And Gary loves to entertain its guest with his guitar but only if you want it. Listen to their stories and you will understand more about life in this remote part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Not so great for a romantic getaway. The owners, Marilyn & Gary are great and the place is comfortable but do not go expecting the normal bed and breakfast. The reason I say it is great for hikers is because the breakfast is orange juice, cup of fruit, muffin and a granola bar. The TV is only for movies so do not expect to watch Late night TV to go to sleep. There is a great common room between two of the rooms with a kitchen, table, TV, and a daybed which is great for family game night or just sitting down to eat. Our biggest complaints would be that there is no closet space and only 3 hooks to hang clothes on. Not a problem if you are just out there for a hike or two. The second complaint would be the shower. The water pressure was so low that I could not even wash my hair. We did leave with a smile on our face because Gary sang us a few songs which made us laugh and smile. They are really nice people.

Room Tip: They have 3 rooms. Two are shared by a common room and the third is by itself so if you need two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Used Monforts as a base for exploring the Mt St Helens area. We stayed in 2 different rooms, both were outstanding. Mrs Monfort welcomed us like royalty, and set us up in our room. Our first night was in the detached building, which shares a large living room / kitchen area with a second bedroom. The second night, we stayed in the main house, in a room with a private entrance. A spotless clean facility which is not plush, just down home quaint. We will never forget Mr Monfort showing up at our door with his guitar and singing us several songs....amazing. The Monforts are wonderful people who go the extra mile for their guests.....stay here when visiting the south side of Mt St Helens

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This B & B is located 20 minutes from the Climbers Bivouac which is the starting point of the hike to the summit of Mount St. Helens. The owners Marilyn & Gary Monfort run a great B & B. When we walked in we were struck with two things....the wonderful air conditioning which we really appreaciated on a hot August weekend and the smell of clean! The place was spotless, clean bedding, great jetted soaker tub in one of the bedrooms and full size fridge for all our water and hiking food. The suite we were in had two separate bedrooms each with a queen size bed, adjoinging bathrooms, living area with kitchen, dining table, day bed with a trundle bed underneath. It was spacious and spotless. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We had reservations to stay at a nearby "resort" the night before our scheduled climb, which also coincided with a once in a life time heat wave. Unfortunately the "resort" lacked A/C so we hustled to find alternative accommodations. Luckily we found Monfort's about 250 feet away

The rooms are large and clean, if a bit outdated. There is a full kitchen which is a nice feature when prepping for the climb. Did I mention that it was very clean? The hosts were great also.

Highly recommended.

Andrew

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monfort's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monfort's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 132 Cougar Loop Rd, Cougar, WA 98616
Location: United States > Washington > Cougar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cougar
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monfort's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.