We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nicely renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   701 North Main Street, Colfax, WA 99111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Brighton, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and nicely renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

My mom and I stayed at this hotel and were very impressed. The renovations are going well and everything was very clean. The breakfast was excellent and included such things as cooked hot cereal, batter to make your own Belgian Waffle, fruit, pastries, etc. The only thing to note is that there is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage, ask for a room on the ground level. Other than that, GREAT! We'll definately stay there again.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    32
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
18
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Stayed here March 7-9. Room 124. Newly renovated. Paid AAA rate of $71.10 per night plus $10 for a pet. The hotel is still under renovation and will be for several more months. They are in the process of installing new beds, microwaves and refridgerators in all the rooms. The room in general is very nice and large. The only complaint I have is the walls are extremely thin. Can hear people talking next door and in the hallway. It is also very loud when someone is running water. There is a small indoor pool and hot tub. The morning continental breakfast is probably the smallest I have seen. Milk, OJ, Cereal and bread. Once the renovation is complete the hotel will once again be a Best Western. Be sure to grab breakfast at the Top Notch. Excellent!!

  • Liked — Newly renovated rooms
  • Disliked — Thin walls. Very loud!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

The cups in the room are cheap styrofoam. The plates at breakfast were stryofoam and the plastic forks so flimsy they wouldn't cut a waffle. Also I used a credit card to reserve the room and another one to pay, both have holds. The fake priest who checked me in asked me to sign a blank receipt. I added the totals myself which I hope was correct. I hope I am charged the correct amount. I will not stay there again.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

I stay at this hotel regularly for business. I stayed at it previously when it was a Best Western. The property seems rejuvenated since it's once again independent. Friendly, personal attention. Good breakfast. Good internet connection. Business room rates are high, but this is really the only game in town.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Recently raised room rates
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Never having been to Colfax and not knowing what to expect, we were happily surprised and ended up staying there extra time - primarily because the area is so beautiful and the motel was such a clean, comortable place. It was the cleanest, nicest place we stayed on a long trip. Not one bad surprise, and the people were very nice - both in the town and in the motel. It was Labor Day weekend and new owner/managers just moved in and were taking over. You could tell he was concentrating on making things excellent. I wanted to talk with him more because I work in an industrial facility and wanted to know how he was so effectively providing quality surroundings. I don't know what it was like before, but our family of four+ (2 mostly grown sons and a Pomeranian) had a fantastic time and even stayed longer because it was such a comfortable, clean place. Other than a couple spots on the rug, it all looked like new. Rather than being banished to the far territory of the facility like some places do because we had a little dog, we got the room closest to the lobby and pool. It was VERY comfortable and handy to everything. By our last day we were talking about how nice it would be to just live there.

  • Liked — It's a beautiful place in a town with no other good options.
  • Disliked — The internet was having problems at times.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

My Mom and I stayed at the Wheatland Inn just last week while we attended my nephew's graduation at the University of Idaho. The hotel sits in a tiny town of 2000+ people 56 miles of rolling highway from Spokane. When entering the hotel, you are graciously welcomed. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking Main Street and the hotel's parking lot. It was very clean and quiet, even though the hotel sits on the main drag. They offer two queen beds or a king bed per room, some with microwaves and fridges. We were very happy and comfortable staying here. All staff members were polite. There is a typical continental breakfast offered in the morning. However, if you're more in the mood for a heartier breakfast, walk down the street to the small town diner that friendly locals visit regularly. Talking of restaurants, the Sol Vallarta has authentic mexican food and margarita's to match, also just a short walk away. The local grocery store is across the street from the hotel. The Wheatland Inn is approximately 20 minutes from Pullman where the University of Washington is; approximately 35 minutes from the University of Idaho-Moscow. There is internet access in the lobby. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Being comfortable and quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Stayed at the Wheatland Inn in Colfax for several nights. The only rooms available were smoking so we said ok. The front desk was nice and freindly but the room was disapointing. The carpet had many stains and we had large hair ball in the bathroom. The hallways also needed vacuming badly. Now this is a newer hotel so you would think it would be kept up better. Cont. breakfest ok. Swimming pool ok.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn

Address: 701 North Main Street, Colfax, WA 99111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn!Experience the charm of Colfax, the abundant amenities and the great location near Palouse and Pullman when staying at this immaculate Washington hotel.You'll feel right at home at this pet-friendly Colfax hotel. Each spacious, clean room offers cable or satellite television, a desk, high-speed Internet access, a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffeemaker and more. Group and team rates are also available. Get the day started the right way - our property offers a complimentary full breakfast each morning, featuring sausages, potatoes, scrambled eggs and more. Once you've fueled up for the day, you'll be ready to explore all the area has to offer. Those traveling for work will have easy access to Washington State University, the McGregor Company, Whitman County Courthouse, Snake River Dams, Whitman County Hospital and many more local businesses. With the Palouse Ridge Golf Club in nearby Pullman and the Colfax Golf Club just a few blocks from the hotel, you can also conduct meetings on the greens.Situated near Pullman and Palouse, this Colfax hotel allows you to easily get to many of the area's attractions, including WSU events, Palouse Empire Fairgrounds, Palouse Scenic Byway, Palouse Falls, Steptoe Butte, Colfax Trail, Schmuck Park and Boyer Park and Marina. Known for its scenic photography areas, you're sure to catch breathtaking views and sights.Unwind in the indoor heated pool and relaxing hot tub or get a quick workout in at the onsite exercise facility. But, the convenience and added value won't stop there - this Washington hotel also offers many more amenities and services, including barbeque grills, a 24-hour front desk, a 24-hour business center, guest laundry, mail services, free parking and free Wi-Fi. With meeting space that accommodates up to 50 attendees, we also make the perfect venue for your business meetings and reunions. For a memorable stay at a Colfax hotel with welcoming staff and abundant amenities, reserve a stay at BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wheatland Hotel Colfax
Best Western Colfax
Colfax Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Wheatland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.