We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the new cabins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copalis Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Springs Resort
3707 Highway 109, 3 miles north of Copalis Beach, Copalis Beach, WA 98535   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Copalis Beach
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the new cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

First off, I want to say that 4 stars is a great review for me and I would have given 5 stars but for a couple of minor things. I love this place! My husband and I came here years ago and had never returned because the place was just tired and not so clean. Now the cabins have been completely renovated and they are cozy, clean - great attention to detail. We just spent two nights for a quick and relaxing get-away and will definitely be back. The beds were comfortable (nice view from the bedroom window) and the kitchen is well provided for basic needs. It is a bit of a walk to access the beach, especially from the upper cabins (why my review is 4 stars), but once you get there, the beaches here are big, beautiful with only a few people (our stay was in September). We had our small dog with us and they also provided a couple of dog towels (for sandy feet) and doggie bowls. Firewood is also provided and the cabin had a great stone fireplace. We didn't want to leave!

Hints for the kitchen: You might want to bring salt and pepper, etc depending on how much cooking you are planning to do. They provided a coffee maker and tea kettle and one day's coffee, but the mugs are quite small so you might want to consider bringing your own.

We stayed in Cabin 22, which was near the laundry facility and also where the cleaning staff had their storage and maintenance buildings were also right in back of our cabin. It was a tad noisy/busy one afternoon, but we didn't really let it bother us. The view to the water was great and that's where we focused our attention.

Room Tip: Cabins 22-25 backs face the laundry and maintenance facilities and can be noisy/busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
olympia, wa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We last came here about 15 years ago and loved it. I read reviews that said it had gone downhill, but recent reviews said it had gone through a complete makeover. So, we decided to check it out. They have really put a lot of effort into the renovation, and it shows. I like to come here in the off season for the tranquility. You can build a nice fire, pour a glass of good wine, and just relax while watching the ocean. Tip: Get one of the cabins on the bluff and avoid cabin 22 (handicapped shower which gets water all over the floor and laundry and shop across the drive). All the units are dog friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spending our third night, just after another gorgeous sunset. Nice walks on the beach times about a dozen. Beds are so comfortable you don't want to get out, but breakfast beckons in the full kitchen. Brought the basics, the store had the rest. Spending hours on the full size deck reading or just watching the surf.
So yeah, all in all a really great stay. Sad to be going home tomorrow.
Sorry, no pool but can't get my tablet to uncheck.

Room Tip: All cabins have views, some are through trees. But sti'll with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We shared a duplex cabin with my brother and sister-in-law, which was right on the cliff, overlooking the ocean. It was wonderful! My husband and brother went on a guided fishing trip with Casey of Fish Waters West, which was most successful! If it weren't so expensive, we would go there more often. Watch out! They tack on a $50 cleaning fee, which we didn't know until reservations were confirmed.There was no restaurant of swimming pool, which was okay by us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Jully 2012 was the first time our family ever visited Iron Springs Resort. The prices for the cabins are high close to $300 a night. But, the view is excellent. My only other problem was that I thought it was on the beach. It is, but there is a creek you need to cross over. It was not convenient with our 5 year old since there was a sewer line nearby and we didn't want to walk through the creek water. The cabins were newly remodeled and in great shape. Our family had a good time even though we had to drive 5 miles away to an alternate beach area.

Room Tip: Cabin #12 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Manager at Iron Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear SeattleMom60878,
All of us at Iron Springs Resort were happy to hear that your overall experience with us was pleasant. We strive to create a unique and wonderful experience for all of our guests. I am concerned though, that our staff was not more informative. In addition to our creek access, which can be used by both vehicles as well and foot traffic, we do have a walking path on the property which allows our guest to access the beach without getting their feet wet. This information, as well as a property map, should have been given upon arrival and we apologize for not doing so. I would also like to assure you that all of our sewer lines are completely secure and are absolutely not directed towards or leaking into our creek. Any exposed piping is used solely for groundwater drainage and rainwater runoff. Iron Springs Resort is committed to the safety and preservation of our natural environment. Once again we apologize for our lack of communication and hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Iron Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Iron Springs Resort has their place in the history of the Pacific NW - originally opening at Copalis Beach in 1947. Last resort was purchased and renovated - and when I say "renovated", I mean "completely overhauled". Every cabin appears to have been stripped down to its bare beams and rebuilt from the ground up. New kitchens, flooring and fixtures, but keeping small elements with historic charm (particularly the fireplaces). We chose to venture to Iron Springs over the official kick-off week of summer on the Pacific (July 1-6), crossing our fingers for relatively decent weather. We were surprised with mild temps (never the need for more than a light jacket) a few days, but an abundance of sunshine and clear blue skies.
The three compelling features for our family were 1) having dog-friendly accommodations; 2) having enough room for our kids to come and stay as they're able throughout the week (many of the cabins have multiple bedrooms); 3) a large kitchen. We opted for Cabin 28 - the last of the cabins on the north bluff of the property. Upon arrival, we realized we'd select the best cabin in the resort: completely isolated from the other cabins, but still close-by (no wonder they call it the Honeymoon Cabin!).
The kitchen was immense, with a dining area that easily seated six (with room for mooching dogs, too). Well-appointed, and with a picture-window facing the pacific that must've been 3'x10'! We were well prepared in bringing all of the food we'd need, but the community store (at the resort's office) had plenty of opportunities for those who forgot something. There are ZERO food products in the cabin (not even salt and pepper), so be sure to bring everything you need if you're planning on cooking. Cabinet space was abundant, and there were plenty of pots, pans and dishes for our entire posse. The dishwasher was a bonus!
The interior is what I'd call "rustic-elegant": northwest touches (Pendleton-esque chair coverings, gnarled-wood table supports), but also appeared to keep tiny elements from the original cabins (a '60s lamp, in our case).
To say the resort is dog-friendly is an understatement. Our pups, Bartlett & Anjou, were as comfortable at Iron Springs as they are at home. We did bring their dog beds, but food/water dishes and towels specifically for drying them off were provided. The staff were extremely kind to us - and especially to our dogs. Three smaller-breed dogs were residents of the resort and were well-behaved and socialized. Although we abided by the on-leash only rule on the property, I wished all other guests would have done the same. The deck at the cabin (which wraps around the front side) was completely fenced in with a gate at the top of the stairs so that dogs could easily remain outside safely contained. The only downside was the $20/per dog fee per day - for a 5-night stay $200 seemed a little steep for vacuuming a little dog hair, but I do understand that other dogs might be furrier and muddier than ours. ;o\
Initially balking at a hefty price tag when reserving our cabin at Iron Springs, but the moment we arrived I immediately knew it was well-worth the cost for this comfortable, well-kept, friendly, view-filled piece of heaven on the beach!

Room Tip: Not a bad cabin in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our first experience with Iron Springs - it was a perfect introduction. The location is on bluffs overlooking Boone Creek as it meets the Pacific Ocean. Except for the cabins themselves, it's like a trip back to a simpler, less-crowded time. The cabins? Fully 21st century and spotless, with a fully functional kitchen, a large screen TV/DVD, and Wi-Fi (do NOT bring your work with you!), each complete with decks, grills and fantastic views. It's like living within a post-card - the beach is open and generally unoccupied - the wild coast is ever present. No restaurants in the neighborhood - bring food or be prepared to trek down to Ocean Shores (20 minutes south). But, by all means, bring a bottle of your favorite wine -- you will want it as you ponder the sunsets!

Room Tip: Check the website -- each cabin is clearly described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Springs Resort

Address: 3707 Highway 109, 3 miles north of Copalis Beach, Copalis Beach, WA 98535
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Copalis Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Copalis Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Springs is perched along a pristine stretch of the Washington Coast. The cabins of this year-round, Copalis Beach getaway have been long coveted for their close proximity to the ocean, unmatched views of the Pacific, and family-friendly atmosphere. The cabins contain fully equipped kitchens, free WiFi, phones, IPod player and flat screen T.V.s with cable. Each cabin has a living room with either a wood burning stove or fireplace, all wood is provided free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iron Springs Hotel Copalis Beach
Iron Springs Copalis Beach
Iron Springs Resort Washington/Copalis Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iron Springs Resort to your Saves list