We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 North Main Street, Colfax, WA 99111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we couldn't find a hotel in Pullman we had to look in surrounding communities. We were pleasantly suprised! The hotel was very clean, mostly quiet and the staff was great. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms are on the street side which can be a litte noisy for light sleepers but othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusWheatlandInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try! We strive to be a preferred alternative to the crowded Pullman hotels by offering a clean, comfortable hotel experience at a great value. We look forward to having your family stay again!
-- Kim M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
18
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Many new WSU parents undergo baptism by fire in terms of the Palouse lodging situation. In a nutshell, it's at a premium. I *never* expected that getting a hotel room in this corner of the world would be an issue. Little did I know! I can just about forget ever staying in Pullman, or Moscow for that matter, when visiting my son. Rooms are booked more often than not, and prices are exorbitant.

Fortunately, at WSU's summer orientation, I learned the Best Western Wheatland Inn offers a 25% discount for parents of students. That break does help, as does the fact the hotel is located 15 miles away from the school, in Colfax. Yes, it can be tedious driving back & forth to campus, but the drive is pleasant (in pleasant weather, anyway!) and the likelihood of vacancies is higher.

I spent three nights here during the freshman "Week of Welcome" and was really impressed with the level of service. My "Excellent" rating is based on what one would expect of a hotel of this level. It's not the Ritz Carlton by any means, but for a Best Western in what some people consider the middle of nowhere, the management & staff are top notch. From front desk staff to room attendants, everyone here does a great job and, notably, they're genuinely pleasant even in the midst of their work.

My double queen room was exceptionally clean, everything well-maintained. The pool is small, but in a nice area just off the lobby, well-lit thanks to a bank of windows. Breakfast room is fairly small but again, has windows & never felt cramped. The food was, well, what one expects of a Best Western or any other chain that provides breakfast along with the room rate. Nothing to write home about, but meets most people's needs.

I'd love to be closer to campus while visiting my son, but will gladly depend on this hotel as my home away from home as needed. The price seems high given the locale, but once you look into other hotels in Pullman & Moscow, you quickly realize that it's a market-driven & a solid value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusWheatlandInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Our entire staff here at the Best Western Plus Wheatland Inn, greatly appreciates all of your kind words. Our team certainly takes pride in serving each guest with “Heroic Hospitality”. I am pleased you were able to take advantage of our special Parent’s Club discount that was offered exclusively to 2013 WSU Alive session attendees. We look forward to many years of being your hotel of choice on the Palouse.

--Brian Benintendi - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was impressed with the great customer service. I could only book 1 night and needed 2 nights in the area to move my daughter into her college dorm. When I called, Crystal was very interested in trying to help with the extra night I needed as well as offering to find a room with an additional bed. It is refreshing to have someone offer help and even though it worked this time and may not in the future, the fact that someone tried was very good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusWheatlandInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive words, Carol. We were very happy to do all that we could to make your stay with the Best Western PLUS Wheatland Inn a pleasant one, and we are delighted that we were able to accommodate your room needs for move in!

-- Kim M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The room is perfect.What a wonderful hotel! Good vibes and good will abound. Nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. Friendly staff, wholesome atmosphere. Perfect for parents of WSU students!

The surrounding wheatfields are lovely here. Only 20 minutes from Pullman. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

No problems , real silverware and plastic plates/glass glasses make this a nice place to eat breakfast! Got a room despite being "Concrete River Days" - A good place to stay when you're in the Palouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusWheatlandInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments; we are always looking for ways to make our guest experience an enjoyable one, and it is good to know our efforts in the breakfast area are paying off!

-- Kim M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Travelling home after working in Idaho for two weeks. Was too hot to drive to Seattle. Rates were reasonable, check in quick, efficient, friendly. Room very clean with great AC. Nice options for complimentary breakfast in the morning. Pool looked clean and kids were having a great time in it! As a single woman traveller, I felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Colfax is quint little town, with not many restaurants. The one Chinese restaurant was very bad. The Best Western is typical of the chain, with no complaints about the room. The hotel was a little expensive for the remote location. It seems to be the only hotel in town, plus a small motel. The breakfast was very good. Parking could be better. We were there to photograph the wheat fields from the top of Steptoe Butte. The view from there was super.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so get a room on the first floor, if you have trouble with stairs. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn

Address: 701 North Main Street, Colfax, WA 99111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn!Experience the charm of Colfax, the abundant amenities and the great location near Palouse and Pullman when staying at this immaculate Washington hotel.You'll feel right at home at this pet-friendly Colfax hotel. Each spacious, clean room offers cable or satellite television, a desk, high-speed Internet access, a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffeemaker and more. Group and team rates are also available. Get the day started the right way - our property offers a complimentary full breakfast each morning, featuring sausages, potatoes, scrambled eggs and more. Once you've fueled up for the day, you'll be ready to explore all the area has to offer. Those traveling for work will have easy access to Washington State University, the McGregor Company, Whitman County Courthouse, Snake River Dams, Whitman County Hospital and many more local businesses. With the Palouse Ridge Golf Club in nearby Pullman and the Colfax Golf Club just a few blocks from the hotel, you can also conduct meetings on the greens.Situated near Pullman and Palouse, this Colfax hotel allows you to easily get to many of the area's attractions, including WSU events, Palouse Empire Fairgrounds, Palouse Scenic Byway, Palouse Falls, Steptoe Butte, Colfax Trail, Schmuck Park and Boyer Park and Marina. Known for its scenic photography areas, you're sure to catch breathtaking views and sights.Unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub or get a quick workout in at the onsite exercise facility. But, the convenience and added value won't stop there - this Washington hotel also offers many more amenities and services, including barbeque grills, a 24-hour front desk, a 24-hour business center, guest laundry, mail services, free parking and free Wi-Fi. With meeting space that accommodates up to 50 attendees, we also make the perfect venue for your business meetings and reunions. For a memorable stay at a Colfax hotel with welcoming staff and abundant amenities, reserve a stay at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wheatland Hotel Colfax
Best Western Colfax
Colfax Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.